Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a teacher
I am happy with the educational program and the focus on literacy and math. Staff members are always concerned with their students academic progress and their social emotional growth.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a teacher
I am grateful to the school leaders for the changes they have put in place this year at BGLIG. I feel that all staff and students are on an equal playing field. There is no favoritism now in the school; everyone is valued and celebrated. School leaders have improved our work environment, our benefit and are giving us targeted and meaningful professional development.


Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
The BGLIG Staff is hardworking and continuously motivates and challenges the girls. My daughters and I have had a great experience in the school. It's safe, nurturing and focused on teaching and learning.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
There is one teacher that actually reached out to my child and made an influence in her life at school.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School 2

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
This school is not recommended. My eldest daughter was one of the original girls that started when the school first opened. Then my second daughter entered. From the very beginning I was unhappy with the school, buthe I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt and stood for three more years. That was a mistake. I finally decided to remove my girls and enrolled them in another charter school. That was truly a blessing and have no regrets about removing my girls from BGLIG. This school is so unorganized. There is much favoritism of teachers with students especially the music teachers. If there are behavioral concerns with your child the school does not work with you to create a behavioral plan. They just dismiss your child and all theyour do is call you to pick up your child, which I don't understand. They should have some level of training to work with difficult children and their families, not remove them constant from the classroom and shoving th hem go a lower grade or into the office on a tiny table for hours until the parent picks the child up. I don't know how this school has not been closed. A lot the children have low scores. Their academics are not the best and this school pretty much cares about appearance and how they look to the public. Please avoid enrolling your precious daughter in this school. Research your options.


Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School 1

Posted October 10, 2015
- a teacher
Everything about this school is terrible. There is no respect for the staff. Salary is extremely low and all administration cares about is the budget. Teachers and lower level staff are extremely unhappy at BGLIG. I wouldn't recommend this school to my enemy.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
Thank you to the amazing faculty for making my years at this school worth it. And Thank you to the students for being passionate about your learning.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
They are effective for sure! However, they will not be staying for long if the school is continuing in this path.


Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
I firsthand saw a new member of the administration tell a girl that she knew who the student was because she was told that the student was poor performing and poor behaving and that she would be keeping her eyes on this student all year. What a way to start the new year. This clearly just made the student feel awful and that she must live up to this terrible reputation. The faculty works diligently to combat the administrations poor decisions.

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 13, 2015
- a teacher
The amazing faculty really tries to fight the poor administration. Unfortunately, this faculty will not be staying for long if things don't change.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School
750 Concourse Village W-Lower Level, Bronx, NY  10451
(718) 993-1740
Last modified Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bronx Global Learning Institute For Girls Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top