Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Queen Of Apostles Reg Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 194 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Center Moriches

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $339,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2013

Outstanding environment for children to learn. Sports programs, computers and wireless, lunch program, Middle States Accredited and great community feeling. My husband and I feel that this school has provided our child with a fantastic education and "family". We love OLQA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

I have two children at OLQA and I can not give the school enough praise. We moved my older child from public school to OLQA because we were looking for a smaller school environment that focused on academics and morals. We now have two children attending OLQA. We are so happy we chose OLQA and so are our children. They look forward to going to school everyday! They are learning in a positive calm setting and are focused when doing homework at home. There are many activities and opportunities to get involved in for the students and for the families. The school has "smart boards" in the classrooms, a bright clean cafeteria, a playground and ball field, a big beautiful gym and morning Mass is held weekly at St. John's. The preschool/pre-k is wonderful as well and we have another child starting next year. I can not say enough about OLQA and what a great school it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

I just read a review from a former OLQA student who said they were shut out from the real world, had a hard time adjusting to public school and "real life" and got away with everything at OLQA. I laughed reading that. I went to OLQA from kindergarten to 6th grade, then went to public school. Clearly the person who wrote all of those insane negative things had parents who failed him/her growing up. While in OLQA, I was on numerous community sports teams, dance teams, acting classes, horseback riding classes, etc. The list goes on. Just because your parents kept you in a bubble has nothing to do with the school. That school is the best school you can send a kid to-and they were VERY strict when I went. I had no problem adjusting to public school (other than trying to get used to kids who had no idea what religion they were and had other family issues that I didn't know existed-never experienced that negativity in OLQA). To anyone basing their decision on sending their kids to school here-IGNORE that review I'm talking about. Seriously.


Posted May 22, 2011

There is a dedication to excellence in this school that is unsurpassed -- and this is as it relates to the WHOLE child: school, religion, morals -- all consistently approached with the best possible performance outcomes for the individual student in mind. Sr. Helen is a God-send for the school -- Many positive curriculum changes providing opportunities for great teachers to teach greatly! Recent Middle States Accreditation stands as testament to the quality of the education in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

So many wonderful changes at OLQA with new principal Sister Helen Ann Charlebois! New Technology, new computer room, excellent sports programs, excellent curriculum, student and peer involvement, parent involvement, excellent lunch program, fantastic gym program since Mr. Reynolds arrived two years ago, new teachers--graduation rate 100% after four years, scholarship winners, National Honor Society students, excellent at helping students who are 'in the crack' at public schools--get the help they need here, Open Door policy, Middle States qualifying, and so much more! We have been here going on 5 years after switching from public school and all of our kids went from whiny, 'I can't do this' and 'C' students to honest 'A' and 'B' Honor roll candidates who can't wait to get their homework done! I know my kids will succeed now and can compete in college in whatever college they eventually want to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My husband and I made the choice to send both of our children to OLQA in order to provide them with a catholic education that includes emphasis on being a good person in addition to a smaller academic setting. Althoughpeople have commented that they are 'closed' to the outside world, it is up to the student to become well rounded on their own. How many chidren in 'regular' school choose not to participate in what their school has to offer - many. My children are invloved in sports and dancing in the surrounding communtity. I refuse to allow my children to be in a setting that pacifies the student and does not make the student responsible for their actions - OLQA does not do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I started in OLQA in PreK and went straight through to 8th grade. I can honestly say that while i attended this school I was completely shut out from the real world, my world was this school. I enjoyed everyday, the teachers at the time were not the best but overall very caring. When I graduated from OLQA I went to public high school. Let me just say, Culture Shock. I had to start from scratch, making new friends and adjusting to the way a normal school works, as I was used to being able to get away with anything. I wouldn't trade my experience at OLQA for anything, but just remember that it does end, and if you plan on sending your child to public school when it does, you should probably get them involved in community activities so they get to know some children in their neighborhood.


Posted August 30, 2008

This school is a very small school, and individual attention. ALthough some of the teachers don't have the best 'bedside manner' there are others who are true dolls. My daughter has attended this school all the way up to high school. She really enjoyed her experience disregarding a few rocky edges. Now she is in a SUNY University and still talks about her childhood at OLQA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

My grandson has attenden OLQA for the past seven years. Our new principal is loving and caring. Her first pirority is the children. In the short time as principal she has upgraded our computer lab, installing brand new computers and also has installed a smart borad. Surely, there will be many more things she will accomplish for our great school. The teachers skills are outstanding and very effective. I can attest that, my grandson's GPA for the last marking period was 98.3 percent. The teachers teach and truly care. Students who have had the experience of a Catholic education for eight years at Our Lady Queen of Apostles will be well prepared and feel very confident about entering High School. I can not say enough about our wonderful school. ASAP...means 'Always say a Prayer'.


Posted February 24, 2008

I think that this school is awesome! I am a student there. i have gone to public schools all my life and they havn't tought me nearly as much as the few months i've been here! you would also think that having a uniform makes the children not unique, but you would be wrong about that because for all of the moms out there think about it, you don't have to go through 'oh mom what should i wear today? ' because she/he would wear the uniform everyday!!! also there are these things called dress down passes and your student gets one if he/she earns one by doing something good! Also your child will apriciate their clothes more because they don't wear them everyday and they become more special:) Also the school is much smaller so your child will be taken care of more! theres no bullying and your child will....
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2007

I have 2 children in the school. I could not have put my children in a better school. They feel like it is their second home. Besides the great academics, music, sports and technology, our children are being taught morals. My values at home are being enhanced and supported in school. I could not ask for a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

Well i think our lady queen of apostles is a great school i go there and everything is great!!! i have so many friends there is no bullying and the new princibal is super sweet some people dont like her beacuse they are not good with change and I liked our old sister but i still say the school is wonderful. :] Go Eagles
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

The level of parent involvement in this school used to be very high, but now with the new Principal everything's being changed, and the parent's haven't even met her yet! I'm already thinking of taking my children out, and it's only the second day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I have two children at the school. My children are getting a well balanced education. The schools also part of the Catholic School Athletic Association, which offers soccer,basketball, and baseball. Their is also athletic programs for K-5th. The school also has band, choir and art and computer club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I went to this same school when I was a kid and am proud to be sending my son there. The teachers are very caring and concerned. After spending kindergarten fighting to keep the ADD label off my son I enrolled him in OLQA. He is loving it, he has lots of friends and his grades are great. I, myself, have found many new friends in the parents at OLQA. They are very supportive of the school and the students. Although we could always use more parents to get involved in improving the school for the benefit of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

I found the principal particularly caring and helpful. She is to be commended for all her efforts. We should all count our blessing for the catholicity and nurturing enviornnment provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

My child has been at OLQA for 7 years. An excellent student. The education my child recieves and care from staff and students could not be found in public school.It is a smaller school and the children get the education they deserve and not lost in the system. I can not say enough good things about OLQA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

I personally didn't like the school. A lot of people didn't get along. They didn't Have a good academic program either. Their sports program and clubs aren't really teaching you anything! My parents pulled me out, and I'm glad they did. I haven't talked to any of my friends that go there in the longest time.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 27, 2006

The teachers here are not well equipped to handle the children in the lower grades. They allow one child to bully other children without discipline and I am pulling my children out becuase of this blatant display of favoritism towards certain children/parents! Parents whom the teachers like are the ones allowed to be involved, but God forbid if you're not a teacher's favorite parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

i went there, and i personally found it fun. since there are not that many kids, you know everyone, and its like one big happy family. its a good school :)
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 52%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% N/A
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stacie Stueber
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Saint Johns Place
Center Moriches, NY 11934
Phone: (631) 878-1033

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clayton Huey Elementary School
Center Moriches, NY



Center Moriches Middle School
Center Moriches, NY


East Moriches School
East Moriches, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT