Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Amherst, NY
Students enrolled: 661

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amherst Middle School 2

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
The principal threatens certain students with suspension, he will also suspend them for no good reason. He is extremely rude and mean to the students. They never believe the student for anything and never let's the student talk. They always believe they adult. Overly strict about cell phones. The principal is always talking down to parents. He never has anything nice to say, he makes students feel helpless and he is "out to get" certain student that he doesn't like. My child comes home and tells me how much he hates the school and how the principal is always so mean to him and he feels like even when he has done nothing that the principal is going to punish him for something. This is the worst principal I have ever had to deal with.

Amherst Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
Hate it..... Simple as that.. The teachers just hand out packets. How so they expect us to learn by that... Not the best school to go to.


Amherst Middle School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
My son attended this school and was bullied and the principal simply does not care. Did not offer any help whatsoever. A 3 year nightmare.

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school- have seen a lot of growth in all my children. They also had terrific caring teachers at the Smallwood Drive Elementary level. Kindergarten through fifth grade was extremely positive with great team support from teachers and administrators!

Amherst Middle School 1

Posted October 28, 2010
- a community member
Bullying at Amherst has been mishandled for too long. Amherst Schools need the most effective bullying prevention programs.


Amherst Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
If your child is bright, forget about any accelerated learning. The gifted and talented teacher was laid off because the school budget can no longer afford it. My child is in 6th grade, so it's his first year at the middle school. His academic performance has plunged without this program. Also, there is too much bullying going on at this school. I will send my child elsewhere next year. Very disappointing !

Amherst Middle School 4

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
My son, who is now a freshman in HS, has attended Amherst Middle school and we both loved it! The assistant principle showed great leadership qualities as well as so many staff members. The band teachers and sport coaches were so enthusiatic about developing the students abilities. What a wonderful experience. I mean - most schools has its ups and its downs but I am glad to say that Amherst Middle had more ups!

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
as a student at this school i think it is excelent the teachers aregreat and they have so many oppritunities open for you at this school!


Amherst Middle School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amherst Middle School
55 Kings Highway, Amherst, NY  14226
(716) 362-7100
Last modified Amherst Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amherst Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top