Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eldorado High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
I love how Mr. Sandoval listens to the parents at each EPO meeting and uses such common sense to help improve APS. He is a great principal, and we are so lucky to have him at Eldorado!

Eldorado High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
My kids (a freshman and a junior) didn't have very much homework, but I've heard of others (especially in honors and AP classes) having a lot.


Eldorado High School 5

Posted July 10, 2016
- a community member
We love Eldorado! Two of our children just finished their first year there, and they were able to take a lot of electives that interested them, like orchestra, guitar, culinary arts, and desktop publishing. They're excited about the classes they'll be taking next year, and there are a lot of activities for them to get involved in. The principal is at every monthly meeting of the parents' organization, and he really listens to what the parents have to say. He recently received an Administrator of the Year award, which didn't surprise us at all! I would highly recommend Eldorado to anyone looking for a good high school in Albuquerque.

Eldorado High School 4

Posted June 27, 2012
- a student
I had a good experience at Eldorado and found the teachers very engaging. If I moved back to Albuquerque, I would be happy to send my own children there.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a student
This school has it all. An active involved administration, excellent teachers and challenging courses. This school offers it all, and students will be engaged and enjoy the learning experience.


Eldorado High School 2

Posted August 10, 2010
- a community member
EHS has a lot of good things going for it. There is a sense that teachers understand that students have unique learning requirements and do their best to develop lesson plans that engage them, rather than simply generating busy work. Some jaded teachers teach only to the test and not to the students. The challenges teachers face, however, is a lack of general support from administration. The administration seems more pre-occupied by throwing their weight around as administrators with offices far removed from the classrooms, teachers, and students to really care about the experiences of those within the classrooms. Parents are given attention, but seemingly only based on their income. Solutions to problems are not often addressed; rather, a sense of finding someone to blame for the problems is more prevalent. The overall sense of student safety continues to be a growing concern, and little administrative support is given for discipline.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a community member
I used to go to Eldorado and it was the best school I have ever been to. It is much beter than the one I am going to now, and I felt that I had many more options in what classes I was able to take. Also, the courses were challenging enough so that I was able to learn well and excell in school, but not so hard as to cripple everyone who attempted to take those courses.

Eldorado High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Eldorado High School is filled with hard working and dedicated teachers who do whatever they can to help their students succeed. Because it is not a Title I school, most of the state and federal funding for education passes the school by. Most teachers purchase whatever supplies they need out of their own pocket and they are actually getting ready to cut the funding resources for electives like art and foreign language. This is one of the few schools in the district that actually offers ceramics, photography, painting/drawing, Spanish, French, and German. We want these programs to continue so that students have the opportunity to obtain the best education possible and maintain the school's mission to instill a lifelong love of learning for all students.


Eldorado High School 5

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
I've had two children attend Eldorado. They have both excelled in English. The school has done the best they have with the assets they've been given to give the best quality education available.

Eldorado High School 5

Posted February 08, 2009
- a student
Best school ever. Teachers are great and friendly. Parents need to ask their kids what they think of it rather than making the judgement themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eldorado High School
11300 Montgomery NE, Albuquerque, NM  87111
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (505) 880-3744
Last modified Eldorado High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top