Advertisement
Advertisement

The Free School

Private | PK-8 | 42 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Albany

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $83,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2012

Help... I filled out the waiting list and we are looking for a spot in first grade for the fall (2012-2013 school year) has anyone else been on the wait list and gotten in?? So worried, LOVE how the school sounds and offers we really hope to get in, but have to figure out something before this year ends...email at wtpooh831 at America On Line thx!


Posted April 29, 2010

This school loves children. Teaches from the heart how to care for oneself genuinely and one another, reaching for joy, births curiosity about everything and quests and respects the truth.


Posted April 28, 2010

The Free School offered my daughter the opportunities to learn real leadership skills, self-responsibility, and discernment. As a teenager she is self-assured and self-motivated to pursue a rigorous academic program. The Free School continues to be a great community with a long tradition of ongoing care, support, and life long friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My daughter went to the Free School for eight years...it is still our spiritual home...best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The Free School gave my kids solid ground to live in the world and enjoy and relate to all kinds of people, all ages, sizes, colors and classes. Both my children are engaged adults who love to learn all the time, and love to have fun with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It gives kids the tools to think critically and solve problems. They are able to ask for help but figure things out for themselves, rather than just learning to do what they're told.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Both of my kids, ages 7 and 3, attend the Free School and I love it just as much as they do. The Free School fosters the spirit of childhood while also instilling the basis for a lifetime of inquisitiveness and learning. Free School kids learn to navigate the world and get the most out of life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

encourages the kids to be strong independent thinkers and it honors, never suppresses, their feelings. Their methods produce children who know how to direct and take charge of their own lives. At the same time, the kids learn how to acknowledge, communicate and deal with, their own emotions as well as those of the people they interact with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

it is an amazing place, where children learn the responsibilities of freedom, where they can play and be kids and where children take charge of their lives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

All four of my children have learned to LOVE LIFE at the Albany Free School. The school incorporates all of our families into the community. We ARE the proverbial Village raising the children. We ARE the Albany Free School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Never have I seen more children with an interest and zest for learning in one place at the same time. Picking up the grandkids is fun at the Free School!


Posted April 24, 2010

Our three children attended the Free School. What they received, besides a great education, was an emphasis on interpersonal relationships that has helped them throughout their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

A truly brilliant school, with one of the greatest philosophies around...that being every person is equal and should be treated as such....freedom and love is at the school's core, which is why this could be one of the greatest schools ever..... www.albanyfreeschool.com
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Two or more races 29% N/A
Hispanic 7% 21%
Black 5% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bhawin Suchak
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Elm St
Albany, NY 12202
Phone: (518) 434-3072

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT