Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school! My 6 yr old is in 1st grade and my 9 yr old is in 4th grade and has been attending this school since kindergarten. The teachers are very attentive, we communicate through email and face to face. The students have individual attention and both my son enjoying attending this school. They have awesome school trips like going apple picking, ice skating and to Lincoln Center. I know that my children are receiving top grade education here. The principal is very involved and committed in leading the way. There could be more parent involvement.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a community member
This school is amazing. I was a fromer student here and I will never go to school that is better than this. well, because there is no school better than this. They have absolutely excellent teachers there.


Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a student
our school is very amazing most students cant wait to go bac to school after a vacation. It also helps parents because P>S> 51 has a after-school(which i go to). In my opinion this is a terrific school.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 3

Posted July 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 4

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 51 Bronx New School 1

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted October 22, 2005
- a parent
Their academic programs are top notch. Their methods of teaching is understandable and simply but yet appropriate for each grade level. They have a fine music, art and drama program. Parents can be involved in their children's education. Ideas are always welcomed.


Ps 51 Bronx New School 4

Posted July 15, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs are strong and innovative, arts are available, some parents are involved- alot more than in the local community schools. I really like that my sons goes here.

Ps 51 Bronx New School 5

Posted June 23, 2005
- a parent
This small magnet school (250 kids) offers excellent teachers and a caring enviroment where everyone knows everyone. Located in a converted factory building, the facility lacks a gym or auditorium, but the cafeteria makes due. Space in near-by schools is used for major all-school events, such as the steppiing-up for our 5th graders. Through project arts funding there is drama and visual arts enrichment integrated with the general education program. Science and dance teachers meet two or three times per week with each class. And a science mentor works with the general teachers twice per week to enhance the science content in the regular classroom work. A beautiful small library is maintained by a half-time school librarian. There is an after-school program in the school, provided in conjunction with the local community center. Instrumental music (band) is being offered after school beginning in September for the 3rd-5th graders. Parents are very involved in school leadership and PTA.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 51 Bronx New School
695 East 182nd Street, Bronx, NY  10457
(718) 733-0347
Last modified Ps 51 Bronx New School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 51 Bronx New School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top