Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Albuquerque, NM
Students enrolled: 1,929
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eldorado High School 4

Posted June 27, 2012
- a student
I had a good experience at Eldorado and found the teachers very engaging. If I moved back to Albuquerque, I would be happy to send my own children there.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a student
This school has it all. An active involved administration, excellent teachers and challenging courses. This school offers it all, and students will be engaged and enjoy the learning experience.


Eldorado High School 2

Posted August 10, 2010
- a community member
EHS has a lot of good things going for it. There is a sense that teachers understand that students have unique learning requirements and do their best to develop lesson plans that engage them, rather than simply generating busy work. Some jaded teachers teach only to the test and not to the students. The challenges teachers face, however, is a lack of general support from administration. The administration seems more pre-occupied by throwing their weight around as administrators with offices far removed from the classrooms, teachers, and students to really care about the experiences of those within the classrooms. Parents are given attention, but seemingly only based on their income. Solutions to problems are not often addressed; rather, a sense of finding someone to blame for the problems is more prevalent. The overall sense of student safety continues to be a growing concern, and little administrative support is given for discipline.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a community member
I used to go to Eldorado and it was the best school I have ever been to. It is much beter than the one I am going to now, and I felt that I had many more options in what classes I was able to take. Also, the courses were challenging enough so that I was able to learn well and excell in school, but not so hard as to cripple everyone who attempted to take those courses.

Eldorado High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Eldorado High School is filled with hard working and dedicated teachers who do whatever they can to help their students succeed. Because it is not a Title I school, most of the state and federal funding for education passes the school by. Most teachers purchase whatever supplies they need out of their own pocket and they are actually getting ready to cut the funding resources for electives like art and foreign language. This is one of the few schools in the district that actually offers ceramics, photography, painting/drawing, Spanish, French, and German. We want these programs to continue so that students have the opportunity to obtain the best education possible and maintain the school's mission to instill a lifelong love of learning for all students.


Eldorado High School 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
I've had two children attend Eldorado. They have both excelled in English. The school has done the best they have with the assets they've been given to give the best quality education available.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted February 08, 2009
- a student
Best school ever. Teachers are great and friendly. Parents need to ask their kids what they think of it rather than making the judgement themselves.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted December 28, 2008
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in the city. My daughters are both in college and excelling from the excellent preparation at this high school. The staff was absolutely fantastic (especially the science department) and helped my children to realize their future endeavors and goals. I could not imagine having sent my kids anywhere else.


Eldorado High School 1

Posted October 18, 2008
- a parent
My child went to Eldorado until the end of 11Th grade. The teachers and admin. staff are totally incompetent. the security staff is a joke, and harasses students on a daily basis. They are a perfect example of someone with too much power. This has to be the worst high school in the heights.

Eldorado High School 2

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
Eldorado has been a joke since the day it opened its doors. Today (2008) same-as-it-ever-was: Consistently indifferent teachers (like head of math department too lazy to teach math, teacher of Chemistry who knows zero about chemistry, week-long movie screenings in lieu of lesson plans, and dufus projects like making and coloring comic books to learn about literature--in high School!) This school would make a great third grade experience for the average child of that age. Your tax dollars at work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eldorado High School
11300 Montgomery NE, Albuquerque, NM  87111
(505) 880-3744
Last modified Eldorado High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eldorado High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top