Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
321 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Ephrem School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
My daughter graduated from St. Ephrem last year after attending from Pre-K to 8th grade. She had a fantastic experience! She did very well academically and socially. As a family, we all made wonderful friendships. My husband and I loved volunteering at the many wonderful events that take place each year. The school is a wonderful community of families and school staff that believe in the value of a well-rounded education with focus on Catholic identity, athletics and community involvement. . It was a wonderful experience!

St Ephrem School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
My son attends this school he has flourished since being in here, we recently had him tested for public schools "gifted and talented" program he scored a 91 which is advanced im very happy with this school the teachers and the principal.


St Ephrem School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children attend this school since early nursery. It is a loving environment with caring teachers and a wonderful curriculum. My children love going to school everyday and have made wonderful friendships. There is a strong form of discipline but in a healthy way not in a way that is intimidating to any of the children. This is a wonderful school with a loving and nurturing and challenging academic environment. My children and I couldn't be happier.

St Ephrem School 2

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
Cliques, not only with children, but with the parents as well, silent bullying and bullying, some very mean spirited kids, highly unaccepting of kids who may be quiet, shy or a little different. Went to the school (teachers and principal) with genuine, real issues, never received any follow up calls regarding any them nor were they addressed. There is absolutely no accountabilty. Spoke with other parents, bullying within the school is not handled with authority and there are no absolutely no consequences in place at all. Upper grades especially. Seems the school is more concerned with money and what they do (academics, extra curricular) and how they are perceived then they are about the kids once they are in the school. My child has nothing but bad memories and is adament about not returning. I will not be returning my child to this unhealthy, uncaring environment.

St Ephrem School 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
Both of my children go to St. Ephrem and love it. I have found the teachers to be great and the school has a wonderful warm environment to learn in. In addition the school has the many extras that I was looking for such as, an after school program, a comprehensive sports program and niceties like the Spring and Christmas student concerts that enrich the student's experience. I believe that my children are getting a first class education and the friendships that they have developed, shows me that they are developing academically as well as socially. I have no hesitation in referring other parents to this top Catholic Elementary school in Brooklyn.


St Ephrem School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a community member
My siblings and I attended St. Ephrem, along with many cousins. We all made lifelong friendships. It offers an excellent, well-rounded education with a focus on not only academics, but athletics, art, health, spiritual growth, leadership and community involvement as well. A wonderful experience. Our parents all worked, but they were involved in our schooling through volunteering to be a monitor in the lunchroom. Teacher quality was high. If you got called to the Principal's office, it was for a good reason. Discipline was effective. Parents gave teachers permission to hold students accountable for their behavior.

St Ephrem School 4

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
St. Ephrem has been a second home to our family since the first graduating class nearly 90 years ago. It has weathered many demographic changes in the neighborhood without compromising its academic standards. I credit St. Ephrem School with helping make both of our children into high school honor students and star athletes, with a drive toward community service. It is a wonderful community, where our whole family has found warm, long-lasting friendships with the other students and parents. St. Ephrem is the sort of classic, high quality, ethically-driven Catholic education that our neighborhood sorely needs.

St Ephrem School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My sisters and I went to St. Ephrems and we have so many great memories of old friends and teachers. It was a wonderful time in our lives.


St Ephrem School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
It's like a big family. A very safe and friendly environment where everyone knows your name.

St Ephrem School 5

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
This school has everything: a caring, approachable principal, great teachers who really care about the children, and a comprehensive extracurricular activity calendar, which has something for everyone! My 2 daughters have settled in so nicely, and they love their classes. The parent involvement is fabulous; these families really care about this school, and want to do everything possible to make it a top notch place for their children. I have been welcomed with open arms by the other mothers; you will usually find a lot of 'cliques' in some private schools, but I have not found any of that here! My husband and I cannot say enough good things about it. We highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

St Ephrem School
7415 Fort Hamilton Parkway, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 833-1440
Last modified St Ephrem School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top