Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 556

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 109 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a community member
I am new to the community and the school. I think the teachers are doing a wonderful job, especially the teachers in the gifted & talented program. Many of those teachers seem very committed to the kids that they teach. The new principal seems to have really turned that school around!!! Kudos to them. He has stated numerous times that he envisions 109 as a school that prepares their graduates to go on to extremely competitive high schools and beyond. Kudos to them!!!

Ps 109 1

Posted August 28, 2011
- a community member
my first year was 1947. learned nothing. teachers could care less. i was bussed in from 3 miles. this was the post world war II era. but at 75 years old i did prosper and living in wonderful arzona.


Ps 109 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year in the public school system and they sent him to this school. His teacher is loud and lazy. She is absent almost every other week. The principal is more concerned about her lunch duty then answering parents concerns. I am afraid that this year has back tracked my sons education because the teacher has to spend so much time reprimanding troubled students. Don't send your kids here!

Ps 109 5

Posted February 28, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 109 4

Posted August 27, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Ps 109 3

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 109 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 109 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
Ive had nothing but problems since my child entered this school. we've had some major problems with bullies and nothing is done. this school is extremely slow in getting back to parents.


Ps 109 1

Posted August 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 109 3

Posted April 08, 2005
- a parent
They have a great honors program that does work a year ahead and the teachers in that program are great. Unfortunately, my child has a lot of problems with bullies and I don't feel there is enough done about that. My child has been assaulted on several occasions even in front of school officials and they don't suspend the culprit. They just separate them which is ridiculous. I feel if you can go up to someone and kick them in the gut, then you should be suspended without question. If a child is that violent they need a reality check. I have been teaching my child not to hit back and let the school officials handle it, but it is getting out of hand, they always say they will look into it and never get back to me. I am going to transfer my child to a new school next year.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 109
1001 East 45th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11203
(718) 693-3426
Last modified Ps 109 is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 109 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top