Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
280 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Frances Cabrini School 1

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
The principal does not address the parents issue. If an issue occurs he pretty much hides in his office and tries not to speak directly to the parent. Principal is a bitter disappointment. The secretary is also very rude. If she is having a bad day she takes it out on the parent. This school is very big disappointment. the children don't have a second language, no library, and no computer lab although they charge a $100 technology fee. it's also one teacher to 35 students. They are money hungry and they stuff as many children in a class a possible. The student so not learn as they should. They use outdated text books and offer no extra curricular activity. I do not recommend this school.

St Frances Cabrini School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
I'm not pleased nor unhappy. They are not at grade level with the children. It's very frustrating on the count that they did charge so much money for the your child to attend this school.


St Frances Cabrini School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
They are not consistent with giving students homework. They don't push their students to thrive.

St Frances Cabrini School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
They don't challenge their students, push them or allow them to learn how to be self motivated. This school is a mess.

St Frances Cabrini School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
They don't enforce any discipline. They allow children to be bullies and that's not okay. It's rather sad.


St Frances Cabrini School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
They don't forgive and forget. And once a student has a mistake they don't look at your child the same way again. And I found the principal fabricates stories about children.

St Frances Cabrini School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
This school does not teach fairness. I have seen that because a parent doesn't have the money to pay they get turned away from an education and the child gets deprived. The students are singled out. They don't show children how to honest. because the principal tells you one thing today and say something else another day. Totally unfair.

St Frances Cabrini School 5

Posted January 10, 2016
- a community member
I was a teacher at the Great St. Frances Cabrini School for 30 years. What made this school stand out as SUPERIOR was the leadership of the Principal(most notably, Miss Maria Crifasi) , as well as the support of our parents. The parents were extremely involved with the day-to-day progress of their children. The Principal, the Teachers, and the parents spoke on a weekly, if not, daily basis. Our students were lovable and academically prepared for State and Diocesan testing. I am so happy many of our graduates sen their own children to the Great SFC!!!!


St Frances Cabrini School 1

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
Bad experience with principal. The previous principal was amazing! This new principal is very disappointing. Teachers have always been top quality. Principal should be changed ASAP before the school closes!

St Frances Cabrini School 2

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
my kids have been here for about 6 years, it was great.... 6 years ago. The teachers have been a big disappointment the last two years. They are disconnected, insensitive and not really doing much teaching which is sad because in the my children are the ones suffering. I've reached out to the principal and so have many other concerned parents with the similar issues, in hopes of them making a change or at least re-orienting the teachers as to what's expected of them. That did not happen. I will be looking into other schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Frances Cabrini School
181 Suydam Street, Brooklyn, NY  11221
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (718) 386-9277
Last modified St Frances Cabrini School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top