Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
A few teachers are great. Those are the few and it also depends on how much outside tutoring the kid gets.

Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
There is zero homework! If you ask for homework you're a weirdo and told the kid doesn't need it to back off.


Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
The kids work at their own pace and are only required to do one thing a day. The kids can spend an entire week on one project. They can say it's finished with misspelled words and proper nouns not capitalized. There isn't any rigor here.

Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
These kids are babies and pampered hey lack the structure and discipline other kids get. They have a brat mentality.

Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
Totally hippie school they focus on liberal issues rather than education. They do teach a "love mentally".


Montessori Of The Rio Grande
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
This school treats kids different based on who there parents are, and the kids size. My son was pushinsed because he did things in kindergarten and was a big kid, other kinder boys that were smaller did not get into any trouble for the same behavior.

Montessori Of The Rio Grande 1

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
This school is awful!!! There isn't any communication you get to see some of your kids work in Friday's when their folder gets sent home. The 1-3 teacher Matt does not communicate at all and does not want any parent involvement he clams ups when he talks to parents. He does not make the kids work, he refuses to go to parent meetings with the principal. He makes the slightest thing the kids responsibility so he won't have to be bothered. The principal wants everyone to believe it's a great school even though she admits students aren't at level. Many parents pay for tutoring and are told to back off and believe in them program. The one thing this school is good at is asking for money and volunteer hours. There isn't any homework, weekly testing, structure or discipline. The kinder teachers we had though decent were not licensed teachers only Montessori certified. I moved my kid and he got a grade ahead after being a grade behind here. His new teacher said she can always spot Montessori kids because of their inability to focus and work. This is an awful school from the office staff down.

Montessori Of The Rio Grande 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My daughter began in the 2nd grade and is now in 5th. She excels in every subject, is allowed to work beyond her level, receives the support and guidance she needs and loves going to school every day. She has built some wonderful friendships as well. The administration is knowledgeable, helpful, professional and friendly. I have never hesitated to ask questions and always receive wonderful responses. My son began attending in his kindergarten year and although he has behavioral issues I felt that the teachers and Ms. Bonnie (the principal) went above and beyond to find ways to assist me and him. Montessori is a style of education that promotes personal growth, accountability, responsibility, community, and fosters learning & MRGC does a fantastic job being a model Montessori school. There is diversity in the community of families and the feel is friendly, welcoming and positive. I can't say enough positive things about this school. Last year's AYP report gave the school a B which is far above almost all public APS schools. I give it an A+ and my kids would agree. At MRGC a child does not just learn, the child flourishes and builds character that s/he will carry through life.


Montessori Of The Rio Grande 4

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
As a new parent to MRGC, I have been actively engaging the school community since Spring09 when my daughter was accepted thru the lottery app process for the 09-10 year. Amazing staff is personable and professional and wonderfully balanced male/female wise. They all care so much about the students and are strict about students' need for personal safe place to learn and aren't afraid to advocate for it. Many other charters seem to cater to parents (probably out of fundraising & PR needs) but this school quickly focused in on my child instead of me. She OWNS that school in her view. That seems to be their view, too, and I like it. As a kindergartener, one would expect nervous hesitation at 'goodbyes' for at least the first week or two. She hesitated very slightly the first day then was ready to fly every day after. So far so good!

Montessori Of The Rio Grande 5

Posted November 27, 2008
- a teacher
This is my second year as a classroom teacher at Montessori of the Rio Grande Charter school. Ms Bonnie is the best! She is always putting the children first making sure that they are on target to do their very best academicaly and socially. I could not ask for a better partner in education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori Of The Rio Grande
1650 Gabaldon Dr NW, Albuquerque, NM  87104
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified Montessori Of The Rio Grande is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top