Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4 & Ungraded
Public
Scotch Plains, NJ

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
Brunner has it all: professional leadership by the principal, fantastic teachers who work with both the children and the parents, and a diverse academic and cultural program.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
Our family loves Brunner. The new principal is FANTASTIC! (in his second year now). The school is such a wonderful and supportive, child-focused environment. We have been extremely happy with the preschool and K program and are looking forward to more years to come! Parking is a pain, but they are making real efforts to remedy this- working with parents, local police and neighbors. It is a tricky location, different from the other schools in the district, as it's located on a busier road (Westfield Road) instead of being tucked back in a neighborhood. Though it's really frustrating at times, it's a small price to pay for such a great school. I am so thankful to live in the Brunner territory.


Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 3

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
Preschool teachers and aids seem friendly enough towards students when I'm around. Teacher is matter-of-fact and not extremely friendly toward parents. My child said that one of the aids yells a lot. Learning level in Pre-K is average at best. Parking is ridiculous. Students and parents are required to park on the streets at least a block away and walk in all elements to the school (only staff is allowed to park in the parking lot-with the exception of a few volunteer spots that are generally full with teachers aids/volunteers); then parents and children stand outside (unless the news has declared a frostbite warning) and wait at pick up and drop off as the teachers are regularly 5+ minutes late (extremely inconvenient if you have other small children). This is the only school in the district that does not have a curbside student drop off/pick up and the school is doing little to nothing to solve the issue. I'm guessing that the issue would have been resolved by now if it were the teachers and staff walking a block and standing outside, rather than the students/parents! If you are looking to move within this district, I do not recommend living within the boundaries of H.B.Brunner.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
My son recently finished Kindergarten here. I am very disappointed with the Kindergarten program. Because it is only half day, they try to cram everything in over the course of one day, meaning that some kids get left behind. If the class doesn't understand a math concept, they keep going anyway. The teacher had no time to give any kind of personalized attention because the day was so short and she had no aide. I also don't understand why a Kindergarten class of 20 students does not have an aide. Pretty much every other school I've seen does. The principal was very difficult to work with. She seemed to give into other parents all of the time and didn't stick by anything she said. I thought this was supposed to be a good school in a good district, but it is not. We are now considering private school.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
Brunner is a great school I have 2 boys there they love it. The teachers are awesome they do alot of the kids in needs. The jumpstart program is unbeliveable these kids learn so much.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
Brunner is an excellent school overall and offers students a very open and supportive environment. The Special Needs group is especially wonderful with the students. Brunner also offers very supportive and parent involvement.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2005
- a former student
It's a great school with lot's of parent envolvement.


Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2004
- a parent
In my opinion, Brunner is an excellent school. The teachers put their hearts into their work, and it shows. My children, for the most part, enjoy going to school because of their positive experience there. The teachers are approachable, and encourage parent involvement in their children's education. I like the overall feeling of professionalism that the school has.

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2003
- a parent
This school is wonderful and parents are very involved which plan a major part in the success of this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard B. Brunner Elementary School
721 Westfield Road, Scotch Plains, NJ  07076
(908) 889-2148
Last modified Howard B. Brunner Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard B. Brunner Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top