Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2012

I am highly disappointed in this school. My child has been bullied the entire year and nothing was done about it. One time he finally stood up for himself and was given the same punishment as the other child. A woman in the administration was extremely condescending which made it difficult to communicate. He had a few great engaged teachers, and the rest seemed uncaring and burnt out. Unfortunately, they have had their share of deadbeat parents come through the system, and are quick to automatically treat all parents that way. My child is now enrolled in Father Hays private school, which seems to be the only real alternative in Alamogordo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Anyone who thinks that Mountain View is a bad school you are very wrong. I understand that everyone has their own opinion, but this school is a great school. The students that are bad choose to because they can't find anything else to do in the town. It's a small town, but growing. I am a former student of MVMS, and now in high school, the three years i was there were the best in my life. The teachers are great and so are the students. If your student was bullied they probably were not caught. The teachers don't tolerate bullying in the school. Also if you saw the bad side of the student body, there is a good side too. Don't judge an entire school just because of some students. This school and any of the other schools in the town are great. Even though i have only went to MVMS i know they are because of friends. The teachers will go to any length to help a student succeed in the classes. This school is a great place, and I would recommend this school to anyone with a student with a 6th-8th grader.


Posted January 24, 2012

I went to this school. They failed to notice my learning disability, and the time I spent there was absolute hell because of it. To be honest, you should probably just homeschool if you live in Alamogordo. The school system will fail your child. It turned me off public schooling for good, and I don't even live in the state anymore.


Posted September 30, 2010

I am very disappointed in this school. Kids are rude, bullies, and disrespectful. There does not seem to be any discipline for the kids that misbehave. The good kids are the ones who suffer. Teachers and kids cussing and teachers yelling at kids. I would not recommend this school to any one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

After working at this school for 9 years, I am sure that it is the best place for middle school students. We have an outstanding faculty, up to date facilities, and a wonderful student body. While we do not worry about shirts being tucked in, we do demand the best from our students. Every teacher is deicated to helping all students became the best they can. I am sorry that one parent was unhappy with our school, but it seem he/she was unhappy with the entire town. We welcome all parents and the community to visit our school and see the high caliber of learning that take place at the 'Home of the Jaguar.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 6, 2008

As a teacher, I can understand some of the frustrations expressed by the other reviewers for Mountain View. I've only been teaching there just over a year, but I find that the administration is working diligently to improve the quality of the education as well as overcome the 'ghetto mentality'. Every child deserves a quality education even if their home conditions are sub-standard. The staff believes in our students' ability to be successful and we challenge them every day to go beyond what they think they're capable of. The education of our children is a community effort and I challenge every parent and concerned community member to raise the bar for our students and get involved in their education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2007

I think this school is a good place kids to learn. The teachers are great and yeah their may be some problems but not that many. I think that every kid that goes to sixth grade to eighth should go to Mountain View. I went there from 6th to 8th grade and loved it(Now I'm a former student in high school)And now my little sister goes there.And she seems to love it there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2006

We moved here this year from a good school district and have found this to be appalling. The ghetto mentality of the kids make this a horrible place for a student to feel safe and learn. My child has had things stolen and has been called names. This is a poor town where the endless cycle of poor performers/ human beings can be seen in several generations. The sad part is that students that do excel and move on to college never return to this town so there is an endless cycle of crime and people who do not care. Unfortunately there is only one school district in Alamogordo so you're stuck. Best bet is to keep an eye on the school and hope for orders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

It is a fairly new school in our district. In the 5 years that this school has been open for enrollment, there have been 2 Principals. The school is still in the struggling phase. However, it is lacking stronge leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

181 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

163 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students47%
Female54%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female59%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students48%
Female50%
Male46%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female60%
Male49%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female50%
Male57%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students50%
Female43%
Male56%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female65%
Male70%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English Language Learner Currentn/a
English Language Learner Exitedn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Hispanic 30% 59%
Black 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 South Canyon Rd
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone: (505) 439-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Imago Dei Academy
Alamogordo, NM



Alamagordo SDA School
Alamogordo, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT