Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
We moved here from New York and both my girls had an awesome educational experience here. Many enrichment opportunities were offered to them, art, music and gifted and talented programs. Both of them scored top of the district in standardized tests (teachers proudly shared this info) and they went on to many great achievements. In addition both developed strong community bonds and great friends - as did I. Hazel is a wonderful school and we have many wonderful memories of our time there.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
The school is located in a very diverse community, and my neighbors all speak very highly of it. we look forward to sending our oldest there beginning in 2016. We love the various ways the school is involved with the community. There is a very active PTA, and the principal is widely praised. The location is very convenient for most of the neighborhood that uses it, and they just put in a brand new playground. We have spent the past few years getting to know many parents in the neighborhood, and they have all made us very excited to start our journey through West Orange schools at Hazel!


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy with this small little school in our neighborhood. Our two children are so happy here - it's diverse in culture and Dr. Acevedo is an amazing principal. Love love love Hazel Ave!

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2013
- a parent
Truly fantastic school with amazing principal! It has a lot to offer for the children and is very safe. Art program is great, the music teacher is fantastic, gym teacher is young and fun with a lot of new ideas. School garden is beautiful! We are happy with this school.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Hazel Elementary school has a family atmosphere. There is no bussing, which allows families to get to know each other and makes parents feel more connected. The principle is amazing and has such care and concern for our children and a passion for what he does. There are so many ways for families to get involved in the school . My 2 children have thrived and love their school!


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Hazel Elementary is a fantastic school, a gem in the Valley section of West Orange. Hazel has great teachers and an absolutely outstanding principal who is truly in touch with the community. Parent involvement is improving year after year, as are test scores due to programs implemented by our principal.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school with a very dedicated faculty and staff. The PTA works tirelessly and the principal is incredible! What a great community-we are so happy that our son is here. Our school has an extensive gardening program, a wonderful enrichment program, a Wellness Committee, and many more parent/teacher/PTA run programs and all within walking distance of our house!

Hazel Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Hazel Ave. school because the great students, the wonderful teachers and a very enthusiastic principal and hard working PTA.


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
This school is a gem. Our new principal is phenominal. He's intelligent, innovative, approachable, and passionate about learning. His energy and commitment have inspired a new wave of parental involvement. Hazel is truly a neighborhood school; everyone walks to and from with their children. My friends in surrounding schools and towns are jealous that we leave our house 5 minutes before school starts, don't have to worry about long lines of cars at pick-up and drop-off, and that the children get to play afterwards with their friends in the playground or field or schoolyard. We also have our own Rainbow Garden, complete with student plantings and an outdoor classroom. For families looking for a vibrant, diverse, foot-friendly community school, this is a great fit.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
I agree with comment that this school is overshadowed by the Gregory school. This school is fabulous!!!. Strong PTA, great administration and a very close knit school community makes this school wonderful. The teachers are dedicated, caring and professional educators. The low rating is not reflective of poor teaching but rather a higher percentage of ESL students that are zoned for this school which negatively impacts the scores.

Nearby schools

Hazel Avenue Elementary School
45 Hazel Ave, W Orange, NJ  07052
(973) 669-5448
Last modified Hazel Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top