Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W R James Sr Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

This school is awesome. Please don't let the 5 fool you. My son began first grade a little behind but his teacher is fabulous. She has helped him immensely. She cares Abouther students. she noticed his improvement and emailed us right away. The new principal is a great leader. She is always there and knows her students. The school is clean and runs like a well oiled machine. Parents are involvesd, many times the they run out of seats for school functions due to high turnout. I am very happy with this school. My son has not experience any bullying or behavioral disruptions. He is happy, feels safe and learning. That is all I ask for. Keep up the great work WRJ!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My children have been going to WR James for several years. Last year I was very unhappy with the school and considered requesting a transfer to another school within the district. I am glad I waited though, because I am happy to report that this school year (2013-2014) has so far been much better. The new principal (she was the vice principal last year, but became principal this year) greets every student personally and seems genuinely concerned with the well-being of her students. The new vice principal appears to very supportive in helping the principal administer to the needs of the students, and together they make a fantastic team. I am very pleased with the direction the school is taking this year. Also, the counselor in the building is top-notch and goes above and beyond to assist the students. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Parents of children with special needs should know that this year, the special education class consist of K, 1St,2nd and 3rd grade. I think there is one 3rd grader. The teacher is attempt to teach to all these different levels. I also discovered that the students are not included in any specials with the other students in their grade level. Specials (music, art, library and gym) are held seperate from the regular classes. It saddens me to see the segregation of the special needs children. I fight at every turn for my son; however, I think it is time to relocate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I am the same parent who wrote the review on attitude and perception. (2 reviews down.) Do not give up parent! Fight for your child's right to a quality education. Let teachers, school administrators, and district administrators know - in writing - what's been going on and what are your expectations. Please do not think, "Oh, I don't want to step on anybody's toes." Many of us in our communities think that way. We have to remember we are our children's no. 1 advocates. The so-called powers that be have no choice but to listen when we decide to speak (respectfully but firmly). Our children depend on us and model us. Let's set a good example - whether we are 2 people or 202 people! Let your voice be heard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

I have been lucky, my children have had amazing teachers. For the last 2+ years I have been voicing my concerns to the W.R. James administration and elevated many concerns to the District Super. Many children arrive at 830 and there is no faculty supervision until 8:40- and the supervision is minimal. I have physically removed children from the line for fighting because the staff was not paying attention, or the area was to crowed for them to see. To add to it, buses pull up to the curb,t inches away from the 3-5th grades. It is chaos, and it took several calls and message to get a response from the principal- and no action was taken. There was gender segregation at recess that took roughly 2 months to fix- and not once in that 2 month period were my calls with the WR James administration answered. I emailed the District Super. and CC'd the entire school board. If you care about your children's safety and education, I recommend finding another school. The culture in this district concerns me, last night I went to see my daughter sing at the Spring Gala and an older woman on the faculty played a Trey Songz song "bottoms up"- completely inappropriate for a school/ family event.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

I am the parent of a third grader. My daughter loves her school! The teachers are first rate and the academic programs are challenging!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I have had two children attend WR James school and I have nothing but wonderful experiences there. The teachers are caring and totally First rate! The principal challenges each of the students and teachers alike to put forth their best efforts in accomplishing their goals and to never settle for mediocracy! My children have been Blessed to have had a Pennypacker/WR James Elementary School Experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I think the principal at this school is doing a great job for what she is given. My only problem is the school is in dire need of fixing up. Very old.... I think for the taxes we pay in Willingboro the schools should have some fixin up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

This school is doing the best it can with what the administration allows. The staff is nice; the principal is caring; the office staff is friendly. The main concern is the lack of parental involvement. The parents who don't come to the meetings are the first to complain and point the finger. Discipline is a problem, but this should start at home and some parents need to 'step up the plate' and support the school with the discipline codes. Another problem is the students lack of concern in doing assignments. It would serve the child well if some parents would be concerned about their child completing assignments rather than moving on to the next grade with a 'D' or 'F' average. Overall, the staff is one of the best in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

This is my children's first year in the school. I haven't had any problems with the students or staff. For the most part I love!! it and so do my children. I have a 1st and 3rd grader that attend the school and they love their teachers (Mrs. Allen and Mrs. Lamb)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

My daughter started at James school in Pre-K. I believe that a child is what the Parents make them into. The school has a ggod curriculum. She is now in the 1st grade, and I am still expecting her to succeed. There's a lot more I wish was available at the school, but we take her outside of Wilingborr for extracurricular activities. She loves Art and Music, there's just not enough available to the kids. There is no sports available for her age. Parenets ca be as involved as they want to be. My husband and I are at the school every day. The school needs help, but its up the the parents to lend a had and stop pointing fingers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female59%
Male67%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
General education66%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students67%
Female59%
Male77%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students38%
Female48%
Male26%
Black34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special educationn/a
General education40%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant38%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students71%
Female76%
Male65%
Black66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students77%
Female72%
Male83%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education80%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female60%
Male50%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education57%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students76%
Female84%
Male67%
Black85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education81%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 16%
Hispanic 11% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
White 3% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Teresa-anne Lucas

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Middlebury Lane
Willingboro, NJ 08046
Phone: (609) 835-8940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garfield Park Academy
Willingboro, NJ



Calvary Christian School
Willingboro, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT