Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Poly Prep Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 983 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $655,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

Our son is in sixth grade and Poly has exceeded our expectations on every level. The faculty is outstanding and the kids are nurtured and cared for. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

The physical campus is amazing and so many of the faculty really care consistently about the students. The arts, sports as well as academics are all there to be taken advantage of by each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

This school is really an amazing system. It is a beautiful environment, the schedule allows kids to thrive and grow independently, and majority (but not all) of the students are very nice and very intelligent. The downsides are the immense work load, the cold/strict teachers and the high demands/expectations are virtually collage level. I don't know how some kids can maintain a B/A average, do 3 sports and be involved with clubs and participate in extra community service AND have a social life. But overall, if you feel your kid is smart enough, mature enough, independent and stable enough, and you can afford it, I highly recommend this school. Many students get into well acclaimed collages by their senior year as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

The quality of the teachers in the middle school is poor. It is not worse your money. The middle school principle keeps the grade principals and teachers in fear. Our child completed 3 years at Poly that we totally regret now. Safe your money for college tuition instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My son recently completed 6th grade at Poly Prep. This was his second year at Poly. I have found most of the teachers to be of extremely high quality, with a number of them having taught at Poly for many years. Their dedication to Poly comes through during parent / teacher conferences and school events. There is also a healthy batch of teachers newer to the school, providing a nice balance. Whenever my spouse or I had a question, the teachers were quick to respond to our emails. In general, the communication from the school is excellent, with the head of the middle school sending frequent, useful updates to parents and the head of school sending important school-wide updates. I feel connected to the school. There are numerous opportunities for parents to get involved (parent grade reps, admissions office, open house, auction, etc.) so all can be as active in the school as they want. Poly offers an appealing blend of academics, arts and sports. Kids are encouraged to challenge themselves in all three areas. Poly runs an extensive bus service, enabling kids to attend from all 5 boroughs. This results in strong diversity among the student (and parent) body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

The school has many nice things but too much trash is going there. A lot of the 8th grade boys are bullies. There is nothing nice about them. The administration seems to put them on display. But the nice young men get no credit. What message is Poly sending?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

Good intentions from the administration, but uneven execution. The classroom experience can be unengaging. Homework was piled on for 2 of the trimesters only to have the third trimester be a complete waste of time. I was disappointed to learn that my child did not have finals and the last report card contained no individualized comment from the teachers. My child has found cheating to be all too common. The attention to sports dominates and if your child is not an athlete (or a superfan) they'll be a 2nd class citizen. The students tend to be overly concerned with status and possessions. A very competitive social scene as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

My daughter found herself at Poly, in academics, in athletics and on the stage. She learned to write and carry out research, to interact with diverse classmates and to be confident. Poly prepared her to thrive in the world. She is now working in a humanitarian field, has significant ability using computers and in mathematics, but also a drive to be successful. She also has a conscience and wants to do something that will help the world. She also made friends that I think will be with her all her life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

This school is amazing.They provide many different academic programs and activities.My daughter is now attending Harvard on a full scholarship and it is all because of poly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

An exceptional school for the development of great minds in this dynamic society.Effort is rewarded to the same extent as achievement. The school has a very comfortable 'family' atmosphere;varied extracurricular activities for each child to become involved. The school bus system is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

We are disappointed with the level of education our son is getting at Poly. The staff are not responsive to parents requests and suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Great school. Great parent involvement
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Black 13% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 5% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • David B. Harman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9216 7th Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11228
Phone: (718) 836-9800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Patrick School
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 229 Dyker
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT