Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2593 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2014

For the person who wrote a review regarding their attendance 60 YEARS AGO, a lot has CHANGED!!! You should make a visit. The school is notorious for kids being bullied, and security arriving way too late, and if they don't get you in school they will get you after school. There must be a change this has been going on for years!!!! Kids are bused from other locations, and sometime not the best neighborhoods, to ensure the school is integrated, and this does have an affect to population and to those who live in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2014

This school is so terrible they only focus on the football and basket ball teams not subjects or new books or anything of that sort. The teachers are very unexperienced and have no control over the classroom. The kids there are ruthless fights all the time as well as bullying. The only thing is good is the teams and vet. Course. But overall this school is terrible . Even from my own experience when I used to go there a lot of kids used to pick on me and try to hurt me . My teachers even new about this but yet had no control. One day I was driven out the classroom but them and left the school while no one stopped me not even the teachers or deans or security I just walked out crying. This school only focuses on sport teams and being on the news about it. Nothing more. Really a disappointment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2012

I went to Lincoln 60 years ago. Lived across the street from it. Love it then used to go to the pool for 3 cents a day . That was in the 1940's Went to school 1952 1956 I loved it.


Posted September 16, 2012

I really love this school my daughter is about to graduate with high honors at the school the teachers are amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Lincoln is not a 'great' school but it's not a terrible school either.Some teachers seem more concerned/supportive than others but that is in any school. You will get out of Lincoln what you put in. If you want to half a-- your way through high school then that's on you. It is not a school that revolves around the underachievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

This school is really notorious. I currently attend the school, and think that it is looked down on from a blind perspective. If you try, you will learn as much as you please. If you don't, you wont. The school, in a way, successfully separates students based on their averages by the application of two programs : IPS and Gilder Lehrman. The students who are known to be violent are therefore in a whole different world than you, so violence is out of the question. This school, because of the high number of students with low averages, has to focus on the failings kids instead of the ones who attain a 90-100 average. There are therefore only about 6 AP classes, and 5-6 college now (Which isn't that bad) Don't be fooled, thought, because if you have a good GPA, you will get an enormous amount of extra classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Its not a bad school. I came in that school at 10th grade and dident know much people but within a week got to know a lot of people. Surprisingly, the senors are really nice!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

It is not as bad as everyone says or thinks it is. Programs and teachers are nice too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

I personally think that the school is okay even though some of the students are a little outta control, but its a cool school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

When i came in as a freshman i didnt know anyone but everyone was nice , the teachers were awsome...The metal detectors annoy me tho but everything is and was awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

I'm a sophomore- but when I first entered Lincoln as a freshmen I wont lie- I was scared. Not only didn't I really know anyone there but everything was just so new. Fear is a rational response to such things, but after about a week of school into only did I get accustomed to the teachers and new surroundings but also the kids were nice. Not only had majority of the freshmen population known you by the end of the year but also a few sophomores/juniors/and seniors had befriended you. The teachers are more then supportive and are always looking out for your best interest. They make sure that the concept of the lesson was understood and everyone is able to complete any assignments that was sent home/done in class. Overall this is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

Pretty damn good school.I'm going to tenth grade and freshman year was awesome.Nobody really picks on you unless you mess with them.Education is really interesting to most students.I enjoy the fact that you can actually choose what academy you want to go during tenth grade while other schools don't.Overall I'll give the school 4/5
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2009

When I listed Lincoln on my HS application, I honestly did not know that it was known as a bad school. I found out after I had gotten accepted. However, being at Lincoln for 5 months, I can say that it has changed a lot since it was listed as an 'impact school' (NYC's most dangerous schools but Lincoln has been taken off the list), but there still are metal detectors which can frequently make students late to class. On the bright side, Lincoln has installed a new 'Freshman Academy' which all freshman students are in and from what I have heard, at the end our freshman year, we can select the program we want to enter, though I had already signed up for a program. My grades have risen since entering Lincoln. there are problems with the programs. If only we had more challenging classes for freshman
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

Well its my first year in lincoln and honestly i thought it was going to be a living nightmere. I heard so many things about that i acually started crying. Suprise! now i love it, its like my second home. I made amazing friends and meet amazing teachers. my attitude about it changed complety. Lincoln is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

This scholl has a awsome sport /activites, specaily it focus on the students study . Also i would like to let you no that the bathroom are really dirty . They should be clean .


Posted September 4, 2008

well i have my son in lincoln and he has done pretty well. He has gone from a 70's student to high 80's. Even though Abraham Lincoln is not thought of as a great school, if your kid tries he can make it. Their is some behaivior issues with the kids, however its nothing major. The school has made some huge steps, and that is why my son loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I personally think this is a great oppurtunity school. For one as of saying the kids are 'bad' if tell them to stop they would actually stop. Although the school i go to now kids don't give a damn. In this school its vice versa. Also it has PSAL teams as well. They have good AP classes as well which requires a high criteria.


Posted March 9, 2008

I am thrilled the students choose to write reviews, however when a junior cannot spell 'TRANSITION' it worries me a great deal. (see oct 4, 2006 review)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

School is great, education good but still need to control violance and decipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

Overall I like ALHS but there are flaws. Some teachers dont care or have trouble. SOme of the kids that go there are bad kids. The Honors and IPS program are great and the BAsketball team.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

421 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

880 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

707 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
52%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

954 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

809 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

952 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students53%
Female50%
Male56%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant53%

Chemistry

All Students30%
Female25%
Male36%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population31%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant30%

Earth Science

All Students19%
Female19%
Male19%
African American6%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities0%
General population23%
English language learners35%
Proficient in English14%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant19%

English

All Students50%
Female54%
Male47%
African American47%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities17%
General population56%
English language learners26%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant50%

Geometry

All Students62%
Female64%
Male61%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities25%
General population65%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Global History and Geography

All Students66%
Female64%
Male68%
African American66%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities33%
General population71%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%

Integrated Algebra

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities19%
General population63%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%

Living Environment

All Students54%
Female52%
Male57%
African American47%
Asian/Pacific Islander61%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities18%
General population63%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant54%

Physics

All Students43%
Female43%
Male44%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islander42%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant43%

U.S. History and Government

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities18%
General population60%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 35% 19%
White 1 25% 48%
Hispanic 1 20% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 19% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 10%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2186 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents37417%
Students168474%
Teachers12892%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ARI A. HOOGENBOOM

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Arts all
  • Business
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B1, B36, B4, B68
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Ocean Pky
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Phone: (718) 333-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 370
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT