Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Phillipsburg, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,619
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Phillipsburg High School 1

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
Awful! My child is African-Amercian. This is a huge high school where 100% of the faculty staff and district employees are white. This doesn't reflect the student multi-racial body. All employees in this district are related to each other in some way by birth or marriage. If you are not from Phillipsburg, do not even attempt to get a job there. They hire their own people. In addition, if your child has any special talent, he or she will always be behind the Phillipsburg School Board member child, behind the teachers or the administrator child. PBurg does not help kids who's parents were not born there. NJ state should really take a deep look at the nepotism here.

Phillipsburg High School 4

Posted November 27, 2014
- a student
Pros - A ton of Sports/Clubs -A large amount of AP, Honors courses -Good-Great Teachers -School Spirit is among the best in the country - Most kids are behaved in the school. -A very good principal. Cons -Overcrowded, although in 2016 there will be a new and large high school for all students and there will be no trailers. -There are 31 Trailers classrooms, and although a majority of them are solid, well built. You have to walk, sometimes a little far to get to your class, and it can be hard to get to class on time. -There is a drug scence here, but it is very easy to avoid the bad kids. There are only a few in this school. -There needs to be a little more security in the school though. It is a good school, and with the new high school being finished in 2016 which is expected to look amazing. This school is defiantly a school I'd want to go too. As a Freshman here I wanted to go to Warren Tech, which is also a great school but only has a few Sports/Clubs and has very little school spirit. But PHS is a good school if you want to meet friendships for a lifetime and get involved, and possibly go to a great college.


Phillipsburg High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a student
I am a phillipsburg high school graduate and my brother and sister attend there now. the teachers are great and the principle is amazing and interacts with all students pushing them to aim for the stars in life. im the oldest of 5 and 4 of us already love this school. its like one big family once a stateliner always a stateliner!!

Phillipsburg High School 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a student
This school is amazing. It all depends on the student to make this a successful time of their lives. Yes there are many students, but nothing that i would say as overcrowded. The teachers are great, and truly care about their students. PHS has a unique life, one that only a student with a optimistic attitude can appreciate. The principal is one of the best I have ever seen. This school gets a bad image due to its location, however if a student has a confident personality and takes honors, AP, or even cp classes, they will not be effected by any "bad kids". Even the students who are considered to be bad, do not interfere with the lives of other students. You can go to this school and end up at some community college, or you could go to this school and end up in a college that is ranked in the top 50. It all depends on the student. Phillipsburg High School has every opportunity any other high school does, its up to the student to seize them.

Phillipsburg High School 3

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Good School with good programs. Too much pressure on the kids without any break in their schedules


Phillipsburg High School 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a community member
i love Destin Drew Merwarth!! :p and i miss you too.... :( LOVE LIZZY <3

Phillipsburg High School 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a student
Proud Grauate of Phillipsburg High School. Wonderful teachers, leaders and friends. It is what you make it, and I made it the best expierience of my life.

Phillipsburg High School 2

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 sons presently in the school now. Unfortunately for them they will never see a new school nor will their siblings that are in elementary school now. Anyone who thinks the state is going to give PHS money to build a school when more than half the population of the school are not Abbott are kidding themselves. For those that are bright and go the honors route they will be fine. For those in the middle and below it's hit and miss. There are some good teachers. The key word here is SOME. The worst thing that happened to the education system as a whole is tenure. Our kids deserve better. How about a banner at 150 years that says 150 years of academic excellence instead of sports. That will be the day.


Phillipsburg High School 4

Posted October 20, 2007
- a parent
My son is a freshman, and he's a very smart kid. So far, he's being challenged, maybe to his surprise! They do focus on sports, yes, but with the amount of homework these kids get, you can definitely say they focus on academics as well. They are always given time before sports practice to get some homework done. Of course it's not perfect - it's a public school in the state of NJ - the state is a disaster and a disgrace right now. I think that if parents stay involved, their kids will do well. The teachers there really do seem to care and many are young and enthusiastic. Hopefully one day we will get our new school built - these kids certainly deserve it.

Phillipsburg High School 2

Posted October 19, 2007
- a parent
Phillipsburg HS has a good sports program and a few good teachers. Extreme overbuilding in the sending school districts has forced a shift from a small local HS to a large regional HS. The writing was on the wall for a long time and they failed the transition process (and most of our students). A handful of students are successful, but, not in comparison to the surrounding high schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phillipsburg High School
200 Hillcrest Boulevard, Phillipsburg, NJ  08865
(908) 454-6551
Last modified Phillipsburg High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Phillipsburg High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top