Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Francis J O Neill School

Public | 1-4 | 439 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2011

My daughter attends 1st Grade at Francis O'Neill and she loves it. I love that the faculty of the school makes every attempt and making the best of what is given to them by the school district. What i don't like is that there are 40 students in my daughter's first grade class. Also, what i don't like is that the school doesn't have a special class for gifted children. We love our daughters teacher and I feel that the Principal should be commended for the quality of her dedication and work she puts into her school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

My daughter is attending this school and its a great school but, the only complaint I have is that the classes start at 9:30 am and there is no early drop off. It's very difficult for parents that work, some parents have to be at work by 9 am. 70 percent of the tax we paid on long island is for the school, I dont understand why there is no morning drop off and no after school program. Every year our real estate taxes goes up, becasue of school buget. where does the money goes?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I strongly believe that the curriculum of the school is great. Math practice package is sent home for parents to be able to clarify to the child how to execute their work. The principal, office staff, custodians, and more importantly, the teachers are caring and they have the strong determinations for our children to learn. I applaude them in their job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

I have been happy with the school but not with the education in general. Central Islip is not one of the better school districts and it has become more apparent to us the longer our oldest son has been in the public school. The brighter children are hindered by the lower performers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

great school with great teachers ands a caring principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This school has to be among the top three in Central Islip! The office employees are very caring and helpful. The teachers are strict yet caring of their students!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 59% 23%
Black 1 30% 19%
White 1 8% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 89%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KRISTINE LOCASCIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

545 Clayton St
Central Islip, NY 11722
Phone: (631) 348-5060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Marguerite L Mulvey School
Central Islip, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT