Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 109 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a community member
The school is on the right track. My kids are at this school and have nothing but good things to say about the staff. Some kids are behavior problems but the administration is doing all it can to deal with those few.

Ps 109 4

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughters attend this school. They both have excellent teachers who care about their emotional and intellectual well being. One daughter has 20 classmates while the other has 23 classmates.


Ps 109 1

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
This school has the worst teachers and large class 30 /1 they have no control over the children and always calling parents for minor issues

Ps 109 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
My school is a great school. It has a good principal named Mr.Chase.I have a great teacher named Ms.Lewis.She loves me and I love her back.

Ps 109 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a community member
I am new to the community and the school. I think the teachers are doing a wonderful job, especially the teachers in the gifted & talented program. Many of those teachers seem very committed to the kids that they teach. The new principal seems to have really turned that school around!!! Kudos to them. He has stated numerous times that he envisions 109 as a school that prepares their graduates to go on to extremely competitive high schools and beyond. Kudos to them!!!


Ps 109 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year in the public school system and they sent him to this school. His teacher is loud and lazy. She is absent almost every other week. The principal is more concerned about her lunch duty then answering parents concerns. I am afraid that this year has back tracked my sons education because the teacher has to spend so much time reprimanding troubled students. Don't send your kids here!

Ps 109
no rating

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
Ive had nothing but problems since my child entered this school. we've had some major problems with bullies and nothing is done. this school is extremely slow in getting back to parents.

Ps 109 3

Posted April 08, 2005
- a parent
They have a great honors program that does work a year ahead and the teachers in that program are great. Unfortunately, my child has a lot of problems with bullies and I don't feel there is enough done about that. My child has been assaulted on several occasions even in front of school officials and they don't suspend the culprit. They just separate them which is ridiculous. I feel if you can go up to someone and kick them in the gut, then you should be suspended without question. If a child is that violent they need a reality check. I have been teaching my child not to hit back and let the school officials handle it, but it is getting out of hand, they always say they will look into it and never get back to me. I am going to transfer my child to a new school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 109
1001 East 45th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11203
(718) 693-3426
Last modified Ps 109 is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 109 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top