Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Buffalo, NY
Students enrolled: 722
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Joseph's Collegiate Institute
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
The challenging curriculum and rigorous academic standards develop these traits because not all students are used to this type of environment when they start. Through hard work and determination, they can achieve their personal and educational goals.

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
Through various community service efforts, students are brought face-to-face with real-world problems and learn to put others before themselves to make the world a better place.


St Joseph's Collegiate Institute
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
The honor code of St Josephs is strictly adhered to and is taken very seriously.

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute 5

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
This school truly turns boys into young men. They teach discipline, organization, and promote the spiritual and scholastic development of each student, both inside and outside of the classroom

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are engaging and promote participation from all students. They truly care about their students.


St Joseph's Collegiate Institute 2

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
My son attended St. Joe's and still feels connected to this community but after his four years, he and I were disappointed. This entire school including the athletics is a shadow of what it use to be. Be aware that the school runs on a two class system. Your son will be treated like a second class student compared to the well connected Buffalo families and wealthy families. The school lacks substance, morals and leadership. The school is more interested in their reputation and money than education and students. Sad, considering the school's history and Catholic tradition.

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute 1

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
As an alumnus ('03), I found this school most unsatisfactory and would not dream of sending my son there. There are many reasons. Foremost among these is the lack of value. For the cost of SUNY tuition, you receive a school with fewer classes, fewer APs by far, fewer internships, fewer sport teams, and fewer clubs than a comparable public school. My sister attended Ken West while I was at SJCI. I often regretted my parents' decision to send me there in light of my sister's experience at West, namely the wider selection of honors and AP classes. St Joe's often cites the (usually modest) accomplishments of alums, which I chalk up not to superior education by ANY means, but rather that a large proportion of SJCI students hail from Buffalo old money. The silver-spoon ideal is most prevalent. I had some good and some awful teachers. The principal was, as far as I could tell, excellent. But none of this counters the fact that at SJCI you get access to fewer resources in a cash-strapped school with a student body small enough to be eclipsed by myriad nearby public schools.

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a student
Greatest school ever. The principal and vice principals are incredible. All of the teachers are great and it's a great enviorment to be in. It's in a good neighborhood and has excellent education and sports. The AP classes, and national recognized sports teams make St. Joe's the best school in the city.


St Joseph's Collegiate Institute 5

Posted April 04, 2008
- a community member
Outstanding all boys high school. Outstanding disapline, great teachers and staff with a great leader in the principal. One of the best schools in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph's Collegiate Institute
845 Kenmore Avenue, Buffalo, NY  14223
(716) 874-4024
Last modified St Joseph's Collegiate Institute is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Joseph's Collegiate Institute Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top