Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 304 Early Childhood School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 544 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

My daughter is now completing 3rd grade. She has been enrolled here since PreK, and I must say this school is a gem! The teachers are well equipped to provide remediation to struggling students, and help push those students who are already above grade level. Most classes have a few D75/ PS 10 students included in the classes which is great, as it promotes respect and tolerance from an early age. As no school is perfect, I do wish this school would engage in more grant writing, because there are TONS of organizations that could develop a strong music and arts program in this school. From my observation, many students are interested and talented in these areas, but the school does not offer a program to help students develop these skills. I would (and do!) highly recommend this school to others seeking a solid, public school education for their children. Of course, it would be great if this school went to 8th grade, but it seems like the middle school which shares the building may be comparable to the level of education of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Ps 304 is not just a school it is a home for the teachers and students who attend there. The teachers are all highly dedicated and educated in their field. They have all of the students best interest in mind. They consistently go above and beyond their job descriptions. I would be honored and privileged to send my own child to PS 304. The principal is the best man to work for and a friend to all that walk through his school doors.


Posted April 18, 2014

Pros: PS 304 is a stand-out school where nearly all educators/administrators/families work significantly beyond the call of duty to ensure that all of our children are reaching their potential. It is a safe place where children enjoy attending school everyday, as evidenced by the great attendance rate, parental involvement, cluster program, & multicultural performances, and co-curricular programs. Stellar teachers email parents and often celebrate student accomplishment. Cons: It lacks in racial diversity, with the majority of students stemming from White-American, or Latino backgrounds. There is also a mild, competitive sub-culture evidenced by Student of the Month, class to class competitions, Color Guard & School Safety Squad selections, Science Fair winners, etc. This is in striking contrast to the more progressive, teaching methodologies employed. More school attention to student effort, community-building, & inclusiveness is needed. The Cons in no way sway me away from the conviction that PS 304 children are receiving the highest quality of public education available in the Bronx. I'd highly recommend PS 304 to other families, & will be sad to see my child graduate one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

This is an amazing school and the staff goes above and beyond. Pre-K through 5th grade has been a wonderful experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

I am so proud to have my child attend one of the best elementary schools around! Everyone at the school works so hard to make each child successful, and students still walk throughout the building with smiles. It is a pleasure and an honor to have this amazing school in the wonderful, family community of Throggs Neck!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

This is a fantastic school all-around. The teachers are true professionals and care about children and families. As a parent I cannot ask for more. They are given a foundation to succeed and also to be young, respectful citizens . I have a 5th grader and a 2nd grader and our family appreciates all the hardwork by the principal,admin staff, coordinator and teachers. It really is a privilege to have my kids enrolled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

PS 304 is a terrific school and I disagree with the post from Oct. below, especially when it's written with grammatical errors and consists of speaking poorly about good people. A school is what you make of it. Nothing good comes out of complaining. The school consists of teachers who are truly dedicated, an active parent community and a principal who has dedicated many years of hard work. Sure, no school is perfect, but 304 is a pretty darn good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Avoid Mrs Ms. flores she is the worst teacher i have ever come across. Avoid Mrs blackmon and the fat teacher in 1st grade all she does is tell cause she cannot move. mrs parchen and all of the other teachers are pretty awesome. Principal just picking up a check. No real involvement. Any issues presented to him are downplayed.. Overall good school... What out for the teachers mentioned


Posted September 26, 2013

P.S 304 this is a great school my daughter attends there she loves it she is in pre-k her teacher is ms. Vacca can't complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

PS 304 is an excellent school thus far. My daughter has attended the school for the past two years and going into the 1st grade reading on a 2nd grade level and currently doing math and workbooks on a 2nd grade level as well. I couldn't be more pleased with the outcome and look forward to seeing what is to come next. Teachers thus far A plus....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

