Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8 | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $383,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

As a graduate of Holy Family and a parent of a current student, I can say it has been consistent with regards to teaching moral, values, respect and discipline to the students. You won't get that kind of education at a Public School. As far as education I think it is average due to the fact that classes are smaller and the students are no longer separated according to skill level. My child has done well and is an honors student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

the principal of holy family is not very professional in dealing with matters of children and there family.my son had issues adjusting to a new environment and instead of the principal trying to find out was causing this problem since he did not experience this before in daycare.She decided within two weeks of him being in school to just kick him out. Shame,shame on her that she is leading a catholic school for kids, where is the concern and involvement for your student body.Can you imagine if every principal ran there school like that,who gives up on a child so easily? Someone who truly doesnt care about children or someone who does not have any and can not understand the feeling of a parent when they want the best for there child and a school can not provide help or resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I have two children here in the fifth and seventh grades and they have been here since pre-k/kindergarten. Is the school perfect? no. However, they create an enviorment where students are able to focus and learn by stressing proper conduct. I would take this school over a NYC public middle school any day. Parents and teachers have to work hand in hand to educate the students. And when problems do arise (as they will at any school) we address them quickly. I'm proud to say my kids attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

Five Stars for Holy Family for providing safety & a clean environment. Unfortunately when it comes to principal she's more concerned with money than she is with the quality of education the children should be getting. During the 2010-2011 school year my child's 3rd Grade teacher was out on leave for most of the year & her replacements were mostly parent volunteers!! Because of this most of my child's classmates were unprepared for the 4th Grade along & the ELA exams they were required to take. No my child didn't have to repeat the 4th grade this year nor was summer school a requirement but the majority of the 2011-2012 4th Grade class has mandatory summer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

Ms. De Leon was the worst teacher every. My son is still haunted four years later by the treatment he received by this teacher. The principal did nothing to address my concers. I wouldn't waste my money sending my child to this school. What a horrible experience my child had at Holy Family! He still talks about it to this day!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

I smell a rat! Some of these comments are bogus, and are obviously written by the employees of Holy Family. "the principal is one of a kind she is the most patient and gracious person I ever met. Give me a break. Quit with the fake reviews.


Posted November 4, 2011

This school has undergone a lot of changes over the past few years. Some good, some bad. Overall however, the school is a great place for the students. The teachers are helpful and available. The principal is extremely nice. Enrollment has been dropping in this school, but it must be because of the economy not the atmosphere because the school is a good choice to send a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

Holy Family School does a great job providing a safe, clean environment for learning. The teachers are dedicated and the principal cares about her school. I am happy sending my daughter to this school and feel safe about my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

I have been with Holy Family school in the Bronx since 1993. All 4 of my children have gone and are still enrolled there. My husband & I are very happy with education that our children are getting & have gotten. We highly recommend this school to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

This used to be a great school but for the past 3 years it has been going down hill. Principal plays favorites
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

This school is excellent and the students are very bright but i cant find a website to check about it and they collect enough money to hav one


Posted November 3, 2009

Staff is great and I feel school provides a safe environment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I'm a former student of Holy Family School, and am now in my third year of college. I must admit I agree with another member who posted that said that Holy Family left him/her unprepared when they entered high school. The same thing happened with me especially in math, english, and music. It took me a long time to catch up. Some teachers were average, some strict, and others too lenient, where children ruled the class and I learned nothing all year. Mrs. Latempa was great.. and i'm sure she still is, but the bottom line is that Holy family was a waste of my mother's money. The only thing you're paying for is uniforms, and a safer environment. I have fond memory of friends, but poor memory of the teachers. The school could have changed since i've been there, but I doube it has changed by much.


Posted October 18, 2009

Holy Family School have excellent teachers. The school is always clean and the students are well-behave. They offer great education and they have a safe and happy environment. Is the best school in the Bronx. They listen to the kids problems and try to solved them. Students have the best discipline and education. They have good comunication between parents and teachers. The students become independent and learn how to be better students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

HFS is the best! There's lots of awesome teachers and students. Our school also has a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The teachers are wonderful and very helpful they are very patient with the children and the principal is one of a kind she is the most patient and gracious person I ever met.. she nows all her students by name and she greets them all the same the kids love her very much Holy Family School is the best....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Our school is the best! Our principal knows every student by first and last name and what grade they are in. Also she knows if they have a sibling in the school and what grade they're in as well. She's amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

I love Holy Family, because it provides a get education for my kids and other peoples kids. They are very caring and willing to help any and everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Holy Family School is great. All the teachers know the children, whether they're in the lower or upper grades. The curriculum guarantees that the student meets their own high potential while at the same time fostering creativity and individualism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

This is my son's fourth year at Holy Family. I think the school is very good and Mrs. LaTempa is excellent. One of the things that I like about is the family setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 21%
Black 30% 21%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Claire Latempa
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2169 Blackrock Avenue
Bronx, NY 10472
Phone: (718) 863-7280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 36 Unionport
Bronx, NY




Ps 119
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT