Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union Senior High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 11 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

I am currently a sophomore at union high school and the environment is excellent i juts wish that Dr. Martin wouldn't be leaving us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2013

My children enjoyed their time at UHS. They delved into the fields of art and music. They nor I can believe any of the negative sayings or feelings given by others. I so love Dr. Martin's old school beliefs regarding reading, writing, and arithmetic. No student should lra e school not knowing how to read. I enjoy the band, the orchestra, the jazz band, and the memorable plays. Other schools try to emulate UHS plays but I've not been impressed. May Dr. Martin, Ms Muller, Mr. Demetriou (to name a few) all stay around for a while because the students, parents and the Union community needed you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I have no idea why my review was over-ridden. To keep it short, education was bad. Student body was not ambitious or driven, and had no respect for teachers and the appearance/reputation of the school. Pros: smart kids will benefit from lack of competition, get high weighted grades/class rankings, and ultimately go to good universities. Also, their extracurricular activities aren't so bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

I sent my son off freshman year with apprehension to Union High. He is now a senior and I feel the school system has been excellent. Many people are afraid of the diversity of this school system. If nothing else it has certainly added to his educational experience. I admit initially I was uncertain. The faculty, guidance counselors and the rest of the staff have been outstanding. This school has everything to offer you have to be willing to put the time and effort into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I went to Union High School for three years and it was the most increable experince in my entire life the teachers weren't just teachers they were my friends and even though the school was labeled 'ghetto' everybody got along. I was really upset I had to go to Roselle Park High School I really wanted to finish up in UHS not only because I knew everyone and they knew me becasue really I had more acdedemic options and a wonderful 3 years I would give anything to finish my Senior year (2011) in UHS. Despite it's flawless.


Posted May 13, 2010

I am currently a senior at UHS. I must say within the past four years of my high school career this school has gone downhill. In 2006 this school was filled with various programs to help you build a successful future either through college or anything else. It valued its AP students, its C.A.S.T and Allied Health Programs and etc. However as the years progressed the school's environment decreased. Students from other townships entered and disturbed the traditionally values and the students of Union. There were more failures and less AP students. More bathroom restrictions and less privileges. In the end we've reached a point where electives and AP and Honors courses are being cut because there are not enough students taking these classes and too many kids have failed state tests. I am totally displeased with the current and future states of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I am currently a senior attending Union High School and have witnessed the changes over the years. I find my high school experience extremely enriching. This mainly correlates with the fact that I have had honors and AP classes all my life. Senior year there were not many courses that I was interested in that were honors or AP so I opted to take 'regular' classes for a change. Some teachers spoon-feed their students more than others, which can be a good and bad thing. Union High School also offers a competitive JROTC program, athletics, clubs and PAC. I have participated in most of them and students that do not get involved really miss out. I do, however, realize that the administration is not always at its best. My year, class of 2009, has experienced the most changes when it comes to UHS protocol.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

As a junior, I went to one of the best schools in Henrico County,Virginia (Godwin High School) and moved to Jersey and went to this school. At first it was a BIG culture shock because the school was so diverse and my old school was mostly white, but that is why i loved it so much. Academics here are a joke, atleast compared to my old school. The school is kind of 'ghetto', i have never been to a school where there was atleast 2 fights per week, and i have never been to a school where ceilings are falling because they are leaking ! All in all, i loved my experience here. The teachers were so nice and helpful ! I recently moved back to VA and really wish i could have stayed because i loved it here so much
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

I am currently a sophomore in Union High and I have to say, despite a few derelicts, this is a very good school. The teachers actually do challenge you, even in remedial classes (from what I have heard.) This school offers a wide variety of electives and advanced placement classes, some of which will give college credits at both UCC and Seton Hall. While this school is known for its JROTC program and we are the number one unit in the state, we are no longer the number 1 drill team. Rahway high has the best... My only real complaint is the ceiling. It is leaking and the school board refuses to repair it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2008

I just moved out of Union last year, and everyday I miss it. The school I attend now is suppose to provide me with more college opportunites, but I oppose of that everyday. This is because Union provides Honors and AP to students so early on, 8th grade to be exact, which prepares them to be in Honors and AP courses later in their high school careers. The teachers always challenge you, but if you do need help, they wouldn't hesistate to help. It's true that some students seem to put a bad reputation on Union, but I believe they are such a small percentage. Everyone that I met in Union High School seem very educated and proper. I never disliked Mondays all because the atmosphere around Union was so comfortable. Therefore, please don't believe that Union is becoming innercity because it has so much to offer and everyone is friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

My friends and i are juniors, and we sit at lunch and discuss how we are the last civilized class year in the school. Personally we feel the school is going downhill each year in quality. I still like Union Highschool because i've been in the Union school system all my life but i have a feeling that when i graduate it's just going to be another inner city school with bad grades and troublesome students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2007

Personally, I'm sorry we didn't move out of Union, 15 years ago when I wanted to just so that my children wouldn't have to go to Union High School. My children are not getting the education they should be getting because teachers have to spend a great deal of time calming students down before actually being able to begin teaching. I, as a decent parent, have taught my children not to misbehave in school or anywhere else and also not to start trouble. They are therefore, a minority in the school system. I strongly feel that if children do not want to be in school for the education they are entitled to, then they should not be allowed to go to school and disrupt the students that do behave and want to learn and further their educations and lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

This school has a little bit of everything. I just graduated from there a couple years ago and I can tell you every year it gets worser and worser. But if your kid can overcome peer prssure and just worry about himself and his school work he should be alright.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 12, 2006

While there are excellent programs, the level of student is declining. I suppose if a student truly wants to learn they can, but I feel there should be as few distractions as possible, and this is not always the case in this school. The teachers are great, but can be overwhelmed by the lack of cooperation from students who would rather not be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I am a former student of Union High School recently graduated and honestly I don't know where certain parents are talking about Union High School corrupting their students. I went there and received an good education. The principal is great. He has a very difficult job of running a very large high school with more than 2000 kids. Yes there are some bad seeds, but what high school is perfect. Kids who become unruly are unruly because of the types of people they chose to hang with. There are many activites to join including the excellent music programs. In the end I was accepted into many good schools such as Villanova, Penn State, TCNJ, and Pepperdine.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2005

I love Union high school. This high school is very diverse. My daughter love the classes offered and most of her teachers. Musical theater is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I am a former student of UHS. UHS is not a school that i think you would want to go to if you had another option. The students are unruly, even though they have 'security' the security just walks around, socialize and break up fights here and there. I transfered there from an excellent school my senior year. The teachers are no help they act like they will only help you when its convienent for them. The principal(whom never leaves his office) and the 4 vice principals do nothing but pacify situations and student concerns are not concerns of theirs. I did not make a great transformation there and about 1/2 the guidence counselors they have there play favorite and will help one more then the other. I think they need to be more involved with the student body!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2005

I enroller my duaghter into Union High School and she has succeded in many courses. She is now getting her masters degree in scince. Ever since she came to union she has had a great time here meetinf new people but still keeping up with her grades. She also met alot of her culture portuguese people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I have 2 children in the high school and a 3rd recently graduated. I could not be more pleased. The breadth of offering is incomparable to the local catholic high schools where for between 30k and 50k you can get into the very same colleges the HS graduates are. Is the school not without problems, of course not, but what school is? Parents need to get involved and stay involved for all 4 years. If you're not pleased with a teacher tell them, if you're kid isn't working to their potential tell someone. If you're concerned the school has become unruly, do something about it. You pay taxes, you're entitled! By the way, I have one kid who is a scholar, one an athlete and one a plain old hard working middle of the road kid. They've all found their niche! See if the privates can match that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

I'm a current student at union high school. I can honestly say that i'm very happy there. Yes, i also am a white male. I feel that any parent who has dire comments about this schools is overreacting. Yes, there are fights at union high school. But yes, there are also fights at westfield high. The number of fights have decreased dramatically when mr. Fortunato instituted his zero tolerance program. Honestly, if you get into a fight there must be a good reason why. Everybody leaves each other alone unless you provoke something. I have many friends that are african-american and i have many friends of different ethnicity. I see nothing wrong with the school except that there are too many classes to choose from. I currently am taking a sports marketing class, a business law class and a forensics class. Does it prepare you for life? Yes.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

572 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

572 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black90%
Asian95%
Hispanic89%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education64%
General education97%
English language learners61%
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former61%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male69%
Black66%
Asian87%
Hispanic71%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education22%
General education82%
English language learners50%
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former50%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

638 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students57%
Female60%
Male54%
Black52%
Asian79%
Hispanic54%
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Special education21%
General education64%
English language learners20%
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

72%

SAT college ready

22%

Graduation rate

92%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 16%
White 25% 51%
Hispanic 18% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Edward Gibbons

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2350 North Third Street
Union, NJ 07083
Phone: (908) 851-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Milton School
Maplewood, NJ





Cornerstone Day School
Mountainside, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT