Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Essex High School

Public | 9-12 | 1019 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2012

My daughter graduated in 1995, and is now a doctor. Many of her fellow graduates have equally successful careers. When applying to colleges, West Esses was rated very highly. If I remember correctly, about 90% of the students that year went to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

As a former student, I can tell you that this is not a remotely good school for any student that is interested in fulfilling their academic potential and not having a stressful life. Although some of the teachers are okay, the school does not run properly. The administration at this school is terrible. They have an average of two horrible superintendents per year, the discipline department is confused to say the least (although better than years past), and some of the rules are ridiculous, while reasonable rules are not implemented. It is impossible to get what you need for college applications in the guidance office. Lastly and most importantly, the student body is not a good one to be around. The most exciting part of many of these kids's lives are getting high and getting into a fight. Very few students are interested in any , an academic oriented club, or school work. This makes it difficult for the few who are to express themselves. The class sizes are large and the teaching techniques that are used need to be reformed. Overall, very good place if you are interested in fooling around and not really caring about your future, bad school if you are the opposite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2010

I am a parent of a student that graduated from West Essex last year. I also have a daughter who is attending the school. West Essex is a good school. You get from it what you put into it. It you do not study and do the work of course you won't do well, it's like that with every school. And big deal they like sports, most people do. They do have other clubs if you aren't the sports type. My daughter did very well, because as a PARENT, I was constantly on her back about grades and getting into a good college. So it isn't just the school's responsibiltiy to make sure your child does well. At West Essex the opportunity is definitely there, you have to make sure that you take advantage of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

I just graduated from West Essex in 2008 and I feel that I am very prepared for college. I worked har throughout high school and used my teachers as resources. Unlike what someone said before, people graduating from West Essex are not going to community colleges unless they did very little in high school. I, for instance, got into lafayette, the college of new jersey, villanova and university of richmond to name a few. One friend is going to MIT (he was valedictorian), another is going to george washington university. West Essex definitely gives you the opportunity to go to whatever college you want as long as you're willing to work hard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

West Essex is a great school. It l provided my son with a good education and perpared him for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

Not a good school- please look elsewhere. If you are looking to do anything in life, this is not a good learning environment. There is constant construction, and sports are more important than the curriculum. this is Kathryn Perez by the way a student to this school (soon to be former student)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2005

West Essex gives a lot of homework. I always thought this was a bad thing but then when I look at my test scores they are above average and I must admit that I did learn a lot. The construction is out of control though. I think we really needs to get things moving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2005

I attend the West Essex Regional and I do enjoy it very much. The academics are incredible. I have looked at other schools and their ratings on how well the students performed in testing and its noting compared to West Essex. The students at West Essex strive more for good grades because we have the oppurtunity to achieve them here. Most teachers go way above and beyond to help students get the grades they've always dreamed of. True as it seems the athletics seem to be of more importance but that statement is incorrect. Any student participating in any sport must have a 2.7GPA, some schools are only require a 2.0. I do believe it should be more around 3.0GPA requirement to participates in sports. Our required GPA is set an exceptable level as is. So you see, sports are a priority, but to the school administration and board academics are more important.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2005

It is my very strong belief that the West Essex Regional School District is exceptionally overrated. Given the amount of money spent per student, the end result is a fairly poor product. Most of the students do go on to college. Morris County Community. The 'star school' rating is a farce. The emphasis in the system is on sports and other extra-curriculars (it's not good for your child if he or she does not participate)and not on academics. The school construction has been badly mishandled, school delayed, yet that football field was redone and the games started on time. Sure tells you where the prioities are. If you have a social or academic issue with your child, don't bother contacting the teachers or administration. They don't want to hear it. Our tax dollars at work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

West Essex has some great teachers and many programs for the students to participate in. Although the teachers are usually very responsive to the needs and concerns of the students and their parents, the construction project has been handled very badly by the administration. Rather than working with parents and students throught the difficulties, the administration has baeen very adversarial. A change in attitdue has resulted in too much emphasis on having winning athletic teams and a show off field rather than a friendly and community orientated environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

I think that this school is highly overrated. The fact that it has been named a 'Star School' expresses very little about the academic performance put forth by the administration. This school is a 'Star School' simply because they provide students with Problem Based Learning (PBL's) assignments. These assignments put restrictions on what a student must do to achieve a certain grade, they also give the institution more funding for the classrooms so teachers can buy new 'toys' for the classrooms, such as CD players and High Definition Television sets, which have very little to do with education.


Posted August 26, 2003

I think with an awesome new principal in place--Barbara Longo--this school can excel. She is a good disciplinarian with enormous empathy for the students. I wish she had been my daughter's principal; instead, she was her terrific soccer coach until some overinvolved overinflated parents took too much power. Go Barbara Longo...you are self-made and will knock the socks off any principal at WE in recent history
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special education84%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Special education76%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Special education33%
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 52%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Asian 4% 9%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Gary Suda

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 West Greenbrook Rd
North Caldwell, NJ 07006
Phone: (973) 228-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Essex Campus Academy
Fairfield, NJ


Montville High School
Montville Township, NJ



Essex Valley School
West Caldwell, NJ


James Caldwell High School
West Caldwell, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT