Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
360 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Williamsburg Northside School 1

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Our child attended Williamsburg Northside School (WNS) for a couple of years (first at the Infant and Toddler center and then at the 2's program) because there were no other options in the Williamsburg area. Although we liked the teacher's personalities (they were sweet), I cannot say the same about the school administration. They don't seem to care about the kids and their education but are far more interested in shaking the parents down. Unfortunately the teachers don't see any benefits of this considerably high tuition school as many of them have to take 2nd jobs after school. As a result, there is a massive turnover and good teachers don't stay. Many parents I've spoken to have said they were very disappointed in the repetitive nature of the school's program which doesn't foster independent thinking or growth. Others have said that WNS is not transparent and hid the fact that their children were not receiving art or music weekly which they found out only when they asked their children. The parents brought up this issue to the administration to correct but were unfortunately brushed off. We finally decided to pull our child from WNS as a great Montessori option opened up in the neighborhood and we are so thankful that we did. Our child has developed to be more independent, is far less shy than at WNS and is making huge strides in all areas of development including adding a 2nd language. Do yourself and your family a favor. Please do the research and look at other options in the neighborhood. You will be glad that you did. My recommendation would be to stay far away from WNS. They're far more interested in your money to pay for their expansion plan than in your child's development and education.

Williamsburg Northside School 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a parent
WNS is an engaging and exciting place for young minds! My son attended this school for three years and I am glad he started out here. He received the foundations needed for a healthy educational beginning. Most schools start drilling their young minds with academics, academics and more academics, however WNS focuses on the development of social emotional skills early on, which is the key to a successful educational beginning for any child. Thus, children automatically develop a love for learning and sharing their thoughts openly. Teachers aren't driven by test scores but are driven by the thoughts and ideas of their students.


Williamsburg Northside School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
My son has been attending Williamsburg Northside since he was 5 months old and we could not be more pleased with his progression throughout each division of the program. He started off at the infant and toddler center where the staff quickly eased any worries we had about leaving him with a new caregiver. We were easily able to build trusting bonds with his teachers and never had a doubt in regards to whether he was in a safe, nurturing environment. We were also impressed by both the beautiful and spacious classrooms along with the many activities he was exposed to on a daily basis such as clay, painting, and sprinkler play in the backyard. The same held true for his time at the preschool where the fabulous classrooms (along with the art studio, gym and beautifully renovated rooftop playground) and dedicated staff made going to school each morning a pleasure. Both programs also offered numerous opportunities for our family to be involved ranging from Parent Association meetings to family potlucks, to simply reading a story to our son's class on his birthday. I highly recommend this school. Our family is looking forward to moving on to the lower school this fall and continuing to be a part of the Northside community.

Williamsburg Northside School 5

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers and leadership team. The school's philosophy is nurturing and creative, perfect for elementary level. Our daughters are both happy here and clearly benefit greatly from the teaching style.

Williamsburg Northside School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
My 5 year old daughter has been attending WNS since she was 8 months old and continues to love the teachers, her classmates, the curriculum, and the facilities. The administration is very communicative, personable, and will work with you in terms of finances and schedule. I highly recommend exploring the UPK program, the diverse, well-rounded education, and exciting afterschool programs. My expanding family looks forward to being apart of this warm, creative neighborhood school and watching it grow with the community and expand to grade school.


Williamsburg Northside School 2

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Our first year at WNP in the 2's class we were very happy with our child's experience. It was nurturing, educational, empowering and the children thrived. We soon learned in our second year that this was only due to the wonderful teacher we were paired with and nothing to do with the overall philosophy or expectations of the school. Year 2 was very disappointing and instead of empowering children and continuing to build their confidence and skill sets, it was basically day care. When we brought our concerns to the administration we were basically brushed off. The only plus is the space is lovely and they have a gem of an art teacher. We are now at an amazing school and unfortunately our child is behind on math and reading skills as there was no focus on letters or numbers. I highly recommend looking elsewhere unless you can personally spend the needed time at home on the academics because from most parents experiences moving into P-K the kids are behind other schools.

Williamsburg Northside School 1

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
We were originally happy here but only with the ITC which is the Infant & Toddler Center. Thereafter, a true disaster!!! Not worth the money!!! Parents never know what is going on, meaning teachers do not give updates on a daily basis nor are trained properly. The whole Reggio Emilia Approach is a tactic used to get you into the school (not followed by teachers).

Williamsburg Northside School 1

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
We sent our child to this school for his first school experience and deeply regret it. Uncaring teachers and staff and the opposite of nurturing. Pretentious and hyped. Teachers were not experienced and did not have a strong presence. I don't understand why so many people have such great reviews of this school in the community but this is one example where spending more money does not ensure quality. School is currently far more focused on expanding themselves than providing quality education.


Williamsburg Northside School 4

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Great transition program for 2-yr-olds. For older years, sometimes they don't meet the promised teacher-student ratio if a teacher is out, etc. (but they do meet the DOE ratio). Very strict payment policy -- be absolutely sure you want to attend before making any payments. No refunds,no transfer to another student, no credit towards future year. All in all though, a good preschool inspired by Reggio Emilia pedagogy.

Williamsburg Northside School 5

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
Exremely satisfied with my child's progress, it's a true privilege to have have our son enrolled at WNP.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Williamsburg Northside School
299 North 7th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11211
(718) 599-9600
Last modified Williamsburg Northside School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Williamsburg Northside School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top