Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Providence Regional School

Private | PK-8 | 278 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Central Islip

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

im a student and i love this school like whats not there to love. whenever im sad and i need a hand the guidence counsler is right there to help. this school is a childs dream nice teachers and barely any homework this is the best school i have to say. since ive been there since kindergarden i love it. but the only bad thing is we have no playground and the gym room is very tiny we likly bump into each other. this was submitted by a -7th grader


Posted January 26, 2013

I can safely say that Our Lady Our Providence is a great school. This is a small school but here size dose not matter. When you walk threw the doors of Olop there is so much love. All of the teachers are extremely nice. When you come to Olop consider your self apart of the family. Take it from a 8th grader, this school is great.


Posted February 9, 2011

the teachers are mean . The gym is small sometimes there is not enough lunch to feed the children and sometimes they re-use the same food


Posted April 12, 2010

im a student and im sorry to say this but i didnt like this school very much. i mean, everything there is easy from my point of veiw, but i barely made friends and there are some other reasons that i dont know how to explain.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

I think the school is a safe, nurturing, family oriented environment, where everyone knows and lools after your child. If there is a problem you can talk directly with the principal without any middlemen such as in the public schools. It is a great learning environment although I am disappointed about the lack of a proper gym, and lack of extracurricular activities and sports programs. The cafeteria needs a renovation and the lunch menu needs more variation. Overall it is a better alternative to the C.I. or Brentwood public schools, and I would not turn back and put my kids in Brentwood schools. All in all I love the school-GREAT SCHOOL-NO REGRETS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I think the school is good but the lunch room food costs alot of money. The gym room is too small. They should find the money to expand the gym or build a whole new one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2007

My daughter is a student of the school. The teachers and staff are all very close with the students and parents and it is a very loving and nurturing environment. The principal knows every student by name and greets them at the door each morning. They are very accommodating with parents scheduled and provide before and after school programs on a daily or monthly basis. My daughter loves attending this school. However there is no extracurricular aspect to the school. Not even a CYO program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Very small and childish. Food is great bu expensive. No sports, clubs or extracurricular activities. The gyms is small and in in a mobile trailer. Everyone is so close so nobody ever gets punished. Suspensions are rare. NO such thing as detention. Lockers are only allowed in 6,7, and 8 and are very small.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2004

Iam a graduate of this school(class of 2003)and my little sister currently attends. All my friends agree that during the school year(s) it seems to pass slow but then when you look back at it you realize how much fun we really had. Four of my friends and I would help out the kindergarden teacher during our lunch period and had a really good time. All the people were really friendly and year after year we went to school with the same people so everyone got alone with each other. You don't realize how fast the 8th grade will come and when it does you realize that everyone will be attending a different high school wheather it be a public school or another catholic school. You'll always be able to look back at those years and realize that they were some of the best years of you life. -Pascale & Samantha <3
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 21%
Black 32% 21%
White 11% 52%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joann Dinardo
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

82 Carleton Avenue
Central Islip, NY 11722
Phone: (631) 234-6324

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Francis J O Neill School
Central Islip, NY


Charles A Mulligan School
Central Islip, NY


Ralph Reed School
Central Islip, NY


Marguerite L Mulvey School
Central Islip, NY


East Middle School
Brentwood, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT