Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 209

Public | PK-2 | 268 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

My child just started school here and I am so glad that this is where I enrolled him. The teachers and staff are extremely involved and attentive and the communication between them and the parents is amazing. It's great to know that as my child is walking in to school in the morning they can place a name to his face and he's not just another body entering the building. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I was working at this school as a substitute for a few days.... all i have to say is WOW! I have been to many schools and most of the time the staff are very rude and arrogant. Not in this school! Everyone is very nice and friendly, and as some one that has worked inside the classes, i have to say they really do care about the kids. i hope i get a permanent job their !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2011

I have seen my child grow and learn so much, its amazing. The teachers and staff are very caring and the children respond well and respect them. Its a great school - (its a shame it only goes unto 2nd grade). I would love my child to leave from this school straight to college. -- Thanks to all the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I went to enroll my son in this school, the lady that do the admissions is very rude and when i asked to speak to the principal she wouldnt even come out to speak with me! I definitely wont be enrolling my son in there... im actually very happy that i know this before he is there! The least the principal could've done was at least show her face!!


Posted November 16, 2010

EXCELLENT SCHOOL,VERY WELL ORGANIZED,TEACHERS AND STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY, the only thing that i don't like is that the school only goes up to 2nd grade.....i very much wished it would go up to 5th grade because overall the school is great and i also love how the principal is always is at the entrance during the mornings and at afternoon dismissals to greet the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

excellent teachers, very well organized, safe, strong school leadership. my two children have attended P.S. 209. absolutely love the staff. Everyone is helpful. I only wish it would go up to 5th grade!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

As a mother i can say a lot but I just to say that PS209 is just EXCELLENT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

this school is wonderful i wish the grades went higher. the staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 82% 23%
Black 1 17% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 25%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 252 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22898%
Teachers24100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANNE KEEGAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

313 E 183rd St
Bronx, NY 10458
Phone: (718) 364-0085

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT