Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brooklyn College Academy

Public | 7-12 | 630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

This is a great school my son went here for one year but after coming from a larger school he did not like it so he moved with his dad and transfered. I think this is a great school for any student coming in as a freshmen as they won't feel lost and the smaller setting and student body is more welcoming. The school is very structured and the teachers and staff are familiar with each student since the school is small. Students also have the ability to gain College credits once they go to the Brooklyn College Campus in which i feel is a great opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

For the most part, the teachers are fine. However, once the students get to campus, some of the "college classes " aren't taught by actual professors and most are entry level bc staff. The psychology professor, Amanda, my daughter told me is very good. And please have your kids be careful on social mediamedia, even private, because the school is small and worry about the personal aspects as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

I go to this school now and it is a great opportunity. It is fun with the people in it and its easy to make friends. By the time I enter college, I will be in my sophomore year. So that's less money to spend!


Posted December 4, 2012

I graduated from here in 2006, it's a good school for those who want an unconventional high school experience. The teachers were good, and some prepared you for college. I'm glad to see it kept up the good work all these years.


Posted October 30, 2012

The teachers in this school are so kind and they make understand every thing. Also the staff are so friendly.


Posted December 23, 2011

I am a BCA freshman and I have to say that this school is great. I admit, that when I first joined the shcool I was mad that I had to follow strict rules and, that the building itself was so small. But now that I think about it, this school feels like a second home to me, it's small but that just proves how much more help you'll get here. Also, there are many great oppertunities at BCA that I know other schools wont give me, so I guess in simple words, BCA is the best!


Posted October 14, 2009

I think taht the teacher and Administrative staff should spend more time with the kids that are struggling. More help is need. The sfaff is spending too much time with the A students only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

This is a great school. The teachers help you and care for you. The dress code is strict but you get use to it. Anyway bca rocks !!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

Not my daughters 1st choice in HS picks but she is in the 10th grade there and wouldn't have it any other way........She is thrilled to be a student there and I love that they always keep me as a parent who does not have so much time to participate informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

I am a parent here, my daughter is in 10th grade and this is her last year at the annex. I found BCA to be the best place for my daughter and a very good school. The teachers are very attentive and caring. While children may be interested in sports etc. as a parent, I am interested in safety, family and community oriented and a balance curriculum. BCA has met my expectation and my daughter is very happy there. Marie Thomas Marie Thomas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I'm a 9th grader in this school. BCA is a great school. The teachers take care of you and look out for you when the students are in trouble. The admistration is excellent. Dress code is strict but most of the students don't mind because the students are allowed to modify it. I really like BCA. The halls are sometimes crowded and the bilding itself is a little small, but other than that, BCA is a really great school and it's the #2 high school in Brooklyn after Brooklyn Tech. I believe that students should really take the time to apply to this school. BCA ROCKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I am a stundent here it is a good school but lacks sports activites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

I love my school and the teachers are great, the atmosphere, the interaction, everything is just wonderful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

i'm a recent 9th grader and i do think that the academic aspect of it is excellent but when it comes to the extracurricular activities they are average
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

im a 8th grader attending this school and i have to tell you people the truth about it. Many parents want there kids to stay here because of the college credits that you gain. The 11th and 12th graders attend school on brooklyn college campus. and because of the uniform dress code. Which are all good point but they're many negative points to. For example the schools doesn't have any extracurricular activites. The 7th and 8th graders dont get to go to many of the dances that rarley occur. The gym is extremely small. The school itself is getting to be over crowded. Many kids arent happy with this school, so before you make your child attend it please be aware that they might not be all happy with it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2007

I agree with the parents that state this is w great school. The thing that compliments the school the most is the teachers and the investments they make in ensuring the success of all students. In my experience I would like to commend the experienced guidance counselors as I find them to be attentive, knowledgeable, extremely qualified and parent friendly. Also, I applaud this learning institution for acknowledging the students that do excel academically and work hard to achieve academic excellency. All students at BCA are given a fair opportunity to excel. I agree with the teachers decision to not hold those students back with the students who lack the same enthusiasm for learning. Personally, I'd like to see parents of the students who aren't among the 'selected few' become more proactive in their child's education. A child's future is first and foremost in the PARENTS hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

This school is great...the greatest thing about it, is the caring staff. When your child is at school you can feel comfortable. The curriculum is also good but like everything else there is room for improvement, for example the extra curricular activites can be increased, the guidance counselors need to step up their pace because our children's future is in their hands. The students should all be given a fair opportunity to excel and certain classes should not be for the selected few. On the whole the school's graduation record and reputation as one of the best speak for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I think Brooklyn College Academy is one of the best high school in New York City. The teachers are great and they inform the parents about everything. My daughter is in the ninth grade and we love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I Love this school for my daughter.The school keep you inform about everything and most of all they tell you everything wrong that your child is doing.Even if they come in late they will call you.I take my hat off to the teacher,staff, and the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

My daughter is in the 8th grade at Brooklyn College Academy. We love it . For one thing, her class size is really small. There are only about 14 in her class... that's fewer than the private school she formerly attended, which had 30 students in her class. Also, we are happy that she doesn't need to change schools next year when she begins high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

95 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

English

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Global History and Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Integrated Algebra

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Living Environment

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level. The school received a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 78% 19%
Hispanic 2 12% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 6% 9%
White 1 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 268%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 952 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents31752%
Students60795%
Teachers2890%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. NICHOLAS MAZZARELLA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B16, B35, B67, B68. Subways - B, Q to Church Av; F, G to Fort Hamilton Pkwy
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Coney Island Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 951-5941

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT