Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
428 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary School 2

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has the lowest 2015 NYS ELA scores in the Diocese of Rockville Ctr. That child might be having fun but are they learning. I am driving my child to Nassau. That is where the learning is going on. Suffolk Catholic schools scores are low.

St Mary School 5

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school, faculty and staff! My son is in first grade and LOVES going to school. Every day when I ask what he did at school he says "had fun!" The teachers expect a lot and it shows. The students come out well ahead of their peers and excel! (My son is the third generation in our family to attend Saint Mary's). Saint Mary's is a welcoming environment where it feels like we have found a second family.


St Mary School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
Where are the teachers who hold a MS in early childhood education ?? My daughter was referred to see a physiologist when the teachers are not even highly educated !!! GO GET YOUR M.S so our children will not struggle .. You have to know what your teaching in order for children to feel confident , and a M.S in literacy does not count , if that's what you have then stick to your subject and stop playing around in classrooms like you have the right education to help our children succeed at such an early age ....

St Mary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started at St. Mary's in the 1st grade. I remember taking their private tour before she started. I now enjoy being one of the parents that give tours during open house week. The faculty members of St. Mary school are dedicated, enthusiastic and determined to strive for the highest quality of education for our children. It is an atmosphere that I want my children in, knowing that they are surrounded by people who care when there are not home with their family. St. Mary school is like their "2nd" family. I know that my daughter is looking forward to high school next year, but a small part of her will remain at St. Mary's school....

St Mary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
St. Mary School provides and excellent spiritual and academic environment. They set the bar higher than the schools in the area. The teachers strive to make the students accept nothing less than the best through hard work and dedication. St. Mary School is very committed to the community providing many opportunities for the students to give back to those most in need. The principal is strict but fair. He has led the school with tireless dedication for over twenty years. I love that the children have a uniform and specific hair and make up standards. The students are challenged with just the right amount of love and nurture.


St Mary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
We love Mary School. Our child is receiving an excellent education, including education in our Catholic Faith. It is a nurturing environment for all children, with caring and skilled educators. St. Mart School is like our second family.

St Mary School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
Both my daughters attended St. Mary's in East Islip from Kindergarten thru 8th grade. From day 1 I felt like our family was part of a bigger family. The teachers continued to push and support the students to reach their academic potential & prepared them for achieving all their academic goals in high school. Parent participation was always encouraged. I always loved going to the school & witnessing the events the children participated in throughout the year. My daughters received a terrific education but more importantly they learned & had continued support in great values & morals.

St Mary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
We are fairly new to the St. Mary School family but have been extremely pleased so far. There is a real commitment to the students. We appreciate the discipine, the personal attention, the extracurricular activities and the strong leadership. I have seen my child become a stronger student and an enthusiastic learner rather than a reluctant participant.


St Mary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
St. Mary School is awesome. For almost 100 years, children from Long Island have received a quality education while building strong bonds with teachers, staff, fellow students, and the community.

St Mary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with the education our children are getting at St. Mary School. The small class size allows each student to receive personal attention, and the dedicated teaching staff creates a family-like atmosphere. I am confident that a Catholic school is the most secure atmosphere for my children. Our kids are very happy here and they are flourishing both academically and socially under great leadership and excellent teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary School
16 Harrison Avenue, East Islip, NY  11730
(631) 581-3423
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Mary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top