Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 69 Journey Prep School

Public | PK-5 | 575 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

The principal (Mr. Cohen) and his staff have made PS 69 a true New Visions School. Its remained a community school, great teachers, staff, parents and more importantly the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love this school! The staff is great - the Principal, Vice Principal and Parent Coordinator are all about the kids. My kids love going to school. The atmosphere is inviting, and the parents are involved. Plus it's an A school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I have two children in this school... it is a wonderful school. Had we not been blessed with PS69 my children would probably be in private school. The teachers are great and the overall energy from administration to the classroom is positive and encouraging. Parents are involved in a variety of capacities. My only wish is that it were up to 8th grade! Who knows??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

I am a mother of two and both of my kids go to this school and by far its the best school they have been to. I believed the leadership has been able to excel in all the areas and that is why the school is an A school. I'm very sad that my daughter will be leaving the school this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

This school by far is the best school I have ever seen. My children currently attend this school and have never been happier. They look forward to going to school everyday. The atmosphere is very welcoming from the moment you walk in the door. As a Parent I am always encouraged by the Parent Coordinator to be a part of my child's education. The administration and it's staff is always ready and willing to be of assistance. The teachers are teaching and the students are learning and enjoy every moment of it. Due to great leadership by the Principal and Assistant Principal this school has been able to excel in all areas and this is why it is an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

I love this school. I have 4 children. My oldest graduated from p.s. 69 three years ago and I now have three in the school. Parent involment is highly encouraged at the school. We have a learning leaders program that allows parents to volunteer in the school working with the kids. I have been a learning leader for the past five years. Parents are dicouraged from hanging out in the building for safety reasons but if you are a learning leader you sign in and work with the children. The principal is always available and helpful. I wish this school went all the way up to the 8th grade. All of the teachers and staff are very friendly. The school is like a family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

My children attended this school and now my grandchildren. I love the teachers at P.S. 69. However the principal and assistant principal have no respect for the parents. There is no parent involvment encouraged at this school. The parent coordinator was kind to me but I noticed she favors the administration over the parents, I was very disappointed with the way I was treated while in the building. Other than that I think the school and curiculum is outstanding! I would also like to commend three outstanding teachers in this school..... Ms. Eunice Rodriguez, Ms. Lori Williams and Ms. Helen Estafiuo. Thank you for making my experience at P.S. 69 more enjoyable.


Posted August 21, 2009

I love this school. The principle and assistant principle are so friendly and always happy. the teachers treat the parents like friends. We always know whats going on. The school encourages parent involvement. My daughter learned Yoga and Violin so far and is in love with both. The school calls your phone with general messages. the security guards know all the parents so you know your child is always safe. Best school in the Bronx.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

This is an excellent school I love the Staff and the kids. My kids miss that school very much. My daughter still attends that school and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

Great school! Very dedicated to the best interest of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

Both my children have gone to P.S.69 since they were 4 years old. P.s.69 is a school where the children come first. Each child is encourage to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. He is a great example of a leader and I will be happy to work with him as a new parent. Thank you P.S.69.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 23%
Black 16% 19%
Asian 2% 9%
White 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 32%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 352 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents32263%
Teachers3068%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHEILA DURANT

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

560 Theriot Ave
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 378-4736

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


P.S. 182
Bronx, NY



P.S. 107
Bronx, NY



P.S. 119
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT