Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berrendo Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 677 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

A MESSAGE FROM GREATSCHOOLS: On January 14, officials are reporting that a shooting has occurred at Berrendo Middle School, leaving several people injured. Out of respect for the families, students, teachers, and community at large, we are temporarily suspending the publication of new comments about this school. You may still submit reviews but please be advised that they will be held and subject to review by our editors for consideration at a later date. All reviews must adhere to our guidelines. Our thoughts are with the community of Roswell.


Posted June 14, 2012

Since the old principal moved to a different school in 2011-2012, BMS saw an immediate positive shift in direction. The new principal was very positive and supportive and communication became much more positive as well. The school is made up of a staff of teachers who challenge and motivate the students to do their best. BMS is the best school in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

Berrendo is a great school. The techers are always very helpfull and I'm very glad my child will be going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

i am a student the bullying is....rare.mase club this year are windmills are lifting things its very exsiting!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I feel this school is a wonderful learning center for all children of Roswell. I hope that it continues to grow in size aquity and everything else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2008

I find this school great for my daughter, her grades are high and she is very healthy. I recommend this school to many parents. I have fun learning facts from my daughter everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I have been very happy with this school. Teachers are quick to let me know of my child's progress and return my calls. Communication has always been good, and teachers make every effort to stop bullying when they are aware of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

This school is not run at all good. The kids are bullying kids and the pricipal and the teachers are not doing anything to stop it. I had to g and move my child to another school and her grades went up and the problems went away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Im a student at this school and this school is very bad at keeping the peace because of the fights. I think kids fight mostly because they just want more freedom and thats because of the uniform policy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

This school is not a safe place for my children to learn. Communication between teachers, staff and parents is minimal. I could not get a reply to my concerns and was met with defensiveness when I attempted to help my daughter. I don't feel like I was ever rude or confrontational and yet was unable to get help because of the defensive attitude of the principal and vice principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

The lack of communication from Berrendo Middle School is appalling. The new Principal is ineffective in her communication with parents and students alike. Our children are not in good hands at Berrendo Middle. The academic programs are questionable at best. The lack of communication with extra curricular activities is the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

School administration totally discourages parents from participating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

Parents are discouraged from coming to school..Do not let their 'Parent Pro-tem' attitude get to you..As tax payers and the actual Parents; we are their BOSS! That is what bothers them..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

This is a school that discourages parents from participating or even being present. I find it ridiculous that this school considers the presence of parents to be a 'safety issue'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2010.

228 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2010.

201 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students48%
Female50%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities14%
English Language Learner Current10%
English Language Learner Exited47%

Reading

All Students57%
Female54%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities26%
English Language Learner Current30%
English Language Learner Exited65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities39%
English Language Learner Current31%
English Language Learner Exited94%

Reading

All Students68%
Female70%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities17%
English Language Learner Current15%
English Language Learner Exited94%

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities28%
English Language Learner Current8%
English Language Learner Exited64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Math

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities35%
English Language Learner Current30%
English Language Learner Exited89%

Reading

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities35%
English Language Learner Current40%
English Language Learner Exited82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Mexico used the New Mexico Standards-Based Assessment (NMSBA) to test students in grades 3 through 8, 10 and 11 in Reading and Math, and grades 4, 7 and 11 in Science. The NMSBA did not report Science results in 2012. As of 2012, New Mexico no longer uses the New Mexico High School Standards Assessment (NMHSSA) to test high school students, and instead uses the NMSBA to test high school students. The NMSBA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Mexico. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Mexico Public Education Department. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Mexico Public Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 26%
Hispanic 48% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A68%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

485 Calle Don Tomas
Roswell, NM 88201
Phone: (505) 627-2511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Conqueror Academy
Roswell, NM


The Academy
Roswell, NM



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT