Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


International Christian School 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a community member
This school is annoying and ridiculous don't waste your time here. The dress code makes you look Amish. They don't even offer college credits or regionals.

International Christian School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
I don't know how many times I have recommended International Christian School to friends and acquaintances. My son just graduated from that school and it has imparted to him the required education, but most of all it taught him how to fear and love the LORD more and more. I distinctly remember during his initial interview with the Vice Principal, he was told "you are not here to make friends, but to learn". He did gain friends through the years but putting his studies first was instilled in his mind early on, something I appreciate. I am most thankful and grateful to the Principal, the faculty, and staff of ICS. For any parent who has qualms about where to send their kids to, ICS is for you!


International Christian School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from ICS many years ago; I worked extremely hard for the grades I got, and was very well prepared to face the real world. I highly recommend this school for kindergarten through high school.

International Christian School 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a community member
Where are the teachers experienced? IN ICS. The school does not teach regent courses, so don't expect any sort of diploma. The teachers are very talented at reading textbooks. The school also places "security" cameras in very interesting places.

International Christian School 4

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
ICS has a very strong curriculum that promotes traditional values and is taught by experienced teachers with a heart for their students and a heart for God. As I suspect is true with any small school, some teachers teach multiple subjects; but I have never seen one of my children's teachers display a lack of knowledge in their subject area. Rather, they seem well-prepared for their classes. Frankly, ICS has some real jewels for teachers. The school focuses on character along with academics, so my children have been well-prepared not only to succeed in college but also in life. I have had my children in ICS since they were very young, and I am confident in recommending ICS to other parents.


International Christian School 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible. The teachers are unqualified. They are employed simply because they want to teach and attend the affiliate church. If you are looking for a quality education, PLEASE look elsewhere. The teachers are far from helpful. A typical teacher at ICS will spend the class period reading directly from the textbook, and is unable to answer the simplest of questions. The average class size(The entire grade) is about 10 students. International Christian School will leave your student ill-prepared for REGENT tests. ICS also does not administer these tests.DO NOT compare this school's grades with that of another. The grades of tests are based solely on memorization and does not focus in the slightest on true understanding of material. The science program is extremely bias in relaying information to students. Please take a tour of the facility and observe the teachers. Teachers are assigned to teach multiple subjects and do not show a level of understanding for any of them. An ICS teacher may teach English, Science, History, and Music in the same day, leaving me to believe they are not experts in each subject and are not a reliable source of information.

International Christian School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
ICS is an awesome academically school. My daughter transfered from public school to ICS after she was falling behind under the dept of education curriculum. After transfering, with the help of her teachers we were able to identify where she was falling behind and help her come up to speed. ICs has an online program where everything is documented, her grades on every test, her behavior, homework, and everything else i need to stay informed about her education. This is her second year there and she a total different student. Her attitude is different, she's more focused, and more intrested in learning. Transfering was the best thing I could have done for her education.

International Christian School 2

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
I think this school is good for kids who have a strong academic background, however when it comes to help for kids who needs that extra push it is not available, then when summer comes around if your child fail any class it is 375 for one class and 250 for every other class what that child had fail, however they don't try to help that child during the school yet, it is more about their church image than academics.


International Christian School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

International Christian School 5

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International Christian School
312 Coney Island Ave, Brooklyn, NY  11218
(718) 436-8924
Last modified International Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
International Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top