Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Mount Laurel

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $208,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

My daughter attends Heritage Christian Academy. I am very pleased with this school. I like that this school takes their rules and regulations seriously. They actually enforce them. They expect the students to be respectful to the faculty and to each other. That is sorely missing in many schools. There is also a favorable ratio of teachers to students. My daughter has struggled with certain classes, but she was able to receive the help she needed. The curriculum is definitely more intensive then that of the public school she formerly attended, but the teachers are helping her rise to the challenge of her school work. Heritage also reinforces my daughter's spiritual foundation. They teach her to think and act morally, according to the Bible. The faculty teaches this and models it for the students. The result is a better behaved, more disciplined corps of students. Heritage is a fairly small school. As such, it does not have some of the equipment and facilities of a bigger institution. However, I am so pleased with the caring teachers, the challenging courses, the Biblical world view, and the positive effect they have all had on my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Our thee children have attended this school for over six years. The values are true to our beliefs and the entire staff treat the children as extended family. We are pleased with the curriculum, the classroom sizes are small allowing the teacher interaction with each student. Train up a child in the way he should go and when he grows old he will not depart from it... And this they do well as they compliment home life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Great School. The staff at Heritage Christian Academy are very nice and they care about the children a lot. If you want to have a Christian environment with great education, then this is the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

Heritage Christian academy has been a blessing to not only my child, but also my whole family. The teachers who have taught my child for the past 4 years have done an excellent job in excelling her academically and spiritually. The classes are small and the teachers dedication to each student has been obvious in my daughter and her classmates. If you want a school with a caring, dedicated staff and a wonderful group of students, Heritage Christian Academy is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

My children attended a pubic school, and the influences of peers began to be evident in their lives. Transition to a dress code took time, but most teachers at HCA, particularly in the past 2 years, are excellent, and the atmosphere in the classroom and in the hallways is respectful and God honoring. My kids and I are both very thankful for the change. It has been a great blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

I didn't not re enroll my kids due to the lack of resources they have. The children are bonded to their classrooms ALL DAY.There is not cafeteria available and no gym. Not to mention the extremely small class rooms where you are not accepted if you have not been there since birth or have family affiliated. My kids were singled out because of this, as Christians the Lord teaches us to love all, not play favorites. Unfortunately I saw this behavior not only with the children but also the teachers. They are very strong on Christian values which is great. I would not recommend this school unless you have some kind of connection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

My son entered Heritage in 3rd grade after 2 years of homeschooling, bottom line: We where forced to take our son out of Heritage as he was not accepted by the other children. The teacher's response to us was that oh well....They didn't accept him so that is that. The ring leader bully, an 8 year old girl and class leader pit everyone against my son. What the school attempts to do considering the extremely small class size is to seat your child next to the child that they think they will bond with when what the should be doing as a CHRISTIAN ACEDEMY is to promote acceptance Really sad that the infection that has destroyed our public educational system has also bled into charter schools. The people there are very nice and do seem to care about the kids but unless your child starts Heritage in pre-school I would strongly urge you to consider a school with a larger class size because the kids run Heritage not the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

My godson, use to attend Heritage before moving back with his mother. The staff at Heritage really care about the children. If you would like for your children to have a great education this would be the school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

As an Alumni of Heritage I can tell you that this school did wonders for me, I enjoyed all 4 years i went there for Highschool, the staff cares deeply about each and every student, and strives to maintain a safe and Christian environment. If you are looking for a school to send your student to this is the place.


Posted February 22, 2008

I have to agree with the oldest statement submiitted. The school does a great job reinforcing Christian principles, but the school is understaffed and the children do not have a good grasp of the material as a result. First year teachers go unobserved and unmentored, further contributing to the problem. I agree that if excellent education were the primary goal, rather than boosting enrollment, then it would be a much better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

If your looking for a high quality education, teaching about Jesus, with caring teachers, this is the school. They learn the basics of sharing and interaction in the younger years and everything else needed to graduate with honors ready for college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

My son attended Heritage Christian Academy for part of the sixth grade and seventh grade. They have excellent teachers, excellent academic program, and caring teachers/staff. Heritage is a Christian school which promotes Christian values/principals and has a excellent reputation in the community. They have a competitive athletics program and offer basketball/soccer, and girls volleyball. Along with fine arts competitions, and excellent music programs. Heritage as of right now does not have their own gym, but there are plans to build one some day. This is one safe school, and the parents/teachers interface is excellent. Heritage does not put up with bullying or anything along those lines. Since they take no state or govt money they can be selective about the students that they take. Highly recommended school, the teachers and staff care about each and every student, on all levels (academically, emotionally, and spiritually.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

My son is in first grade at Heritage Christian. His teacher has worked with him one on one. She focuses her attention on making sure he understands and applies what he is learning. Melinda Mussellman has a positive nuturing spirit towards her students. Her utmost goal is to steer them towards a saving knowlege of Jesus Christ. Curriculm at Heritage reinforces the children's need of a Savior. Heritage music and arts programs are very impressive. Strong training in the areas of speech, drama and music. While there are christian school closer to my Haddon Hts home I choose to send my child to Heritage due to the quality of the program and small class sizes. Hope you will join me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

Nice to have a school with the conservative ABeka program. The school is under-staffed, however, and not all students leave the class with a grasp of the material. The musical programs they do are execellent. The church considers this school to be a Christian outreach, which it fulfills to some extent. It is very obvious, however, that some of the students do not attend any church despite statements by the parents saying they do. The discipline is good but could be better if the administration were not so concerned with boosting attendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Two or more races 15% 1%
Black 3% 19%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (856) 222-9699

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 326
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
Website: Click here
Phone: (856) 234-1145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hartford School
Mount Laurel, NJ


Larchmont School
Mount Laurel, NJ





Springville School
Mt Laurel, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT