Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 6 West Farms

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 731 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Hello well this year is okay they just dont have no more after school but thats ok my daughter is happy about that. But I really like her teacher she really put alot into her students reading every night homework I hope this year is a very good year for all the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I was surprise to read many great things about this school. My child attended this school from 2011-2013, and I hated it. His kindergarten teacher was awesome. She really cares about her student's education. But my child first grade teacher was a mess, there were weeks he would come home with no homework sheet and I would have to be consistently going back and fourth with the teacher and the main office, which by the way did nothing. There was also an incident in where my child was even assaulted in the school and it wasn t handy properly by school staff. In the two years my child was there, he was bully and assaulted in many occasions receiving phone call from school staff not having much information. They have the young boys use the same bathroom as the older students, where most of the bullying occurs because they don t supervise the restrooms. My child will not be attending this school starting fall of 2013.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

After seeing this school's grade, I was more than a bit apprehensive to send my child here. I know that I have taught him at home and have instilled in him great qualities while he was in my presence. I was afraid that the school woul dnot see how great of a student he was and just have him performing below his potential just to have the entire class move at the same pace. Pre-k sure did shock me (in a good way). His teachers noticed his intelligence and encouraged him to go further. He finished with a high reading level as well. I was so proud. I think, with anything, as long as you are doing your part at home as a parent, your child will succeed. I know the school isn't that great and i do not know why... but some teachers there are absolute gems, On the flipside, if I could improve anything it would be the fact that the security guards are not the nicest of people. When it is time for the morning rush, they are urgently trying to get the kids in the building by directing them at such a hurried pace. I was afraid my little one would get lost in the crowd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I loved this school when i put my daughter into pre-k here, mainly because we have been blessed with wonderful teachers, who care about their children. However, this school is just plan horrible, and the main reason is because of the parents. I've have been told to take "my child and run" from this school, a big chunk of parents have no interests in their childs education, i've been to many different meetings/plays where there have been a small handful of parents who attend. This rubs off on a child, if my mom/dad doesnt care, why should I? Its a shame to see how much the teachers push and try their hardest, only to see the child fail because of lack of interests. Its ghetto, simply put. Its on the verge of closing so i've heard, and where are these children going to go? Is it going to take a school closing for parent to suddenly realize the importance of education? I'm transfering my daughter out this year, its the best thing i can do for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

I am a parent of 3 and all attending at this point ... 1-k 1-2nd 1-5th and Ive had few complaints and dislikes but above great academic work love its firmness with teaching .... 2 of my 3 are horor roll students ... That means alot although you have to start & continue at home but the schools makes it better & easier for you & your children .... Very Good School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I am so thankful for Mr. Gardner, who teaches my 2nd grader. Love that a man is teaching and my child is actually learning and loves to go to school because of Mr. Gardner. I hear so much about him from my child and friends. Keep up the good work! Glad they can have fun learning. That's important for my little 2nd grader. Heard he got has some hard kids. Hope he gets a break next year. Don't want to discourage a young teacher who loves to teach. Couldn't be more happy with Mr. Gardner. He is helping my child's self-esteem and giving an excitement to learn. The only thing I don't like is when a teacher can't be free to teach their own way because of pushing little kids to get high scores on tests. That's not fair to little children. I hope the school recognizes what is age appropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

new principal with high expectations & lots of new energized young teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

cs6 has come along way. They recently renovated the building. Now when you enter the building it's nice and brite the way the school should be. They offer different program for children to improve in their academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Hello, my daughter attends CS6, since she was three and nine months, now at almost eight, she is the most happiest child ever!. Her teachers have been excellent, always providing top rated education. The teachers' support is crucial to a child's academic development, and here at CS6 my daughter has found love, understanding, support and lots of friends. I love my daughter extremely, that's why I provide her with quality education at home also. To all the teachers, principals, assistant principals, and staff at CS6: thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students10%
Female14%
Male7%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population12%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English11%
Non-migrant10%

Math

All Students6%
Female6%
Male6%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
General population6%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English6%
Non-migrant6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students7%
Female11%
Male2%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population9%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant7%

Math

All Students14%
Female15%
Male14%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population18%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%

Science

All Students84%
Female80%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities79%
General population86%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students8%
Female5%
Male11%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population10%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English10%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%

Math

All Students9%
Female5%
Male14%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population11%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 76% 23%
Black 1 22% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 216%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 195%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 27%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 370 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents31860%
Teachers5291%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JULIET YOUNG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 E Tremont Ave
Bronx, NY 10460
Phone: (718) 542-7676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 214
Bronx, NY



Ps 211
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT