Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcvey Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 650 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

My wife, son and I Love the school and its academic program. Great teachers and staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

As a family this McVey has been a wonderful experience. Our daughter loves the school, teacher and classmates. I always feel informed and Principal and Vice Principal are a great duo. This school offers a veriety of extra activities that other schools lack with special programs like music and art. One of the best school ratings for math and science in Long Island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

The education is very personalized and the staff are all very professional, helpful, and educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The only drawback is with Kindergarden, it should be longer. We had pre-k elsewhere longer and then to come to Elementary school and it is shorter just wasnt right. My son then had to make a very big adjustment to 1st grade being so many hours that he hated school and I had a very hard time with him all year. Pre-K was 4 hrs., Kindergarden was 2 1/2 and then 1st grade is 6 hrs. This needs to change for the future children to adjust better. I personally dont have any young ones left, but I feel for the new children and it should change to benefit everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son had some inspirational teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Great school! Amazing learning enironment, faculty, and disciplinary rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

The teachers are amazing my kid has never been in a better school. All of the teachers are concerned with my child's problems and issues. They also tutor my kids when they need extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I have 3 kids in mcvey and i couldnt be happier. all the teachers weve had are very caring, and knowledgeable. They have a fantastic gifted program,band and orchestra. One thing thats good is they encourage parent involvment. I would reccomend mcvey to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

Quality of academic programs is mediocre at best. Most teachers and staff are unsympathetic to the needs of the children. Children are rushed through many activities during the day. No full time Kindergarten so the little ones are behind other school districts. Parent envolvment is not encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

I have lived in East meadow my entire life. I always felt the school district was exceptional. I have a child with special needs that are supposed to be accomodated although this takes quite a bit of time for the principal to get her bearings and arrangements made. Overall, McVey is an outstanding school under not quite outstanding leadership, with parents students and faculty not at ease with the general daily running of the school and its leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

Two of my newphews attended this school. Both entered the school with some educational delays and emotional problems because they were removed from the care of their parents. The teachers all were very attentive to their needs and really took the time to nurture them and bring them up to par with their grade level. They are both doing excellent today and are A students. My entire family is grateful for the education and support provided by the teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

East Meadow has a large group od stay at home moms, unusual in these days and times. The children greatly benefit from this with a lot of parent involvement in the school system. Extra-curricular activities are provided for the older children. Music and art is also available. There are a lot of great teachers in the school and many support programs for children of divorced families as well as ESL. The major drawback here is there is no full-time kindergarten program. The local private nursery schools and pre-K programs offer a longer class day than McVey's kindergarten program. However, my daughter's first grade experience was tremendous, with a lot of growth in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

I went to this school for 5th grade. It is a great school an I miss being there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 58% 48%
Hispanic 1 21% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 18% 9%
Black 1 3% 19%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. KERRY DUNNE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Devon St
East Meadow, NY 11554
Phone: (516) 228-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Barnum Woods School
East Meadow, NY




Newbridge Road School
North Bellmore, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT