Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

PS 169 Baychester Academy

Public | PK-2 | 251 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

I love this school really much and i really love the teacher there. They are so cool, and they are so nice. I hope you enjoy this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

Principal created this school a few years ago with an awesome team of teachers. The PTA is so awesome. They care about this school and have created so many great events. Fathers cook out, Mother's Day breakfast, movie night. Fun place for your kids.....snow day today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

I have heard really good things about this school. I transferred my 2nd and 4th grader here from another close by school. What a difference. The school is the clean. The teachers keep me informed everyday of my child's work. They have a great teacher ms ferment who does orchestra every day at lunch and after school. I never thought my son would play the cello. This school is small and everyone is on their game. The first day I came I met with the principal and she shared the expectations for attendance and lateness and homework. The teachers are special too. Plus the PTA rocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

This is the best school. They do they best for all kids. The schol is very clean and is bright. The teachers and staff know the kids names and they help you when you need it. I luv the principal. The PTA is really good. Send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Principle is a dictator !! not parent or kid friendly at all. These people obviously ( that wrote those review are staff worker) all she cares about is the $3,000 she gets (per child) a month for the special needs children in that school. She doesn't directly take care of anything! !!! She has people hanging on her coat tail to do it for her. She is very condescending. The school is clean and organized with some good teachers but if you have a special needs child..... Run the other way. Do your research!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Good school, well deciplined.well organized.School is only four years old.I have twoo kids in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

Wow!!!! I love this school. I feel really lucky to have this as my zoned school. They work really hard to ensure that students are safe. My kids love their teachers. The rooms are clean and beautiful. Ms Vonghan the principal is great she has built a great community. Everyone looks happy. They work hard. If you can send your kids here you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2012

Baychester Academy is run like a private school. Every staff member is well mannered and they look out for the safety of every child. The principal is excellent she is available to discuss the issues and she cares The teachers send home great homework and they are always receiving training. I love this school.


Posted September 26, 2012

This school is excellent!!!!!! My child was only able to attend Pre-K, because he is zoned for another school. If I was given a choice, I would have kept him there. Mr. Gonzalez's classroom was awesome! It SHOULD be used as an example of what a classroom is suppose to look like. It was my child's first experience attending school, and he grew so much in one academic school year! The school is very clean. This is the only school that includes the Pre-K students in their after school program. The after school program is excellent, also. The staff includes certified teachers and the school social worker, along with the staff from Mosholu- Montefiore. The PTA works very hard. You cannot separate the PTA Executive Board from the school staff, because they work so well together. The school safety agent knows each student by name. The principal runs an excellent school! All of her staff are professional and very respectful to the parents and their children. It is like a little private school. This school is the best kept secret in the Bronx! I HIGHLY recommend it! I cannot say enough about this school. I miss them and my son does too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Staff is very approachable. Great teachers excellent principal, the staff are very involved with the students.Great music program for the students. The security gaurd greets parents and and students and knows the students by name. Wonderful P.T.A . Overall very happy !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

The staff is friendly and approachable. The security guard greets parents and know all children by name. Everyday he asks students how their day went. Every adult is truly responsible for the students. In other schools everything falls on the teacher. At dismissal I see all staff, social worker, paraprofessionals, and aides. It's wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Baychester Academy is One of the best school around it has a great P.T.A support team , great teachers and a superb principal. The school is well kept and very clean all the staff are sooo courteous.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 19%
Hispanic 18% 23%
Asian 2% 9%
White 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 24%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 235 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21670%
Teachers1990%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CRISTINE VAUGHAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Edson Ave
Bronx, NY 10466
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 325-1138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 723
Bronx, NY




P.S. 176
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT