Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School 2

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of children at Maugham, I am highly disappointed with the school. I agree that there are few quality teachers committed to educating students there. The vast majority, however, are just happy to be there, focus on pleasing the affluent children and their "involved" parents, have no grasp of diversity issues, and benefit from parents who pay a ton of for private tutoring. You better be very well off because your child will need tutoring. I truly believe the "10" rating is a direct result of the extensive and costly private tutoring. More "show" than substance. Regret moving to this town. Sorry, but it's 10000000% true.

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
My children were blessed to have encountered two teachers in the years there that have been willing to really spend the time to work with them. Those were the only years my children seem to actually enjoy learning.


Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
I can count on one hand the teachers known to be solid and dedicated. The rest are there because they are there.

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
No. How can it when the teachers mostly lack that quality? The result is that parents simply pay for tutoring rather than ask the teachers to be more dedicated.

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
Too many instances of favoritism based on factors unrelated to education. Will say no more.


Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School 3

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Some of the teachers in the school are amazing, while others are almost "awful". There is no consistency and some children will learn a great deal during the year, while others will fall VERY behind due to poor teachers. This is felt by most parents whom I speak with. The principal will always take the teacher's side, even when it is clear that the parents are right.

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a community member
I'm am a fellow Maugham School student. Years went by very fast from 1st grade to 5th grade and my knowledge has grown a lot. This is the best school you can go to in Tenafly in my opinion, I have enjoy Maugham School and I always will, I feel like this is my a home. Especially with my great friends. I thank my teachers for teaching me and helping with everything else. Not only teaching but there is even fun activities, Like after school programs and programs like art madness. I will be going to the middle school soon and I will be missing Maugham school. I will not forget to visit again once in a while. THANK YOU!

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School 3

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the previous poster. Maugham school is a gem in many many ways. But today I'm posting on something that I find troubling -- they used to be very friendly to parents, but now don't let parents in citing safety. Again a valid point. However, it appears to apply only to some parents. On one occassion I had a good reason to go into the school office and my child was standing next to me. I explained to the teacher standing guard at the door I am going to the nurse's office, but she was quite adamant about not letting me in. Why, you may ask, is this a problem? So what if she's hostile to one parent. Well it could happen to you, but let's look at the larger issue. People who place a premium on how someone looks and talks, people who make snap judgments are themselves a security threat and should avoid holding positions like 'security advisor' and standing guard anywhere. I'm sure she's a great teacher. Memo to parents and the bogey man I keep hearing about, all you have to do is smile and be friendly and she'll let you in. Yeah you can catch more flies with honey, and we all try. But what about safety?


Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Maugham allows my kids to grow in all aspects of life. My shy daughter can get up in front of the whole school and act on stage or play the flute in a duet. I wish I was taught like that!

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2006
- a parent
Maugham School is a gem! The excellent teachers and staff are truly caring. There is a happy and respectful atmosphere at the school. I have been a Maugham parent for ten years and, yes, the school population has grown enormously and it is no longer a small school but the heart and pride and desire to have each child excel to his/her full potential is still there. Some 'old timer' parents feel that the school has changed so much since it has grown from 200+ students to 400+ students in the last 10 years (due to new housing development) but it is still a diverse and caring community with involved, enthusiastic and talented parents. Principals don't come much better than Dr. Ben-Dov. It's a happy place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School
111 Magnolia Ave, Tenafly, NJ  07670
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (201) 816-7705
Last modified Ralph S. Maugham Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top