Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
I have never experience a Teacher say to me, what are they not doing that's keeping my son from doing better... All teachers should have an interest in the students in their class. Teachers should want their students to be successful, if the student is not successful then that Teacher should not be rewarded. The Teachers at North Star care about my son's success and I am grateful for them.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Homework is needed to continue the lessons learned through out the day at home. When scholars go off to college depending on what they want to study, they will be extremely prepared because they have been trained to study and do homework. Plus, homework keeps me informed as a Parent on what my Scholar is learning, The homework amount is just right!


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
North Star scholars want to be successful, and they know from a very young age that they are going to be successful. With success these scholars are aware of the work it takes the teachers are persistent and determined to make sure scholars are successful. When a child sees the pride their teacher has in them, they want to continue to make them proud. They continue to be persistent in their own work, they continue to work hard and are determined to succeed

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Respect is given to each scholar everyday that walks into the building. They are greeted from their administrator by name, with a hand shake and a smile. As their day goes on, they are treated the same way. Very professional and very respectful.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
The scholars at North Star are very Professional. They are held to a higher standard then most of their peers are in other schools, as if everyday they have a job to do. The teachers instill in the scholars compassion and confidence, and when the scholars are doing their best, getting Great grades and being Superstars every day, confidence is developed. Caring and empathy comes from being nurtured, not only in school but at home. Parents are in partnership with Teachers to instill these values in their child as well.


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My son is in Kindergarten, he is so proud of being a student at North Star, he takes pride in himself and his school. He has matured so much over the past 11 months. He feels secure and heard in his school. As a new parent I have experienced nothing by honesty and fairness from the Administrators, and my son's teachers. I am so happy I chose this school as my son's first experience in school

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
As one of the top rated schools in the district, excellence in Academics is their MAIN focus. My son attends North Star and I am so grateful for the curriculum. Extra curricular activities are plentiful in this City, and he is signed up for them. The complaints about the homework and the rigor of the workload for Scholars at North Star is hard to believe, especially when there is such a high waiting list for scholars to get in, so those complaining are not really leaving.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
Of course it's too much homework. Every night???? Really??? Listen since when does Quantity prevail over Quality. If you're giving a good Quality education or lecture during the day, you shouldn't need this Quantity of homework at night. At home children should be relaxing/playing outside. Especially when they don't get recess at school.


North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 1

Posted March 11, 2016
- a community member
Well, I have a student here at North Star in Newark and I must say that I am so sorry that I ever picked this school. Academically he excels, but that's it. It's so much more to learning than academics. Where's the art class, gardening, shop, projects, and so forth. This school needs to learn to be More Well Rounded. It's not all about academics. The kids can't even talk to each other. SMH. My child has struggled with the North Star way....still. I still bump heads with them on their policy. Not to mention....they do not even have recess. And they wonder why they are acting up. They need some release time. They have fitness in their school clothes including and the belt is still on. I need to speak to someone who can change the policy in here. Overall I think they are a good school academically...but that's it. This militant style of teaching they have it ridiculous and I don't take it seriously. Tracking the teacher, back straight, feet flat and hands folded all day. That's for the army.

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark 2

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Northstar is a good school for academic reasons, these kids are learning a lot.. The problem is how they are learning... Learning here and trying to keep up is very stressful for alot of thee kids here... They are not allowed to be children and treated like soldiers..if you bow your head, look away while a speaker is talking, or simply just adjust your body posture( because your in school from 7:30 to 4:00 with hardly no break, no fresh air,limited conversation, and anything else that sounds rigid and military) you will be punished... They need to rethink how they treat thee children. Deal with reality and stop living some dream of creating militant individuals.. It's not fair. The staff is always right the student at keys wrong.. Gym is twice out the week, in which , they are not allowed to wear gym clothing, they have to take gym in their uniforms( that are expensive by the way)! They can care less about the parents input, only when it's time to do fundraisers.. Sadly I have keep my child in this school because I'm afraid of regular Newark public schools.. I feel that my child is safer here! But, Northstar has to do better

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
10 Washington Place, Newark, NJ  07102
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (973) 642-0101
Last modified North Star Academy Charter School of Newark is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top