Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Salanter Akiba Riverdale Academy

Private | PK-8 | 796 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $269,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2010

My daughter graduated from SAR. I can t thank enough the teachers and the director. SAR program and great staff with their commitments to kids allowed my daughter to grow academically and socially at her own pace. Now my granddaughter who is 3.5 continues down the SAR road. She is very happy and loves the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2010

my daughter went to this school since preschool she is in third grade now going into 4th but she is going to switch schools the school is okay acedemically but i think they might just over do it in hebrew half the day they are in hebrew class they could be doing alot more activities if it wasn't for hebrew its your decision to enroll your child or not
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I have three children in the school and cannot describe the school in enough superlatives. It is outstanding academically, as well as in developing children's midot. I was initially hesitant with the 'no walls' deal, but oddly enough, it works. We could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

This is a school known for its warmth, professionalism, creativity, and individualized caring for its students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2005

SAR's goal is to make learning fun for the kids. It certainly succeeds in that; my child loves SAR. Unfortunately, SAR often succeeds in this goal at the price of a rigorous academic environment. SAR kids are 'behind' their private and even public school peers in virtually every area! 'Good enough' should not be 'enough' for our kids. The school is currently undergoing an almost complete administrative turnover. Instead of recruiting the best and most talented administrators from other schools, SAR made its selections on what most people see as purely nepotistic terms. The new principal has zero educational background. Most parents are hoping that he simply keeps the current polcies while he learns on the job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

SAR academy is a jewish day school. I love the fact that is open classrooms; no walls or doors seperating classrooms. I am an SAR student. I think SAR is the greatest desision my parents made for me. I used to go to schools that the kids would always leave me out. Just because I wasn't good at a sport I always got picked last on a team. No teachers or kids ever helped me. No one is ever left out in SAR and the teachers are always caring and understanding. They will help you with a subject or sport that you aren't good with. I can't wait to see all my friends again and go back to school next year!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Binyamin Krauss
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

655 W 254th St
Bronx, NY 10471
Phone: (718) 548-1717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT