Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 206
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Excelsior Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
Excelsior Elementary School is the type of school that is bittersweet(reallly bitter). First to begin with, the principal substitutes for teachers and does a poor job. My daughter who was in the class of 2011 was telling me about it. She taught the class something that has nothing to do with the curriculum. Also the trips are poorly planned but suprisingly well supervised. The teachers there do not know how to communicate with the parents well and only know how to critize there children. The "secretary" is a guidance counselor and a intro to business teacher. The high schoolers are rowdy and they get away from their classes to go play basketball in the gym. This has caused many injuries and i know this because I am a doctor and I have treated many students from that school. This school deserves 3 out of 5 rating but I am sure they are capable of improving.

Excelsior Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
Great school even attended myself and will send my kids there... does anybody remember ms lashley


Excelsior Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Excelsior school has certainly improved. They now have a basketball team, drama team, stepping, violin, voice classes, drum and other music related activities. Not to mention their choir who have received McDonald's Gospel Fest prizes three years in a row. I love the school because the teachers are compassionate and they have an open door policy. The principal is always willing to help. I am very pleased with what my children received while attending the school. I highly recommend.

Excelsior Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
This is true the only extracurricular activity at this school is the choir and the student only go to choir practice if they aregoing to perform at a show. this school does care about the kids education, it is over crowded in the class rooms because there is only one class for each grade from pre- k to 11 grade.

Excelsior Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
The academic curriculum is severely wanting. Teachers have a sullen, authoritarian demeanor. Phys Ed is a joke, consisting of no more than a loosely supervised playground type affair. Teaching materials routinely disparage other religious traditions and students are discouraged from asking the deeper questions about religion and faith. There are no extracurricular activities to speak of, save those that generate money, such as trips that are poorly planned and often cancelled due to non-participation. School phones are routinely not answered and left messages rarely responded to. And, there is an attitude that, since this is a religious 'school', GOD sanctions whatever they do or don't do. I am very disappointed and dismayed.


Excelsior Elementary School 2

Posted June 08, 2007
- a parent
There are no extracurricular activities. Excelsior did not prepare the children at all for the standardized test that they were required to take. Everything is very last minute no notification at all.

Excelsior Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2007
- a student
Excelsior elementary school is a very great school.they have activities such as the choir, the junior and senior praise team, piano, and music classes. The children are getting a sound Christian education and in the end that's what matter.

Excelsior Elementary School 2

Posted February 04, 2007
- a parent
The only extracurricular activity at this school is the choir. Some kids are almost forced to go to choir and the others who want to go are are distracted by the children who don't really want to be there. It is hard to deal with this school as a working parent. They make important decisions at the last minute, like school closings.They are very unorganized. They could have improved anything in that school but the 1st thing they decided to work on is their accounting. They could have improved on anything else but they improve accounting. What does that say to me as a parent? I will allow my child to complete the year but i think i'll try my luck with public school. If i am going to have to pay for my child's education then i should be satisfied. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excelsior Elementary School
418 East 45th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11203
(718) 693-5502
Last modified Excelsior Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Excelsior Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top