Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 279 Herman Schreiber

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 594 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

This school is the best, both of my kids attended this school. Infact my last child this is her final year. I recommend a lot of my neighbors to PS 279. Great teachers, well kept school..not forgetting the principal Mr Chambers, he is awesome .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

This is my final year at 279 and this has been the best school year. Ive been here since 1st grade and I loved this school ever since. The principal Mr. Chambers, is hands on with the students and he is an awesome principal. When I leave, I'm going to make sure I come visit everyone. I'm especially going to miss my 3 favorite teachers, Ms. Craig, Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner. If your in fourth grade and going to be going to fifth grade and you have Ms.Meredith and Mr.Skinner your not going to regret it. There real and they give real life stories of their experiences to feed knowledge to the children. I'm deeply going to miss EVERYBODY! Have a great time at P.S. 279. Home of Tolerance, Respect, and Integrity : TRI


Posted March 25, 2011

i am very happy with the progress that my child has made since he started p.s. 279 in PK, he is now in second grade. The school facilities is always clean and very presentable. Faculty and staff displays exceptional qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The new principal has reallturned this school around...especially in school behaviour which has been the benchmark for other academic successess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

Our son is now in his final year at 279. Overall, the teachers, staff and even the security guards, we've encountered have shown an interest in our son's growth. I do however believe that the curriculum is not challenging enough for the gifted students. An increase in afterschool activities and arts enrichment would be a benefit to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

I think this school has a lot of work to do in reference to diciplining with students. The environment is not welcoming as it shoulld be for a parent in an elementary school. There are some efforts made but not consistent. The principal has redirected his energy and is working with parents outside of the PTA. This school has some work to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

this school is the best school i have intended so far and i am going to 8th grade I was there since 2nd grade and i did not know a bit of English and now i am in 8th and an Einstein which is a gifted program in my school i do not regret this school at all its the best you will ever find
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

This school is very goo from it's teacher's too it's students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

My daughter entered the gifted program in kindergarten and will now go to the 3rd grade. The teachers are wonderful and truly gifted. The teachers I've worked with has kept me abreast of all her strengths as well weaknesses. The administrators and security encourage the children and promote a safe and positive environment. I look forward to another year at this truly magnificent school. Keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I am a student of this school and I love it. I think the school could use more discipline for some students. I think that it would be exciting if we had Spanish classes. It would pre- pair us for higher grade levels in school. I love it anyway.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2005

My daughter entered this school at the pre-k level, and as a current 5th grader, there has been a monumental change in the school. There are far to many fights and disruptions for my liking, my daughter often comes home with stories that were unheard of two years prior. I must say however, that the level of instruction by these dedicated teachers has not wavered during this period of uncertainty. The PTA is actively involved in restoring P.S. 279 to it's prominent standing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My daughter started in the school's Pre K Astral program. She is attending fifth grade this year. All of her teachers have shown their commitment to educating the students. During parent-teacher conferences they have been open and honest about my daughter's strengths and weaknesses. The staff is friendly and helpful. My daughter is happy here and I am satisfied that I chose this school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

My daugther has been going to this school since pre-K. She is now in fifth grade and graduating. I have been happy with the school from day one. She has leaned alot here and is more than ready to move on to higher things. I thank God for all the teachers she had in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students16%
Female20%
Male13%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities7%
General population19%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English18%
Non-migrant16%

Math

All Students21%
Female17%
Male23%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disabilities7%
General population23%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English21%
Non-migrant21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students10%
Female16%
Male5%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities0%
General population12%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Math

All Students10%
Female10%
Male11%
African American7%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
General population12%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
African American93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities85%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Female30%
Male26%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities0%
General population34%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%

Math

All Students23%
Female24%
Male22%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities0%
General population27%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 91% 19%
Hispanic 2 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 62%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 283 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25254%
Teachers3179%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LORENZO CHAMBERS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1070 E 104th St
Brooklyn, NY 11236
Phone: (718) 444-4316

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 346 Abe Stark
Brooklyn, NY




Ps 260 Breuckelen
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT