Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Voices School Of Academic And Creative Arts

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

You will never find another school like New Voices. It looks like every other school on the outside, but on the inside, it's something special. It doesn't always look pretty, but it's the people inside that count. The administration care about students and make sure they're going in the right direction. Students have a wider outlook on school, since there is arts involved in the schedule. I'm graduating this year, and I wish it continued into high school grades. It breaks my heart to leave a place where people genuinely care about me. This school is not something you should overlook. It is truly a place that will be in my heart for my whole life. I love New Voices.


Posted May 7, 2013

Let me start by saying, I have two daughters @ this school, 8th and 6th grades. We are all very happy. From the Parent Coordinator to the Principal, everyone is top notch! The front office staff is so wonderfully friendly that every time I call or visit, I feel like hugging them. One person is so incredibly kind that she MUST be the favorite in the building. Thus far, our in classroom experiences have been fantastic and my daughters are thriving. The performances are simply wonderful. It's a win-win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

The school has an established curriculum, yet it seems to renew itself every year with bright ideas. The atmosphere here is uplifting. Teachers, students, and the administration seem very happy to be a part of New Voices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

I am a teacher with 28 years in the classroom, and I will tell you right now: this is a very mediocre school. It has a few teachers who make an effort to inspire their students, but there are many teachers who are either cruel, incompetent or both. The principal seems like a great guy, but he is only "great" until you disagree with him, or point out some flaws in what he thinks is a shiny school. The homework load was very light - in three years, my son never did more than 20 - 30 minutes of homework a night. This can be seen as a good thing because there are many "pile-on" schools which give hours of meaningless busy work to do at home. I was constantly shocked at how complacent the principal, Mr. G, was in the face of obvious issues with the school. When my son stated that the gym teacher did not organize any activities and let the kids sit around and play on their cellphones, Mr. G did nothing to get the teacher to actually start doing his job. I know it seems minor to complain about physical education, but it is now known that physical activity is good for the brain. Mr. G's lack of action on this matter was reflective of his ineptitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

New Voices is a great school!!! Mr. G. is a top notch administrator. I have not been at a school meeting or event where he wasn't actively involved. My daughter is in the 8th grade and says often "I love my school". The academics are challenging, however the teachers are there to help the kids in any way possible. More than that they expose them to outside venues to enhance their overall education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I am extrelely satisfied with the academic standards at New Voices. I have found every teacher responsive to my feedback and open to a collaborative partnership for my son's individual strengths and challenges. The advanced math teacher in particular worked patiently to help my son reach his potential....humanities/reading assignments have been relevant and socially responsible, science class has the kids on fire...great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

The most mediocre academics you will ever encounter. Sure, the classes are small and the arts are great, but I am consistently astonished at the low level of teaching and assessment that is accepted at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

new voices is the best place to ever go!! love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2010

my 8th grader daughter at New Voices was just accepted to the specialized public high school of her first choice. I credit this to Mr. G, Ms. C and the rest of the faculty and staff. We will miss the school when we move on in June.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

i saw the tour of this school as a 5th grader and i must say it is my first choice and nothing else can compare to this school be sure to tour this one!


Posted November 13, 2009

i loved that school it was like my family i loved all he teachers high school is nothing the same now i miss new voices its the best school in the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2009

i'm an eight grader here at new voices i love this school it truly amazing. we are one big family. like all schools we have our flaws but we have many great things about us our principal mr.g is the best i'm sorry i cannot say the same bout ms.c the assistant principal. but the teachers and staff do their best to make us feel comfortable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

The pricipal takes an interest in every student. they approach learing in an individual and fun way and they children feel a strong sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Before school started, I did some research about New Voices. In every website I went to it said, School Type: Regular. But trust me New Voices is no regular school. The academics are amazing it's just so wonderful how the principal in so involved. This school is amazing. I would suggest this school to any of you Park Slopians out there. It's truly amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2009

Well, as a 7th grader I would like to say that this school has opened my eyes to many new things. I learned that I could play the flute very well and that I seem to enjoy learning about the American Revolution, a topic I thought would bring bordem. I would like to thank our amazing principal Mr.G whom I look at as a great male figure, and inspiration to many. He has pushed me to go all the way even when the thought of giving up crossed my mind. This school has become my 2nd home . The place where my first ' true ' best friends have been made,first crushes have started, and thought that i could be anything I put my mind to . To all the parents out there that are under the stress of picking the ' perfect ' middle school, I suggest you give our crazy school a chance. No, we may not be perfect, but we are everything I dreamed of a wonderful middle school being.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My child is having a great first year here. The school is well organized and offers a rich spectrum of arts classes. She is challenged academically and works hard to achieve good grades. In English, she has learned the fundamentals of structural essays. She has learned how to take notes and study for tests. In science, she has learned how to write a good lab report. Her math teacher is especially good. Math was not her strength and yet the teacher has instilled her with a great confidence. There are after school clubs which she enjoys. I am pleased with her growth and her discipline. I feel she is being fully prepared for a rigorous high school. In the academics, I wish there was more creativity in teaching and a deeper emphasis on independent and creative thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

This is an amazing school with not alot of kids and a very caring and capable staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2008

This school is a very good school. A lot of its classes are high qualities and the teachers explain everything so well that it just makes it easy to understand. i participated in the advanced math class which means i was learning 7th grade math although i was in 6th grade. this class was challenging but if you review your notes you will get it and will take pride in your work once you get it. i have moved to florida now and i am sure going to miss all my friends, my close teachers, and new voices middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2008

I have learned a lot from this school. The teachers are great and get to know you. New Voices is the best school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female46%
Male45%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities18%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%

Math

All Students47%
Female47%
Male50%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities15%
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female54%
Male43%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities28%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%

Math

All Students27%
Female25%
Male29%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities10%
General population30%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female58%
Male51%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities32%
General population61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%

Math

All Students28%
Female27%
Male29%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities10%
General population32%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%

Science

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities84%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

English

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Global History and Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Integrated Algebra

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%

Living Environment

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
White 1 32% 48%
Black 2 15% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 249%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 770 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents24248%
Students49895%
Teachers3079%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FRANK GIORDANO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 18th St
Brooklyn, NY 11212
Phone: (718) 965-0390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jhs 88 Peter Rouget
Brooklyn, NY



Al-Noor School
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT