Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lindbergh Elementary School

Public | 2-7 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

My son is in 5th Grade and has attended PP school since Kindergarden. So I've never had any issues w/teachers or the VP. Granted, he had a 3rd grade teacher that was a little nasty, but she was great w/academics and he learned alot. The only reason I don't give them a higher rating, is because I feel that they lack more extracurricular activities and wish they were a bit tougher w/school work. Otherwise, my son is doing well. Also, I'd like to point out there there is a back to school night the scd wk of school. So Im not sure, why the previous reviewer stated they didnt know who their child's teacher was. Also, on the few occations where my son has an issue w/another student, the VP handled it so well. Both kids were punished, I was clearly communicated upon. So there is allot of good things in this district, new teachers and a new curriculum this year. Otherwise my experiance has been positive so far. So I think this is a decent district for younger children. Its clean, school offers music classes for free and I 'm glad I got of Jersey City to offer my kids better. I plan on moving to another distict within a few yrs. For better HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

i went to this school the teachers are all nice and pleaseant idk what you guyz are talking about i came into this school in 2nd grade now im a sophmore they all ways help you out


Posted September 8, 2012

the principal is bad and rude to parents. also, the principal's leadership is not good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

I give this school 1 star because I had no other choice. The teachers do. It know how to treat children. My daughter's male teacher (5th) grade refers to his students as pathetic and loosers. Try that for bullying. If you are thinking of moving to PP and have a child and care about his/her academics and growth potential DO NOT send your child here. I just moved to PP this year and because of this school I am moving right out!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

my son is in this school now, but i better move to other town. Principal and staffs are not good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My older daughter attended Lindbergh, and my younger daughter currently attends Lindbergh. I am very pleased with the academic progress my girls have made and continue to make due to the dedicated staff members they have been fortunate enough to have as their teachers. I have only had positive relationships with their teachers. They have always been willing to communicate with me on an ongoing basis demonstrating the attitude that teachers and parents need to work together for student success. As a teacher myself, I feel parents have to understand that the doors of the school and classroom can't be open to 'at random' visitation due to safety concerns for children and staff, and regular classroom routines. There are opportunities to visit the school such as back to school night, American Education Week, evening conference time, and/or pre-scheduled parent/teacher conferences throughout the year as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My child attends Lindbergh School and has been a student there for 2 years. I feel that the communication between staff and parents is awful. They keep parents at a distant and do not allow them any participation with school activity. My child will attend school for 4 weeks before I even know who the teacher is and any attempt to see the classroom will quickly be stopped at the front office. When you call for information that staff is impolite and abrupt. When my wife and I approached the principal concerning this matter she was defensive excusing her staff and commenting how she had never heard any complaints from anyone else. However, in talking with other parents I have noticed that our concerns are not uncommon at all. Curriculum wise I have no complaints but friendliness and making the parents feel like they are part of the school and a part of the team is definitely not their strong suit. First chance we get our child is moving to a school that does not consider the parents a nuisance instead considers them a valuable tool in the education process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Lindbergh Elementary School has a student body in which the range of knowledge is very huge. Although there are students who excel in participating and in class, there are others, who cant seem to even catch up with the class. Lindbergh School should provide special classes where the students can learn at their own level. To summarize, Lindbergh School, the principal, the vice principal, and the faculty need to do a better job in making a place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

I agree with the other reviewer. The extra curricular activities are nice and they do prepare well for standardized tests. And again, my daughter also loves the school lunch. I do feel they give too much homework. The Prin. & VP are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

I personally think the lack of extracurricular activities is pathetic. This is a town that is about money, not children. I've lived here 40 years and watched this town deteriorate over the years. What ever happened to children first? It really is a shame and the town leaders should be ashamed of themselves for not making things better for our youth. Politics and money not children. They also did away with the D.A.R.E program. Now c'mon people am I wrong?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students64%
Female63%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian70%
Hispanic48%
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Special education57%
General education72%
English language learners13%
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former26%
Limited English Proficient Former42%

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian89%
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education72%
General education91%
English language learners53%
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former69%
Limited English Proficient Former92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students58%
Female59%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Hispanic43%
White55%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Special educationn/a
General education65%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former27%

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian84%
Hispanic71%
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special education69%
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former53%
Limited English Proficient Former73%

Science

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanic82%
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Special education88%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former53%
Limited English Proficient Former73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students70%
Female79%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian76%
Hispanic62%
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant70%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Hispanic85%
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Special education67%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former81%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female76%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian98%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian71%
Hispanic46%
White47%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant60%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students62%
Female61%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian83%
Hispanic33%
White47%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Special education21%
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 9%
Hispanic 31% 22%
White 18% 51%
Black 3% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Toni Bongard

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Glen Ave
Palisades Park, NJ 07650
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 947-3556

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cr Smith Early Child Center
Palisades Park, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT