Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 492
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 232 4

Posted July 19, 2014
- a community member
I really like this school but they don't not have extra coricilar activities for girls like cheer leading or gymnastics they only play one main sport like kick. Ball there should be a variety of sports for girls which there is not.also there are no language classes and all students should be able to attend different classes such as art and things .this school would be much better like that.
1 person found this helpful

Is 232 4

Posted March 23, 2014
- a teacher
This is a great school. Parents and students are happy to stay in, and they are appreciated. This school has 4 years taking A, and its learning environment tells how the community appreciate this school. This school is in the Bronx and serve very poor people but is a successful school not matter the poor neighborhood.


Is 232 1

Posted July 13, 2011
- a teacher
PLEASE DON'T SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL, IF YOU CARE EVEN A LITTLE ABOUT THIER EDUCATION!!
1 person found this helpful

Is 232 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a student
this is a beatiful and calm school

Is 232 5

Posted October 04, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Is 232 5

Posted September 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Is 232 1

Posted October 10, 2006
- a teacher
I would never let a child I cared about spend a day in this building. I taught at 232 for a few years, and the level of administrative incompetence is mind-boggling. Due to the violence and chaos in this school, teacher turnover rate is very high, and those that do stay tend to be of low quality. Except for the efforts of a few individual teachers, there are no academic standards in this building, although great emphasis is placed on 'show.' All teachers know that if they can put something decent (perhaps typed by the teacher herself) on the bulletin board, they will earn praise, but no one paid any true attention to what was actually taught in the classroom. Disruptive students run the school, but I would be disruptive, too, if treated so poorly by staff members.
1 person found this helpful

Is 232 1

Posted May 26, 2006
- a teacher
The school has long been plagued with problems that only seem to be getting worse. Weak administration that lacks vision leads to frustrated teachers and high turnover rates. The students aren't treated well by much of the school staff and those that honestly care about the children are so quickly alienated that they rarely stick around very long. The children also grow angry and frustrated. Those that want to learn can't, and those that don't want to learn run the school unchecked, causing chaos and making the school unsafe.
1 person found this helpful


Is 232 1

Posted July 11, 2005
- a parent
My child has been an honor student since 1st grade. She attended this school for six months and it was unbelievable.The academic module has made her lazy & unmotivated. Her new demeanor is atrocious . The students are disrespectful as well as the staff. maybe 5 teachers in the school were caring, and nurturing towards students. The adult(faculty) treated the students as though they were their equals. Not much parent involvement at all, when I showed concerned I was treated like I had a second head growing out my neck. Level of activities are minute. One change for the better they have made for the 05/06 school year is a new principal. Hopefully She will make a difference; and teach these children as well as the staff some etiquette in dealing with the parents. Everyone that they come in contact with are not street and should not be treated in that.
1 person found this helpful

Is 232 4

Posted August 22, 2003
- a parent
The principal knows his stuff and is always visable. He is sometimes hard on the children in the school and can be a hard headed at times. We love him though.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 232
1700 Macombs Road, Bronx, NY  10453
(718) 583-7007
Last modified Is 232 is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 232 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top