Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8 & Ungraded|Public district
381 students|Pitman School District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pitman Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
I grew up here and my son had originally gone to elementary school in the district but work caused us to move away. We have recently been able to come back. After living in a Blue Ribbon, massive, top-4-in-the-state-of-Pennsylvania school, I can say coming back to Pitman was the right choice. People don't seem to understand that political correctness and test taking are now part of the requirements for education. But I can say that, in PMS, they do everything they can to actually TEACH a child, listen to and respond to concerns, and create a community of solid citizens. My son went from lost in the shuffle with an 504 plan to being a competent, responsible learner who excelled in subjects we never thought he'd have a chance in. All of this within 3 months of our arrival into the district. Naysayers need to put their comments in perspective and realize that, for a tiny borough, Pitman does it right!

Pitman Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
This entire school system is extremely well run. The teachers and administration is excellent and genuinely care about each and every student and you can see this by the academic results from the children.


Pitman Middle School 1

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
The new principal does not think twice about raising his voice to the point of screaming at a mother of a child there where the child has to be escorted out of the room by an employee because the principal is to the point where he is spitting. How can any man behave that way to a woman? What example is he showing the children in that school? Very, very disappointed with this new principal and very disappointed that his coworker did not report his behavior to his superiors.

Pitman Middle School 1

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
I had an older daughter go through the Pitman Middle School and then I had two younger children (7 years later) attend the school and I am very dissappointed. There is so much emphasis on being politically correct that nothing else gets done. There is no (zero) motivation to help the children suceed . There is no consequences for children who miss homework. If there is no accountability, how will the children learn responsibility? I tried to work with the teachers, guidance and special education and could only get cooperationg when hiring a lawyer. The teachers could care less if a child is failing and only respond with poor grades via mid - term report . My middle child begged me to pull her out of the school system and send her to private school where she finally got B-C grades. I pay taxes for this????? Very disappointed.

Pitman Middle School 2

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
Below average school. The curriculum is far from great, the teachers are not good, and the class of kids is poor - not who I want my kids growing up with.


Pitman Middle School
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
All the teachers are great with the kids.

Pitman Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My childern were new to the district last year. They love it. Many extracirrcular activities, the teachers are energetic and are always available to help the children before or after school. My children are very happy going to school here.

Pitman Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
Excellent school. Very good teachers. Terrific after school programs. The administrators get the parents involved.


Pitman Middle School
no rating

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
I found the principal to care more about test scores than the children themselves.

Pitman Middle School 1

Posted August 10, 2003
- a parent
Our children couldn't wait to go to this school, until they met their teachers, they hated them, the teachers are of low quality. We found that the 6th grade teachers didnt always know what they were talking about, my children didnt learn anything.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pitman Middle School
138 East Holly Ave, Pitman, NJ  08071
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (856) 589-0636
Last modified Pitman Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top