Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Antonia Pantoja Preperatory Academy

Public | 6-10 | 432 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

i graduated from here as an 8th grader and i can honestly say that they need a better science teacher for the middle school.. i missed my old 7th grade science teacher & i barely learned anything .. also we had a science state test that they did not prepare us for.. the other class went for like a month with no science teacher cause they were trying to find them a new one.. this school needs to be improved..


Posted August 5, 2013

APPA HAS TO BE ONE OF THE WORST SCHOOLS EVER ! I'AM SO GLAD MY CHILDREN WILL NO LONGER BE ATTENDING ! The only people you can depend on for help are Ms. Hawkins and Ms.Williams . The Principal is never available to speak to a parent nor will she ever make the time to see you . When my daughter first started Ms. Diaz was so involved and spoke to parents now she just passes you to the next availble person . I has requested to meet with her and another parent in writing over a fight that my child had and never got my meeting. This school is screaming new ADMINISTRATION ASAP !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

My son just started APPA this year, he is in the 11th grade and transferred from private school. I am now and have always been very picky about where my children go to school. So to say that I am pleased with the school is a compliment. I met with his teachers last week and am glad I chose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2012

I CAN'T BELIEVE WHAT I'M READING. My Child entered this school as an honor roll student and has graduated as an honor roll student. The teachers are there to teach and expect the best from their students. SUCCESS -- THAT'S UP TO THE CHILD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Long live APPA!!! I was a student at APPA for 3 years. I want to say that all the teachers I have had were great. Every one of them actually lived up to their teaching profession. They were there to teach and we were there to learn. For the most part students got along with each other. I'm going to miss them all.


Posted May 31, 2012

I agree with the neg comments. My daughter was an excellent student in 5th grade & at the beginning of 6th grade. Then everything went down hill. There were 2 teachers pregnant that couldn't manage their classes, the kids get lost in the fire drills. The staff is clueless and of no help at all. Their system is always down & worst of all the teachers don't listen to the students at all. If a handful of kids acts up in class everyone gets punished. Detentions all the time. Oh and class 603 is automatically labeled as the bad class. Every kid in that class is considered to be the worst of the worst, sadly even the few good ones that don't deserve it. This is out of the teachers' mouth. There is no stability in the kids' curriculm. The teachers will tell you they will communicate and email you but only 2 teachers ever did and 1 of them has retired. Awful school, DO NOT put your child in this school, you will be setting them up for failure.I am taking my daughter out and as far as I know so are at least another 7 parents. Remember 7th grade report cards are the grades that will be looked at by high schools. Don't risk your child's education by sending them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD INTO THIS SCHOOL....MY CHILD HAS ALWAYS BEEN A HONOR STUDENT AND SINCE SHE HAS BEEN IN THIS SCHOOL EVERYTHING HAS GONE BAD. tHE PRINCIPAL IS CLUELESS WITH EVERYTHING...CLASSES ARE BIG AND DO NOT TEACH ANYTHING..MY DAUGHTER GOT ASSAULTED BY A NYPD WHO IS ASSIGNED IN THAT SCHOOL AND THE SCHOOL DID NOTHING...WORST SCHOOL EVA.....GLAD MY DAUGHTER IS FINISHING THIS YEAR AND WE WILL NEVER HAVE TO SEE THOSE PEOPLE EVA AGAIN......STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL PLEASE YOUR CHILD WILL NOT LEARN NOTHING,STAFF ARE NO HELP.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

This school is not a great school. Alot of bullying around. Teachers are ok but do not always communicate with each other as to what is going on with a student. The few times i have gone to the school i see kids hanging in the hallways while class is in session and teachers don't say anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Big disappointment for me as a parent and for my daughter as a student. The school communication is horrible, I most say that every time i been to the PTA meeting very rare you will see someone from the main office. When i when to open house for the school they say of how great the school is and the opportunity and activity the school have for the kids, well my daughter is in 6 grade i can count the days she comes home with homework my son that is in 3 grade gets more homework than her. I really think the school needs better leader ship and more communication with parents. They need to have a open door policy for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

My son has been a student in APPA for the past three years. I have found that the school offers him a lot of resources that keep his interest in his education and looking forward to a great future in college. I am constantly notified of any changes in his daily classes and am informed of any concerns from either his teachers or principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

My son has completed his first year at APPA. I must say that my son is on Honor Roll and was enrolled in an Enrichment Program recommended by this school. My son has always been smart, this school is helping him excell his potential. APPA is a great school for those students that apply themselves. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK APPA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Big disappointment. Poor communication between the school and parents during crucial events like rapid dismissals and cancelled after school programs. My kid was left outside with no cell phone in that terrible neighborhood with a promise that I would be contacted. I was NEVER contacted ONE time...only by her, crying and calling from a teachers cell phone. Safety is important as well as communication...they get an F in my book. Glad this is my kids last year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students64%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%

Chemistry

All Students30%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English30%
Not migrant30%

Earth Science

All Students32%
Female20%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population42%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant32%

English

All Students56%
Female67%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant56%

Geometry

All Students62%
Female66%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Global History and Geography

All Students51%
Female50%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant51%

Integrated Algebra

All Students50%
Female51%
Male49%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities19%
General population61%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant50%

Living Environment

All Students62%
Female64%
Male61%
African American75%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities38%
General population67%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students47%
Female52%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities40%
General population49%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant47%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 66% 23%
Black 2 28% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
White 1 1% 48%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 18%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 25%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 474 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
5.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
5.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
6.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15238%
Students30771%
Teachers1547%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NANCY J. DIAZ

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - BX22, BX27, BX36, BX39, BX5. Subways - 2, 5 to Prospect Av ; 4 to 161st St-Yankee Stadium ; 6 to Longwood Av ; 6 to Parkchester - E 177th St ; B, D to 167th St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1980 Lafayette Ave
Bronx, NY 10473
Phone: (718) 824-3152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT