Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Athanasius School

Private | PK-8 | 259 students

We are best known for academic programs.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $45,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

The prk3 teacher is an excellent teacher. Warm and loving to all the children. She works well with parents and gives all the children the attention they need.


Posted February 16, 2011

my daughter has been attenting this school for about a few months and its her first time in school. i am impressed how she has learned so much and will keep my daughter there. she is in pre-k3 and this is an excellent school compared to public. and they help you to acheive and help your child what they lack in. its worth my hard working money. keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My daughters have been attending St. Athanasius for 7yrs and will be graduating next year. i'm very please with the education my children are getting. The kids and staff are a big family. i would defintely recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

i myself being a former student,both my girls have gone there and if i had more kids..they'd go there too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

My daughter attends St. Athanasius School (entering 5th grade). I am extremely pleased with the education my daughter is receiving at this school. I love the fact that the principal knows each student by name (from Pre-K - 8th grade). I've never had any problems with the lack of supervision in the cafeteria as stated by another parent. I have; however, witnessed teachers yelling at kids acting out in the halls. I attended public school and I'm amazed at the level of education provided at St. Athanasius School. I would recommend St. Athanasius School to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

St. Athanasius did not meet the expectations they proclaim in their website of welcoming everyone into its school system. My son started Kindergarten in September 2008 and complained of the staffs' yelling to discipline him. There is a lack of supervision in the morning even though staff members 'patrol' the cafeteria. Some staff members have their children enrolled at the school. Many times they turn a blind eye when their kids misbehave. My son got hurt by a couple of his classmates and the principal refused to have a conference with the parents & children involved. I had to seek out the parents myself. The principal did not give us the support we needed but had no problem taking the money. This was the worst investment I ever made. As a result, I removed my son from this school in the middle of the year. But to the few staff MembersThatWereKindToMySonTHANKYOU:Ms.Quido,Mrs.Galvin,Mr.Solano,&theCafeteriaStaff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

We were looking for a school that would carry out Christian values, was well structured, had caring teachers, had afterschool programs AND was affordable. We found St. Athanasius school in Sept. 2006. St. Athanasius school has everything and we are pleased. Ms. Kraft and all the teachers really care for the students, make themselves available to the families and really take the time to get to know each child. St Athanasius school unifies families with the child's education by bringing a child's best to strenghten their weaknesses and emphasizing that education starts at home. (Children currently attending Kindergarten and 4th grade -2008)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

I am a former student of St.Athanasius. I attended for 8 years and first hand experienced the very dedication that evry teacher shows. Teachers developed strong personal relationships with their students. Morals and values are instilled at a young age. Afterschool activities are also a big part of St.A's which includes the community with programs like UNITAS. If I still lived in NY my child woulf definately attend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2004

I graduated St. Athanasius School six years ago and I can honestly say that it is one of the best schools you can attend. I was in school from Kindergarten to eighth grade and the teachers and staff really care about your education. Because the class size is small you build close relationships with your classmates, I am going to be a junior in college this year and I still hold keep in touch with many people from the school. I have many wonderful memories from St. Athanasius and I recommend this school to anyone who wants the best chance at an education.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 21%
Black 13% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Marianne Kraft
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Southern Blvd
Bronx, NY 10459
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 542-5161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Entrada Academy
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT