Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Bowne High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 3648 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

This school has a fairly unfortunate background knowledge of past events that occurred in the school, that has caused bad ratings. Many students who go to Bowne High school enjoy there time there. There are many opportunities to succeed in this school. They offer online courses, night school, free tutoring on school lunch periods, after school and on the weekends to help students succeed in their classes, as well as passing and getting the necessary requirements for their regents exam. They have over 200 clubs offered. Teachers and Staff and students in Bowne are free to create their own clubs, and after school activities. There are many opportunities for Volunteer services. They are the only school in Queens that offer an Agriculture program. As well as the accommodating Academy of Arts, JROTC, STEM and zone programs for students. Students have a wide range of AP, Honors, and College Now classes available. They have many interactive programs as well. I am a fellow student in John Bowne High School. Most of, the principal, Kwait, stands to his roots on his opinion of Success. All students are required to aim for the Advance Regents Diploma to get ready for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2014

I am a current Junior in the former Doshi, now STEM Science Research Program. All I can say is that it takes every student to get used to the High School environment, especially in a school like John Bowne. Again, everybody is different, therefore one cannot generalize. I learned so much in this school and have had the most amazing experiences both educational and social. I have changed as a person in this school because of the courses that are offered and the level of education. Personally, I cannot recommend a better school to anybody. If I were to give my personal judgement for parents thinking about their children's education. I would say make sure that your kid keeps up his or her grades in order to apply to the STEM program. And make sure that your child puts the STEM program as their first choice in the list of High Schools. Bowne is located in a great neighborhood sharing a campus with Queens College, Townsend Harris, two elementary schools and the Former CUNY Law school. The teachers are great, the staff is willing to work. I hope that one day, I can send my kids here as well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2014

I go to john bowne high school in queens. I am a freshman and to be honest my school is a good school. It is filled all different cultures and races. Black,white,Indian,Chinese,Spanish, and more. I go to a very diverse school. All of my teachers overall are wonderful and they care about you. I am in the cow program and I think I have one of the best teacher there. The staff is always helpful and kind to students when we need help. To be honest, some students are not so nice . Some are rude, nasty, mean, or disruptive. Don't get me wrong , there are about 4,000 "kids" at my school. Not everyone is bad. Usually, most people you meet will be kind and nice. The first week of school I hated it and wanted to go home, but when I got used to school I actually liked it and I joined a team (cheerleading). My school is big on clubs and teams. It's so nice to see everyone come together to cheer for us and other teams in our school. We also have jrotc. I don't really know too much about it but you can look it up. Overall, I like my school and if you plan on coming to my school I hope you like it. Just make friends with the right people and you will succeed. :) 2014
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2013

My daughter attended now grandson attends both of grandsons parents were Aggies now he is too. Mr KWAIT offers many programs to help students attendance at PTA could be better Mr Perry was my daughter teacher now heads Ag dept they are now CTE certified I am happy with school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

I am a junior from bowne, I think some teacher do teach good, probably is not good as other school~but this school is fine. Not as bad as other people say. Every school have some bad student that curse, but that doesnt mean they will do bad thing or not doing homework. My english teacher offer me freetime tutor for two years, so overall I think the teacher in bowne is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

Good school, cheap and fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

is not a good school but it is not very vilent like others, the programs are not good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2009

i went to this school 2008-2009 and i changed schools b/c it didn't teach really well all the students curse at teachers and it's really wrong it is bad but ok
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

I am a student a John Bowne and this school is somewhat good. There are some 'bad' students who disrupt the envirenment of students who do care about school, sports, and their future. I am graduating this year. All I need to say is this school needs MORE support with their BASEBALL TEAM. Thank you! -SFC
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2009

my name is jonathan diaz i dropped out as a senior @ john bowne high school in june of 07 as i couldnt keep up my hard life and school. While i attended there i never felt more comfortable. If your child has the ability to overcome some of bownes troubled students he or she may become the next great scientist, doctor, pretty much anything. the school (honestly in not only in my opinion but many other 07 bowne grads) should b number 1 due to a couple of dedicated teachers but a ' ms. Eutsey' is the greatest parson let alone a fantastic english teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

John Bowne is AWESOME! At frist, as a freshman, to be honest i was miserable. i was just like 'what am i doing here?!' but then as i went into school day after day, i began to love it. I'm a senior that's in the center for writing program and i could honestly tell you that its absolutely the core of my HS memories. I always loved going to english because based on the center for writing ciriculum, there's always something exciting to do. Also, Bowne has the most school events such as dances, shows, etc and the most clubs. They also offer free tutoring classes on saturday and chances to get a jump start in college credits with College Now at our neighbor, Queens College. I'd recommend John Bowne to anyone. It certainly changed me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

I like this school its a many things to offer the students.Class , clubs, career help and more
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

My grand daughter transferred to John Bowne in the spring of 2008 and I am very pleased with this high school. The Guidance department goies out of there way to assure that students are safe, disciplined and gets things done .. I raised 4 children in the NYC public schools and this is the first time that I have run across such cooperation and openness with the administration of one of these schools. The security at this school is impressive, in the caring nature of the people involved with the children .


Posted April 29, 2008

The Guidance depatment at John Bowne is the best by far . Always available and eager to assist both parent and child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I like this school as the teachers are very hardworking and sincere.My son who had no interest in tennis is now in school team!wow! hats off to their teacher who put so much effort to change my sons attitude towards this sport.moreover academically also he is doing so well.overall a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I'm a 10th grader and i got to say i opened my eyes, and noticed John Bowne is a good school. When you have a brain and the skills to overcome the 'silly' things you can overcome Bowne's problems. All you have to do is put your mind into school work. Bowne is awesome , I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

All my teachers are great. I love being an aggie. I like Ms Eutsey+ Ms.Stein.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

JBHS has been turning around. There are about 3,200 kids in the school as opposed to almost 4,000 3 years ago and, as a result, fewer disciplinary problems. They have gotten rid of teachers who were not teaching. Parent involvement is not the greatest. PTA meetings are sparsely attended. I think the parent coordinator could do a better job of notifying parents of the dates of meetings. The kids in the Ag, Doshi and Writing programs are in honors and AP classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

As a student speaking from experience, John Bowne High School is a fantastic school. It offers a lot to students and there is always an event that is being planned and there are many things just being done in the school. I especially love them for their Center For Writing program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2007

This school is one of the worst schools in new york (academically). if your child is looking for a future this is not where it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
44%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

643 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
30%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

1596 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

999 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
43%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

1228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

1716 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

13 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

1050 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

271 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

999 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students40%
Female37%
Male41%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
General population40%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English33%
Non-migrant40%

Chemistry

All Students54%
Female51%
Male58%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population54%
English language learners65%
Proficient in English51%
Non-migrant54%

Earth Science

All Students48%
Female44%
Male54%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities26%
General population51%
English language learners53%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%

English

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities27%
General population58%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%

Geometry

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islander74%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities12%
General population56%
English language learners61%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

Global History and Geography

All Students58%
Female62%
Male53%
African American46%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities22%
General population62%
English language learners51%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%

Integrated Algebra

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities30%
General population68%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%

Living Environment

All Students59%
Female55%
Male61%
African American52%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities20%
General population66%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%

Physics

All Students57%
Female49%
Male66%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners75%
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant57%

U.S. History and Government

All Students74%
Female75%
Male72%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities37%
General population77%
English language learners69%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 41% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 34% 9%
Black 1 19% 19%
White 2 5% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 126%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 275%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 16%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 3262 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents46714%
Students264376%
Teachers15274%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. HOWARD KWAIT

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Stem
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - Q17, Q20A, Q25, Q58, Q88. Subways - 7 to Flushing-Main Street
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

63-25 Main St
Flushing, NY 11367
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 263-1919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT