Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public district
W Orange, NJ
Students enrolled: 368
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy with this small little school in our neighborhood. Our two children are so happy here - it's diverse in culture and Dr. Acevedo is an amazing principal. Love love love Hazel Ave!
1 person found this helpful

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2013
- a parent
Truly fantastic school with amazing principal! It has a lot to offer for the children and is very safe. Art program is great, the music teacher is fantastic, gym teacher is young and fun with a lot of new ideas. School garden is beautiful! We are happy with this school.
2 people found this helpful


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Hazel Elementary school has a family atmosphere. There is no bussing, which allows families to get to know each other and makes parents feel more connected. The principle is amazing and has such care and concern for our children and a passion for what he does. There are so many ways for families to get involved in the school . My 2 children have thrived and love their school!
1 person found this helpful

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Hazel Elementary is a fantastic school, a gem in the Valley section of West Orange. Hazel has great teachers and an absolutely outstanding principal who is truly in touch with the community. Parent involvement is improving year after year, as are test scores due to programs implemented by our principal.
1 person found this helpful

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school with a very dedicated faculty and staff. The PTA works tirelessly and the principal is incredible! What a great community-we are so happy that our son is here. Our school has an extensive gardening program, a wonderful enrichment program, a Wellness Committee, and many more parent/teacher/PTA run programs and all within walking distance of our house!
1 person found this helpful


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Hazel Ave. school because the great students, the wonderful teachers and a very enthusiastic principal and hard working PTA.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
This school is a gem. Our new principal is phenominal. He's intelligent, innovative, approachable, and passionate about learning. His energy and commitment have inspired a new wave of parental involvement. Hazel is truly a neighborhood school; everyone walks to and from with their children. My friends in surrounding schools and towns are jealous that we leave our house 5 minutes before school starts, don't have to worry about long lines of cars at pick-up and drop-off, and that the children get to play afterwards with their friends in the playground or field or schoolyard. We also have our own Rainbow Garden, complete with student plantings and an outdoor classroom. For families looking for a vibrant, diverse, foot-friendly community school, this is a great fit.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
I agree with comment that this school is overshadowed by the Gregory school. This school is fabulous!!!. Strong PTA, great administration and a very close knit school community makes this school wonderful. The teachers are dedicated, caring and professional educators. The low rating is not reflective of poor teaching but rather a higher percentage of ESL students that are zoned for this school which negatively impacts the scores.


Hazel Avenue Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
Often overshadowed by the popular Gregory school located in the same area, Hazel is an excellent school with caring teachers in a great neighborhoold. Teachers and curriculum is excellent and more importantly the children are happy with ltheir earning environment. Parents are very involved and the principal is dedicated to the success of the school which is evident by the school's recent honor of receiving Blue Ribbon award.

Hazel Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hazel Avenue Elementary School
45 Hazel Ave, W Orange, NJ  07052
(973) 669-5448
Last modified Hazel Avenue Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hazel Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top