Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 193 Gil Hodges
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Despite the horrible environment the principal creates at this school, my child's teacher is amazing. Shout-out to her. I'm very grateful for the job she's doing.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges 1

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
The principal is abusive to students, parents and staff. She makes decisions contrary to the will of parents and staff. Parents do not feel welcome or wanted at the school. Teachers do not allow the students to use the bathroom, forcing them to urinate and defecate on themselves. If I could find another school for my child, I would leave today.


Ps 193 Gil Hodges 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
The principal and teachers deny children access to the bathroom. They should be fired. Hopefully the parent who was assaulted sues the school and the parties involved.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
To the teachers who stand up for what they believe in and not feel bullied or pressured to do what the principal wants.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers try their best, others don't. There are some that are not prepared to teach students and others just give the feeling that they are just there for a paycheck.


Ps 193 Gil Hodges 2

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
We no longer have a welcoming feeling from the new Principal. She put on a very good act while she was on probation, but the lack of respect for parents, students and teachers is very evident.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges 4

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
My daughter really loves the school, staff and her classmates. She looks forward to going to school every single day and is extremely happy there. We've also met some really wonderful families who truly care about the success of the school. As for the curriculum - it isn't very exciting and we wish there were more enrichment/after-school activities. Though for that to happen the school really needs the parent community to step up and be more involved. The teachers have been great - especially her 2nd grade teacher who went above and beyond to enrich their lives (offered chess lessons and jazz Fridays). The school also has an exceptional music teacher who produces the greatest end of year musicals! Unfortunately, the music program finds itself on the "chopping block" year after year. All in all, a good school with room for improvement.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Our longtime principal retired this year and we have a new principal Ms. Tami Flynn (greatschools - you need to update your info!). She has big shoes to fill but I'm sure she's up to the task as we received an introduction letter from her on the first day of school. PS 193 hasa wonderful parent community with huge potential for making a difference, but we just don't have enough parents involved and it's a shame. Other than that I'm very happy with my child's academic progress in CIG. I think there could be more challenge in math and the DOE's mandatory curriculum change basically set the class back by a year to make sure everyone learned math "the new way". But the school tries really hard and the effort from all staff is palpable, except for the parent coordinator.


Ps 193 Gil Hodges 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
I think the school provides a decent education, and so far I haven't seen anything that I considered better in the rest of Brooklyn, even though some of my friends' children attend private schools, as well as other well-regarded public schools. We have other options, closer to our home, for example, but have been happy enough to send our child to PS193. We like that the administration has been responsive to our needs, there are some great teachers, and we have seen great progress, especially in reading and writing for our child. She has also very much enjoyed music lessons, both singing and flutaphone, as well as gotten exposure to French language and culture. We made good friends with some of the other families in the school. The school has a very nice playground, where our child stays after school . There are downsides -- the lunchroom is very loud, and our child said that sometimes staff yell at children, especially in the lunchroom.

Ps 193 Gil Hodges 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
My child is so happy about learning and always being encourage to read and learn.Am so grateful for the staff at ps193.thanks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 193 Gil Hodges
2515 Avenue L, Brooklyn, NY  11210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (718) 338-9011
Last modified Ps 193 Gil Hodges is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top