PS 304 is NOT a zoned school anyway & the principal has nothing to do with placement, its a LOTTERY. Most parents already went through this to get in. Siblings get choice first, but that's a board of Ed rule, again not the principal. My child had Ms. Flores and she had the tools she needed to excel in kindergarten & beyond & reads a grade above level. My kid Loved Ms. Flores. If you hate the color pink, maybe you should avoid her -she's a HUGE fan-lol, but she has pets & creatures & engages the kids .The DOE bombards teachers with an impossible amount of work with the new core curriculum & the teachers are barely have any freedom or wiggle room to do anything...it is certainly an under-appreciated profession...If the DOE would STOP cutting Funding, Maybe there'd be more $ to make a great nurturing place bigger and better! If it wasn't a place that people wanted to be, then the negative posts wouldn't exist. I doubt that any school is without some sort of "clique-ish" or other unpleasant behaviors...but The parent co-ordinator really doesn't tolerate much nonsense at all, and once something is brought to her attention, especially if it has to do with the kids...WATCH OUT..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

To the parent posting on March 16, 2013. No school is perfect. I have the opportunity to have my child attend P.S. 304 from K -5. I can't say the school is perfect, because no place is. I have to give the school and the teachers credit for producing great students. I also have to give the Principal and the adminsitration very high regard for allowing parents to participate in the school, with very few restrictions. No other school have I been in, have allowed parents this much participation. Maybe your child had a bad year, some of us have. But, I will not put the whole school down because of it. If you don't appreciate what P.S.304 has to offer...then by all means go find another one that will fulfill all your needs. This from a parent who is very grateful for the education P.S. 304 has provided for her child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

My son attended private school until the 3rd grade and started 4th grade at P.S. 304. We love the school. The teachers are amazing and the school pretty much runs like a private school. The classes are small, school is clean, teachers are young and energetic! The best part of the school is that the parents are involved and care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

By chance I happened to move to the neighborhood where this school is located, and then found the school in the book "New York City's Best Public Elementary Schools- A Parent's Guide" by Clara Hemphill. Based on the positive information I read, as well as taking a brief tour with the Parent Coordinator (about 2 years before my son was school age!), I enrolled my son. And from the very beginning in kindergarten, this school has not disappointed! He is now finishing up fourth grade, and every day I thank my lucky stars that I found this school. The principal is so friendly and involved, and the teachers are the hardest working teachers ever. They plan so well in order to prep the kids for state tests, and make every effort to make sure the kids do their best to pass. And the PTA is strong and very active in trying to raise additional needed funds for the school. Every school should have a PTA like the one PS 304 has! For a NYC public school, this one is truly a gem to be found! I HIGHLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Early Childhood Lab hands down is a great school! Solid computer, library, extracurricular and phys ed programs. The teachers and guidance counselor are hands on, pro-active and top notch as they encourage building kids' character with moral & ethical values. They don't shy away from addressing inappropriate student behavior in an effective and timely manner. My child, liked, and grew to appreciate every teacher . The front office staff is very friendly, helpful and they go out of their way for students/parents. PTA is productive and has been able to secure trips and events at every grade level (even in this economy!) My daughter (now graduating) was blessed to have been a part of this awesome school for six years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

I can't say enough great things about this school. It's like being in a private school, except we have qualified,nurturing, loving teachers and staff. It's the best thing I could have done for my children. They love it and so do we! Rock on 304x!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

What an amazing school !! I am so glad I found this little nook of a school right here in my neighborhood, the teachers and staff become a part of your family. The children learn so much and excel naturally from the great educators that they have teaching! The parents are very involved and that is what keeps the school so unique and comforting for the kids. I too Love 304!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

I love P.S 304! My oldest son graduated from the school and my youngest son attends 2nd grade there. Every teacher that works at the school is wonderful. My husband and I are products of private schools and swore that our children would do the same. We decided when my oldest son was entering Kindergarten that we would take it year by year. That was 8 years ago! Needless to say, that year by year, P.S 304 gets better and better! There isn't a better school around, except of course, my oldest son's middle school, The Urban Institute Of Mathematics and Science!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

I'm very happy we decided to send my son to PS 304. The teachers are great and the class sizes are manageable, which is a rare thing in the Bronx.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love the way our school has extremely involved parents in the classroom and at school activities. P.S.304 is also great at offering a well rounded approach to their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 46% 23%
White 1 42% 48%
Black 2 7% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 49%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 377 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents34375%
Teachers34100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. JOSEPH NOBILE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Lafayette Ave
Bronx, NY 10465
Phone: (718) 822-5307

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 10
Bronx, NY






Ps Ms 194
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT