Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bronx Health Sciences High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 377 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

The fact that this school remains open and under the same rule is beyond me ! When the board of Ed has had sooo many complaints against. Them and nothing is done!? This school is horrid and should be shut down! The staff are crooks goggle the articles the kids are $ signs disgusting!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

There is no help at all, if administration do not want your child believe me they will try at all cost to make your child transfer, they are adolescents they will make mistakes they will use them against them and not to help them be aware be alert not what is shine is gold, be careful your child will be more hurt than educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I hate this school on many occasions I have seen them expel students for failing grades something they are not allowed to do since they are a public school. The teachers have attitudes and yell at students if they make even a slight mistake . I don't feel at home here because none of the staff cares about us they put on a facade as if they care but to them we students are just a means for them to keep their graduation rate high and put extra money in their pockets. I thought they could be trusted but sadly I was mistaken bottom line is, Don't apply here
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2013

the school is a piece of work the staff is disrespectful and they are liars check out the new york post story about them ....one word money ...is all they want they could care less how the kids turn out NEVER SEND YOUR CHILD HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...the so called principals are the ringleaders $$$$$$$ not your kid's well being their own staff turned them in to the doe of new york !!enough said
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I am fairly pleased with this program. My son has had to adjust to the strict environment but I think it has been good for him. There are other places where he could have landed that would not have supported his future. It is true that in the workforce our children will be required to be on time for work. They may have an early work schedule and the boss will require them to be there ON TIME. I appreciate the opportunities my son has to make choices based on his interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

My child's GPA significantly dropped once she began attending 9th grade in this horrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

This school does not have any extracurricular activities for their students. It's all about work, and no play. They enforce their uniform policy, which is good. However, they still fail to create an atmosphere which is conducive to an educational environment. Gym begins way too early. Students need to get to gym for 0 period starting at 7:15.When I complained to the staff about this, I was told that they are preparing the students for adulthood/workforce. My opinion is that they are preparing the student to become high school or college dropouts, because they will experience burnout before the age of 21. Children still need a balance of work and play. This is sad, because my child isn't happy attending this school, so I will need to transfer her to another school this Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

really good school great atmosphere loving teachers and good social/ academic area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I love this school. I agree with the strictness and the uniform policy. Teachers still need to be a bit more alert with the children when they go down to the gym and enforce the uniform code a bit more. Children are begining to wear whatever they want while some are trying to set new trends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This school is very very strict. I started on september 9th and now its the 18th. There is alot of work and things to do that must be completed. The teachers have no sense of humor especially when it comes to working. Its a good school, their preparing us for college and stuff. Im a freshman and i know this will be hard 4 years. They arent joking about the uniform thing, if you dont wear it they send you home, and everyday you go home with homework and alot of notes. When you apply for this school make sure your ready to work and wear an ugly uniform. The kids are nice, theres no fighting, no disrespect, very well managed. The principal is extremely nice and so is the assisstant principal. If you want to get a good education in a public school apply for Bronx Health Sciences High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

I've been a teacher at BHS for five years. The recent negative comment that claims that the school has no activities is false. Many of our students participate in sports as members of Truman High School's teams (we are housed inside the Truman campus). BHS also has a few clubs of its own (step, chess) and actively encourages students to form more to suit their own interests. As far as teacher encouragement, I know that many teachers (me for one) give up lunch periods and after-school time constantly to tutor students both within our own subjects and in anything else where we can be helpful. Although I am a history teacher, I have tutored students in living environment and math when I've been able to help. BHS is a rigorous college-prep school that requires students to wear uniforms. If that isn't your thing, then you would probably be happier going somewhere else. I. Stewart
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2009

School is absolutely horrible ; i guarantee any parent can find better.no sports activity's, no legit clubs , uniformed school , teachers and social worker aren't there for us , i am a former student of this school , and i tried to work hard and do my best, but the way you get pressured in this school, it's outstanding. Also you can get tagged for anything. they'll send u home and neglect you of your work over overall appearance issues. DON'T SEND YOUR KIDD HERE, this school need to be shut down
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

This is fatima and stephanie!!!! First graduated students from BHS! Rhat is an amazing school! I must agree , yes is a very challeging school but not hard and yes the staff stress you out but definetly only for the better! When applying for the school it specifly says its a college prepartory school! They are meant to prepare the students for college and the school does a great doing it.Helping the students find colleges was even the best part about it , because honestly I didnt think I would be here! Stephanie and I are in college now and it couldnt be easier ... All because of my school! BHS! Again thank you for everything! And for those students that are not prepare to do work and performed as a student dont waist your time and attend to the school because you are not ready to acheive!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

Bronx Health Sciences high school, is in word challenging. when you send your child to this school they better be ready to do a ton of work but it pays off in the end and we always have help. yes the school is very small but its better that way beacuse kids get along better. and fore the teachers the are great and they all care about us and will do whatever they have to do to help us out. B.H.S ios a great school but its hard... but then again college isnt so easy.. so they are only preparing us for the real world... if you dont like it then dont come to this school, we have plenty of others that want to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

as a student who goes to this high school i would say that theres nothing wrong with it. kids here learn what they need to learn and do what they have to do to move u in life.all i say is that forcing these kids to wear uniform is bad.since i go to this school i know how kids feel and they dont like the uniform.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2008

I am presently a student of this school and I honestly think it is a great school. The teachers are very commited to making us better. Yes, we have to do research papers and community service but I don't think these should be categorized as burdens. I believe that all these are preparing us for the college challenge so we will be used to them when we get there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

i used to study here and quite honet with you i hated it!!! they pressure kids way to much. they give these insane projects that look like college term papers that are exagerated sometimes. and the worst part is that they do not wait for to finish them. they pile them all on you. also all the volunteer hours are totally insane. i just say if you have a better choice (which in this case any is better) dont come to this school it will only drive your child crazy and streesed out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

It is a horrible, poorly managed school. Parents do not send your child to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

well as a student i would say that bronx health science high school is a good school when it comes to being involved with students... the fact that its a small school is good cause everyone knows everyone... but although they may know each students seem to get along due to race or back ground which is sad.. bhs is a good school but over loads students with projects and students may feel pressured at times as well... but the familar environment that i feel when im in the school with my friend is great...
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
16%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
20%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
76%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
10%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students18%
Female13%
Male26%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant18%

Chemistry

All Students20%
Female16%
Male26%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant20%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

English

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities19%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%

Geometry

All Students37%
Female28%
Male53%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant37%

Global History and Geography

All Students67%
Female67%
Male66%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities29%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%

Integrated Algebra

All Students51%
Female54%
Male46%
African American49%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities10%
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant51%

Living Environment

All Students70%
Female69%
Male70%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities29%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Physics

All Students39%
Female38%
Male43%
African American34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant39%

U.S. History and Government

All Students64%
Female64%
Male62%
African American64%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities29%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 57% 19%
Hispanic 1 36% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
White 1 1% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 185%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 37%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 376 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
5.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents6420%
Students29288%
Teachers2091%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. MIRIAM RIVAS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Medical
  • Sciences
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - BX12, Bx23, BX26, BX28, BX29, BX30, Q50. Subways - 5 to Baychester Av
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 Baychester Ave
Bronx, NY 10475
Phone: (718) 862-4406

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 176
Bronx, NY


Ps 723
Bronx, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT