Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

Our school is best known for our family atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Lakewood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $203,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

I'm a graduate if the Class of 2013, and I have to say HFS was the best thing that ever happened to me. The memories, people I met and have become friends with over the years has made me a better person. I haven't visited the place in a year, but I have heard that a lot of changes have been made. I do not support the fact that religion is not considered a real class anymore and that the middle school schedules have been completely changed making it much more confusing. No offense, by the school is going downhill. I'm extremely upset and sad to say that I give this place another 2 years or so before it finally closes down. It's a shame it's become like this.


Posted March 16, 2014

Holy family is faith-based and spirit filled. The teachers are well educated and provide the students with different techniques in the classroom that allow the children to not only have structure but discipline in other areas of their life. We are set apart from any other school with the activities and small class sizes that we offer. My daughter, in particular ,happens to love the music she receives both in the classroom and at church, because many other schools do not offer this type of culture and enrichment. We are fortunate to have new administration this year and our principal has been an extreme asset to the school and the community. He has worked diligently with the pastor in helping the school and parish become one. Catholic education is extremely important and holy family school will help your child achieve all their goals. Please come check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

Holy Family is a wonderful school. It's filled with great teachers, faculty, and students. My child gets a great academic, moral, and spiritual education in a safe caring environment. Holy family provides my child with a great foundation that will be with there for life. I highly recommend Holy Family School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

My child receives a very thorough and academically sound education at Holy Family. At the same time my child is surrounded by a very caring dedicated school staff, great students, structured environment. She's not just a number. Its like a family. She absolutely loves school. We are very grateful for Holy Family School. Its a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I went to holy family school as a student. Most teachers are very friendly, but some are very rude. My friend got yelled at in the face from a substitute. It is better than the Lakewood public school though.


Posted August 13, 2012

Outstanding - nothing better than a Catholic school education! I went to Catholic school, sent my children and now my grandchild attends. We stand behind a Catholic school education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

This is the worst school ever! i went to HFS since Pre K and i hated it! Their rules are ridiculous and thir staff is terrible ! please dont send your child there!!!!!


Posted July 22, 2011

I am a new parent bringing my child into this school. For a private school in Lakewood NJ I am very impressed with the staff and most important the parents who welcomed me into the school community. My daughter visited there with me and did not want to leave. She fit right in and I knew right away this was the right choice for her. The staff was very patient and informative which made my decision to send my daughter to Holy Family School easier. I have looked at other private schools, the family atomosphere and caring shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

My daughter has been in Holy Family School since kindergarten. She is now in their middle school and doing very well. I have found the school to provide a safe, loving, Christian environment with small classes and very caring teachers and staff. The school is one of the more affordable private schools in my area, however the education provided is high quality, preparing my daughter for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I currently attend HFS and I am in 8th grade. It is an okay school, but WAY too much drama, tattle-taling? like really? this is the middle school im talking about. really immature kids. teachers are okay, but tend to get a little too angry sometimes..but some teachers are great!


Posted May 12, 2009

My two children,have attended HFS. I felt they got an excellent education. My older daughter was previously attending a public school and was not getting enough attention but once she started attending HFS ,I could see the changes. Her handwriting became more neater and started getting good grades and ended up getting a scholarship when she graduated. My son also has excelled here. Teachers the Principal are very helpful.a Also the fees is reasonable for a private school. It was hard for us to come up with the fees, but today have not regrets for putting our two children here. We love HFS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Having all 3 children attend from pre-k through graduation (high school senior and sophomore now, only my 7th grader remains in HFS), I can honestly say that the value is immeasurable. The teachers are effective and caring, the administration is now better than ever and PTA and parent volunteers ensure that families get the most out of this small but highly regarded school. We entrusted HFS with our children 14 years ago and have never regreted that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

this is my family's 3rd years at holy family preschool and we love it. the teachers are excellent, caring, personable, and very patient. The staff is wonderful. my kids love to learn and enjoy going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

My daughter has been attending Holy Family since pre-k she is now in 4th grade. my son is in the pre-school here also. I have been very happy with this school - it is a very very loving, caring environment where she not only feels safe and secure but has fun learning. However, as of June 2004, the sisters have left the parish and I do not know what is instore for the school at this point. I am waiting it out for now. I hope things do not change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Black 7% 16%
Two or more races 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lee Samaha
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (732) 363-2914

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • District Funding
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Diocese of Trenton

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Msgr. Donovan High School
St. Rose High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1141 E County Line Rd
Lakewood, NJ 08701
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 363-4771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Academy
Lakewood, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT